Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Closed Thread

Old 03-08-2012, 06:23 PM   #1
Stephen Jay

Default Feature Film with Canon 5d MkII footage (color problem)

Hi everyone.
I am nearly completed with a feature film shot entirely on Canon DSLR 5D MkII. The edit process is wonderful and Edius 6 cuts and plays the heavily compressed files realtime no problem. They are an H.264 in MOV wrapper and have a vibrant, rich color to them. Blacks are deep black, mirroring 10-bit video. A member here, Red Union Films, has assures me that it is 8-bit. I have no reason to doubt that.

The problem occurs in exiting Edius. This video becomes brighter, and shows up a noise where blacks have been lifted. And also the color has lost its life. I thought nothing of it the last two months because I was rendering low quality mpegs for the writer and director to review.

Now, I've been cutting video for 3 years in broadcast, the past year on E6, and I've never come across a shift in color like that. It's the relationship with Edius and the file, I'm sure.

I assume there might be something that Edius is not reincoding right. Because on the timeline the picture looks correct, with only a minor gain visible in the preview monitor, but not extreme like what is exported. It's not just the system at home, E6 at work with Win7 does the same thing. Color settings are locked in Super White.

Does anybody know what this is? Or ways to get correct color output? Is there something I've missed?

I have linked an upload of an original DSLR video and that same one after having gone through Edius 6. Also I have still captured of the preview monitor, one by Edius, the other with FRAPS. They are labeled appropriately. A Final Cut Pro user in house will be sending me his version of the clip which I will upload by saturday.

The files:
http://www.mediafire.com/?8i23ktc96e...bfixe4c477hwe3