Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2015, 03:29 PM   #1
Eagle2000
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Palestine
Posts: 17
Default Upgrade Question

I have upgraded my Edius v7.5 Pro into Edius 8 Pro. I found it is not like 7.5 Pro
Now I want to upgrade into Edius 8 Workgroup which is so close to 7.5 Pro.
Is this possible ? If possible what should I do ?
I do not want to buy WG Upgrade and so it will not work because I have already upgraded to 8 Pro.
Eagle2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 12:05 PM   #2
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,757
Default

You have to buy the Workgroup upgrade from Pro to get Pro. when you say EDIUS 8 is not like EDIUS 7.5 what do you mean?

The major difference between Pro and Workgroup is that Workgroup has extra features but they look and work in the same way. Some of the Workgroup features were in EDIUS 7 Pro - audio monitoring, MXF export and the loudness meter being probably the main ones.

Pretty much everything else is the same between the two. I did a video of the differences which you can see here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sImKqP3xBdg. There is also information on the Grass Valley site.

The biggest obvious change between version 8 and version 7 is that the interface has been redesigned. If you do not like the new interface buying the Workgroup version will not help as it looks the same as Pro 8.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 12:13 PM   #3
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,308
Default

also, EDIUS 8 Pro is not optimised for multiple CPU or even single powerful CPU with hyperthreading

example, an 8 core i7 has 16 logical processors and 8 Pro will only use 10 during mp4 export, causing a very slow export

so I only recommend 8WG or 7.5
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 03:44 PM   #4
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,890
Default

The differences per GV.
https://www.grassvalley.com/docs/FAQ...AQ_EDIUS_8.pdf
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 03:45 PM   #5
baddgsx
Senior Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 484
Default

are you serious Anton? Will Edius 8 PRO support multi threading in the future?
I didnt go work group because I dont use MXF files. but i do have an I7 4930k and want to use all the cores. havent installed pro 8 on that system yet.
__________________
Proud user of EDIUS!
baddgsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 10:41 PM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,308
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by baddgsx View Post
are you serious Anton? Will Edius 8 PRO support multi threading in the future?
I didnt go work group because I dont use MXF files. but i do have an I7 4930k and want to use all the cores. havent installed pro 8 on that system yet.
hopefully it is only a bug that can be fixed?

EDIUS 7.5 or 8WG will use all cores of the 4930K during mp4 export
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2015, 06:07 AM   #7
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,408
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
hopefully it is only a bug that can be fixed?
It's not a bug.......
It's a feature :)
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.51 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000 H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2015, 06:10 AM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,308
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundFreak_HD View Post
It's not a bug.......
It's a feature :)
if it is a feature, then it will be the end of 8 Pro
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2015, 08:41 AM   #9
Adbear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
if it is a feature, then it will be the end of 8 Pro
Don't see why, you can still use Pro on a top end Skylake system, it will just mean that GV would have to make it clearer that anyone with a more powerful system with more cores would have to buy Workgroup.
__________________
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB 5400RPM Video drives, external Blu-ray Optical
Adbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2015, 08:49 AM   #10
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,308
Default

sorry, let me make it clearer

it will be the end of me selling or recommending the Pro version since I only build PCs without quick sync
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrade question rando Editing with EDIUS 2 09-19-2013 10:08 PM
upgrade question RonnieMartin Editing with EDIUS 4 04-15-2010 10:12 PM
upgrade to 5.0 question sherri@tidychaos.c Editing with EDIUS 14 07-22-2009 04:22 PM
upgrade question Sheeba Editing with EDIUS 11 03-25-2009 11:30 PM
Question about 4.6 upgrade? Philip Editing with EDIUS 10 03-02-2008 02:44 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.