Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2020, 01:42 PM   #1
John Hooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,152
Default Will I Have enough PCIe Lanes?

I am finding it difficult to work out if I will have enough PCIe lanes in a new PC.

I have built my own PCs before, but now I think I will leave it to someone else. I want to update from my existing desktop PC.

I am attaching a screenshot of the spec from a website. The only additions I would make, are a BM Intensity Pro 4K (that I have) and a Firewire card (that I still want to use). I will also fit a SATA hot swap bay and a Blu-ray drive

Bearing in mind the CPU, GPU, M2 drives, will I run into problems with this set up?
Attached Images
File Type: png Computer spec.PNG (26.2 KB, 26 views)
__________________
Edius 8.53WG, Vistitle 2.8, Windows 10 x64 Pro Fall Update, Asus Z87 Pro, Intel i7-4770K, 16 GB 1600 Corsair Vengence LP RAM, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB, WD Black 2TB media drive, Intel HD 4600 GPU, MSI GTX660 2GB VGA, Coolermaster Silencio 652 case, Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler, Cakewalk UA-25EX USB audio interface, Cakewalk MA-15D monitor speakers, BM Intensity Pro 4K, PlextorPX-LB950SA BD writer, Dell U2410 Monitor
John Hooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 02:45 PM   #2
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Hooper View Post
I am finding it difficult to work out if I will have enough PCIe lanes in a new PC.

I have built my own PCs before, but now I think I will leave it to someone else. I want to update from my existing desktop PC.

I am attaching a screenshot of the spec from a website. The only additions I would make, are a BM Intensity Pro 4K (that I have) and a Firewire card (that I still want to use). I will also fit a SATA hot swap bay and a Blu-ray drive

Bearing in mind the CPU, GPU, M2 drives, will I run into problems with this set up?
Here is the intel info page for the CPU ( https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us...-5-00-ghz.html )

You will note in the Expansion Options section that the CPU only has 16 PCIe lanes.

A GPU normally wants 16 lanes. Any other devices you add will cause the GPU to drop to 8 lanes to allow 8 for use elsewhere. unless there are PCIe lanes offered by the motherboard. Often the 1x slots are motherboard controlled.

The IP4k is a 4 lane card, so that will put the GPU in this mode leaving 4 lanes useable for other devices, but the firewire card is likely a 1x card, so that will most likely run off the motherboard.

Running the GPU in 16x vs. 8x modes for video work will likely not be a noticeable thing. It may mean some GPU effect render a little bit slower, but we are probably talking about a couple of seconds in the difference.

Your spec doesn't show the motherboard, so it is unknown if the board has a capable 4x slot for the IP4k. The motherboard plays a huge role in the puzzle, so I can't really say any more without looking at the motherboard specs.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 05:14 PM   #3
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,060
Default

I think the only advantage of using an Intel CPU these days is QS for EDIUS. Most other software will use the GPU as well as CPU for operation. I would look at an AMD configuration as you will get a lower cost system with a lot more PCIs lanes. PCIe 4.0 with the latest 3000 series cpu's so twice the bandwidth with more lanes.

I would hope that with EDIUS 10 it too will take advantage of the more powerful discrete GPU's rather than be dependent on QS.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 07:31 PM   #4
John Hooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
Here is the intel info page for the CPU ( https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us...-5-00-ghz.html )

You will note in the Expansion Options section that the CPU only has 16 PCIe lanes.

A GPU normally wants 16 lanes. Any other devices you add will cause the GPU to drop to 8 lanes to allow 8 for use elsewhere. unless there are PCIe lanes offered by the motherboard. Often the 1x slots are motherboard controlled.

The IP4k is a 4 lane card, so that will put the GPU in this mode leaving 4 lanes useable for other devices, but the firewire card is likely a 1x card, so that will most likely run off the motherboard.

Running the GPU in 16x vs. 8x modes for video work will likely not be a noticeable thing. It may mean some GPU effect render a little bit slower, but we are probably talking about a couple of seconds in the difference.

Your spec doesn't show the motherboard, so it is unknown if the board has a capable 4x slot for the IP4k. The motherboard plays a huge role in the puzzle, so I can't really say any more without looking at the motherboard specs.
Hi Bern,

Thank you for the reply. The spec is from a respected PC supplier in the UK.

Their listings can be customised.

The quoted motherboard is Asus WS Z390 Pro.

Would the NVMe SSDs also consume PCIe lanes?
__________________
Edius 8.53WG, Vistitle 2.8, Windows 10 x64 Pro Fall Update, Asus Z87 Pro, Intel i7-4770K, 16 GB 1600 Corsair Vengence LP RAM, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB, WD Black 2TB media drive, Intel HD 4600 GPU, MSI GTX660 2GB VGA, Coolermaster Silencio 652 case, Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler, Cakewalk UA-25EX USB audio interface, Cakewalk MA-15D monitor speakers, BM Intensity Pro 4K, PlextorPX-LB950SA BD writer, Dell U2410 Monitor
John Hooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 07:37 PM   #5
John Hooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
I think the only advantage of using an Intel CPU these days is QS for EDIUS. Most other software will use the GPU as well as CPU for operation. I would look at an AMD configuration as you will get a lower cost system with a lot more PCIs lanes. PCIe 4.0 with the latest 3000 series cpu's so twice the bandwidth with more lanes.

I would hope that with EDIUS 10 it too will take advantage of the more powerful discrete GPU's rather than be dependent on QS.
Ron,

I agree with you that the AMD CPU would offer more PCIe lanes at lower cost, but QS is still useful to me.

If Edius 10 could use the GPU more (Nvidia CUDA) that would be great, but I fear that could be a long wait.

I am in no great rush to update my PC, just getting some ideas together which route to take.
__________________
Edius 8.53WG, Vistitle 2.8, Windows 10 x64 Pro Fall Update, Asus Z87 Pro, Intel i7-4770K, 16 GB 1600 Corsair Vengence LP RAM, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB, WD Black 2TB media drive, Intel HD 4600 GPU, MSI GTX660 2GB VGA, Coolermaster Silencio 652 case, Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler, Cakewalk UA-25EX USB audio interface, Cakewalk MA-15D monitor speakers, BM Intensity Pro 4K, PlextorPX-LB950SA BD writer, Dell U2410 Monitor
John Hooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 08:45 PM   #6
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,060
Default

The 12 core Threadripper I have is not as powerful as the latest Ryzen and I edit OK with EDIUS 9 WG just use 1/2 resolution preview as needed. Those extra PCI lanes are really useful as everything uses them, drives, GPU, USB, so if you want fast NVME they will use them too. Don't have many to go around with Intel. Currently nothing Intel has will be as fast as a Ryzen with PCIe 4.0 NVME drives. I am sure EDIUS 10 will use all available resource to compete with the competition. EDIUS 9 is already substantially slower than Resolve Studio on my system. Intel does have a present advantage with EDIUS in that h265 export may be available depending on cpu. However that is easily accomplished by using TMPGenc or moving HQX file into Resolve and exporting. I still keep my old 4790K system which you could do too. I am not sure I would restrict myself with an Intel system at this time just to get QS that may not be that important in a few months. I think PCIe 4.0 may be more useful in the future.

This may be useful https://www.pcmag.com/comparisons/am...end-cpu-to-buy
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 12:08 AM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Hooper View Post
Ron,

I agree with you that the AMD CPU would offer more PCIe lanes at lower cost, but QS is still useful to me.

If Edius 10 could use the GPU more (Nvidia CUDA) that would be great, but I fear that could be a long wait.

I am in no great rush to update my PC, just getting some ideas together which route to take.
by installing two NVMe SSD you will also knock out many sata ports

I only ever install one NVMe SSD and I install it in the specific slot where it does not knock out a single sata port, carefully check mobo manual

see example attached for a x299 gygabyte mobo

I would go with X299 mobo if I was you
Attached Images
File Type: png Anton-00341.png (143.2 KB, 20 views)
File Type: png Anton-00340.png (68.7 KB, 16 views)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 12:34 AM   #8
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Hooper View Post
Hi Bern,

Thank you for the reply. The spec is from a respected PC supplier in the UK.

Their listings can be customised.

The quoted motherboard is Asus WS Z390 Pro.

Would the NVMe SSDs also consume PCIe lanes?
All pertinent data can be found in the manual:
https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m..._UM_V2_WEB.pdf

Page 1-23 talks about the M2 installation and what is disabled when using them. M2's normally don't knock out CPU PCIe lanes, they just "steal" the lanes used by normal SATA ports, which in turn are motherboard chipset controlled.

A quick look at the block diagram on page A-1 looks like the CPU PCIe lanes are replicated and multiplied up by a chip on the motherboard, allowing for use of more GPU's (2 without dropping the speeds as long as the correct slots are used, and up to 4 with speed drops)

All the drives, USB, Audio, and non GPU related slots are controlled by the motherboard chipset, including an x4 slot that should be able to be used by the BM IP4k, or it could be placed in the extra GPU slot that will not drop the GPU speed if you only have one GPU.

As I said before, based on your proposed configuration, as long as you have an x4 capable slot to put the IP4k in, which you do, you should be good, and even if it did knock the GPU down to an x8 configuration, it would not be a noticeable difference.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 11:17 AM   #9
John Hooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,152
Default

Thank you all for your comments.

The configuration in my original post is not mine, but one suggested by a well known supplier, here in the UK.

https://www.scan.co.uk/3xs/configura...ro-recommended

It seemed easier several years ago for me to build my exisitng PC. I don't know if it is my age, or things have get more complex, but I would rather someone else builds a new PC for me.

Thank you Bern, for taking the trouble to look at the motherboard manual. My lack of knowledge / understanding of PCIe lanes prompted the original question.

I assume that the supplier, Scan, know what they are doing? I didn't want to find out later that I couldn't expand the basic system by adding the BM Intensity Pro 4K and a x1 Firewire card plus the Bluray drive and HotSwap bay (both SATA).

Do I understand correctly, that I should be OK with that configuration?
__________________
Edius 8.53WG, Vistitle 2.8, Windows 10 x64 Pro Fall Update, Asus Z87 Pro, Intel i7-4770K, 16 GB 1600 Corsair Vengence LP RAM, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB, WD Black 2TB media drive, Intel HD 4600 GPU, MSI GTX660 2GB VGA, Coolermaster Silencio 652 case, Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler, Cakewalk UA-25EX USB audio interface, Cakewalk MA-15D monitor speakers, BM Intensity Pro 4K, PlextorPX-LB950SA BD writer, Dell U2410 Monitor

Last edited by John Hooper; 01-17-2020 at 11:24 AM.
John Hooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 12:27 PM   #10
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,981
Default

I am using the same motherboard all parts were from the same supplier
Mine runs quite happily at 4.3 no water cooling involved see my signature'
Many plugins dont give RT and some are dead stop especially Borris Contiminium and Many NB TFX 5 Filters
QS works well and the intel drivers which originally gave problems seem sorted
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K Win 10, BD Burner 1 Evo 840 and 4 Hotswap caddies
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP6, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCIe slots jonh@madronal.tv FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 8 03-23-2009 12:55 AM
Edius 3 and PCIe Alade Editing with EDIUS 4 12-03-2008 11:20 AM
NX pcie and pcie x16 2.0 slot gvignesh Editing with EDIUS 0 09-07-2008 04:09 AM
Does AceDVio come in PCIe? Jezza Editing with EDIUS 3 12-28-2007 10:09 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.