Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2012, 08:03 PM   #1
Ed122
Senior Member
 
Ed122's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Waterford, NY
Posts: 146
Default Audio Dropouts with Ripped DVDs

This has me stumped-
I can rip dvds, no problem-
However, the audio experiences momentary (like a split second) drops all along the ripped file.
I've tried checking and unchecking the PTS, but made no difference.

I don't even know what else to check-- anyone with any ideas?-
Maybe this helps, my waveform on the timeline doesn't show the waveline correctly -- that is, some is there, some isn't. These dropouts sometimes will show too, sometimes not--- Please help, as I don't have much hair left to pull out.
Thanks, to all!-----------Ed
__________________
Main System- HD Storm + Edius 7 Pro
Win 7 (64),Asus P6T Deluxe v2 - Intel I7 - 12 G ram Gforce GTX 970 - 6 T internal-- 12 T Drobo Sata connection


Secondary System- Edius 6- Win XP, Intel DH55HC i5 4T storage, 4G ram, Gforce GTX 260, , ADVC110
Ed122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 08:17 PM   #2
Red Union Films
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,029
Default

Hi Ed.

Have you tried playing the audio file outside Edius to see if the issue is in the file or not?

You could always use explorer to copy the vob files, as long as there is no copy protection on the DVD. Then use something like TsMuxer to demux the files.

Hope this helps.

Dave.
Red Union Films is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 11:59 PM   #3
Ed122
Senior Member
 
Ed122's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Waterford, NY
Posts: 146
Default Even more stumped!

Ok, I ripped the audio using the tsmuxer program - I;ll admit I have no idea of what TS muxing and the Demux is, but in anycase, after demuxing the file and dropping it into the timeline, the file appears too short, although the entire file appears to be all there (like it has its own proportional length independent of what the video is) BTW is is listed as an AC-3, if that matters. The audio seems like it is also much lower in volume than the original ripped with the DVD.
This is now becoming a nightmare.- maybe just bite the bullet and play it into the computer, but what a friggin waste of time!
__________________
Main System- HD Storm + Edius 7 Pro
Win 7 (64),Asus P6T Deluxe v2 - Intel I7 - 12 G ram Gforce GTX 970 - 6 T internal-- 12 T Drobo Sata connection


Secondary System- Edius 6- Win XP, Intel DH55HC i5 4T storage, 4G ram, Gforce GTX 260, , ADVC110
Ed122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 12:19 AM   #4
4Kover3D
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 271
Default

Try DVD Decrypter- you can demux to mpeg2 and AC3- if this make files corrupted etc your DVD was made by bad software :) I never had a single issue and I use it a lot.
4Kover3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 02:57 AM   #5
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,354
Default

to get a good file from a DVD using the source browser, you must tick reconstruct files
http://www.videoproductions.com.au/e...e-settings.png
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:08 AM   #6
andris
Senior Member
 
andris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 251
Default

What is Segment Encode useful for?
andris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 10:43 AM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andris View Post
What is Segment Encode useful for?
nothing really other than preventing sections that are already compliant to not be re-encoded

I don't use it
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 07:07 PM   #8
Ed122
Senior Member
 
Ed122's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Waterford, NY
Posts: 146
Default That was my problem!

I had the Segment Encode checked-- that is what was giving me the problem with broken audio!-- thanks so much for the screen shot-- that really helped.
I wish that Edius Help documentation was more friendly-

This forum (and it's members) is and has been an invaluable resource!--
Many thanks to all that have been there to help!---Ed
__________________
Main System- HD Storm + Edius 7 Pro
Win 7 (64),Asus P6T Deluxe v2 - Intel I7 - 12 G ram Gforce GTX 970 - 6 T internal-- 12 T Drobo Sata connection


Secondary System- Edius 6- Win XP, Intel DH55HC i5 4T storage, 4G ram, Gforce GTX 260, , ADVC110
Ed122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 07:41 PM   #9
chris19347
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cannock
Posts: 70
Default Broken audio on DVD rip

This brakes in audio when ripping a DVD has been a problem in Edius ever since the update to Edius 5 I am now on Edius 6.06 and the same problem puting a tick or not in "reconstruct files" makes no difference to this problen
I posted this problem in the days of Edius 5
I use a programme "Squared5" which works very well you can convert the whole DVD into any type of file
Edius please fix this problem
Chris
chris19347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 12:54 AM   #10
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris19347 View Post
This brakes in audio when ripping a DVD has been a problem in Edius ever since the update to Edius 5 I am now on Edius 6.06 and the same problem puting a tick or not in "reconstruct files" makes no difference to this problen
I posted this problem in the days of Edius 5
I use a programme "Squared5" which works very well you can convert the whole DVD into any type of file
Edius please fix this problem
Chris
did you untick Segment Encode, I never have it ticked, this could be why I never encountered such dropouts
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Procoder 3 Sounds Dropouts acemedusa ProCoder 0 02-28-2010 05:07 PM
ADVC-110 FCP audio dropouts on playout vallicadc ADVC 1 11-18-2009 10:48 PM
ADVC700 Intermittant Dropouts plasma_video ADVC 14 03-31-2009 06:18 PM
Dropouts Ludde Editing with EDIUS 15 05-15-2008 11:58 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.