Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2014, 06:12 AM   #21
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

it just keeps the data in the cache for (in this case) up to 72 hours until you bring the machine back on line. When you power the machine back up it will write the contents of the cache back out to the disks. All it does is protect against a power failure. If (for some reason) the machine loses power without cleanly flushing the data out to disk the battery keeps the cache contents alive until you can restart the machine. Put your money into more SSD drives, cache backup units are good if your running a server ect.


Steve
__________________
Main system, Supermicro X8DAH+,Dual Xeon X5680 cpu's 24 cores,2x1400watt power supplys,SC747TG-R1400B-SQ Case,192GB 1333mhz ECC Registered ram,8 x 480GB Intel 520 SSD drives,Windows 7 64 bit ultimate, GTX 670 4GB ,2 x Sony BWU300S Blu-Ray burners, 1x Sony DVD burner,LSI 9266 Raid Controller with Cache vault & fast path Lic, ESI MayaE Audio,HD Spark,Blackmagic intensity Pro,TMPGenc 5,Episode Pro 6,Sorenson 9 Pro,Alcohol 120 V2, Edius 6.53,Dell 27"LCD,HD Spark, Powershield 3000VA UPS.
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 03:25 PM   #22
baddgsx
Senior Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swsw1550 View Post
it just keeps the data in the cache for (in this case) up to 72 hours until you bring the machine back on line. When you power the machine back up it will write the contents of the cache back out to the disks. All it does is protect against a power failure. If (for some reason) the machine loses power without cleanly flushing the data out to disk the battery keeps the cache contents alive until you can restart the machine. Put your money into more SSD drives, cache backup units are good if your running a server ect.


Steve
thanks Steve, much appreciated with the information!!! thanks for saving me money buddy!!!
__________________
Proud user of EDIUS!
baddgsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 01:56 AM   #23
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,339
Default

buy a UPS instead
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 05:55 PM   #24
baddgsx
Senior Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 484
Default

a ups is a great idea, thanks Anton!!!
__________________
Proud user of EDIUS!
baddgsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 01:37 AM   #25
baddgsx
Senior Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 484
Default

i noticed that when i render my cpu 3930k , x79 32 gig ram is at 100% , does that mean the CPU is the bottleneck? should i upgrade the CPU on my board?

Thanks,
Chris
__________________
Proud user of EDIUS!
baddgsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 05:47 AM   #26
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,057
Default

Depending on codec with HD and 4K I think the CPU will almost always be the bottleneck.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 08:05 AM   #27
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by baddgsx View Post
i noticed that when i render my cpu 3930k , x79 32 gig ram is at 100% , does that mean the CPU is the bottleneck? should i upgrade the CPU on my board?

Thanks,
Chris
how many threads do you see in taskmanager, performance tab?

if you see 12, that would improve speed greatly

like the i7 4930k, make sure you use water cooling
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 09:06 AM   #28
Adbear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
Default

For a 4930K water cooling is not necessary unless you intend to overclock it. Any decent heatsink designed for the 2011 pin CPU is fine as long as you have good airflow in the case
__________________
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB 5400RPM Video drives, external Blu-ray Optical
Adbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 09:36 AM   #29
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

I agree, water cooling is not needed, use to use it years ago on systems, but is not really needed unless you really want to push the CPU.

Steve
__________________
Main system, Supermicro X8DAH+,Dual Xeon X5680 cpu's 24 cores,2x1400watt power supplys,SC747TG-R1400B-SQ Case,192GB 1333mhz ECC Registered ram,8 x 480GB Intel 520 SSD drives,Windows 7 64 bit ultimate, GTX 670 4GB ,2 x Sony BWU300S Blu-Ray burners, 1x Sony DVD burner,LSI 9266 Raid Controller with Cache vault & fast path Lic, ESI MayaE Audio,HD Spark,Blackmagic intensity Pro,TMPGenc 5,Episode Pro 6,Sorenson 9 Pro,Alcohol 120 V2, Edius 6.53,Dell 27"LCD,HD Spark, Powershield 3000VA UPS.
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 11:28 AM   #30
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swsw1550 View Post
I agree, water cooling is not needed, use to use it years ago on systems, but is not really needed unless you really want to push the CPU.

Steve
do you want to make a bet?

export a 2 hour timeline to mpeg2 HD where all cores are used 100% and see the temp climb to 100C with conventional cooling and stays at 40C with Corsair water cooling

and yes, a bit of overclocking is expected with a K processor
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Background tasks... Make them faster! jasonsilzle Editing with EDIUS 1 07-31-2012 05:44 AM
please help with mobo decision... dano3655 Editing with EDIUS 0 06-14-2008 02:40 AM
How to make external monitor work? silentwarior Editing with EDIUS 1 04-21-2008 09:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.