Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2014, 10:37 PM   #1
smartyarts
Member
 
smartyarts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 51
Question How to export quicktime containing source timecode?

I have captured hdv tapes with edius with scene detection. All my files have a source timecode when I look at each clip's property. Now I need to export to Avid DNxHD185 1080p but when I open the Quicktime file after exporting from Edius I see the source timecode is gone...

How can I export my clips from Edius to AvidDNxHD185 with the original source timecode?

kind regards
Marcin
smartyarts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 11:47 PM   #2
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,843
Default

At this time we cannot output the original timecode via the QuickTime exporter. This is a limitation we are currently are investigating.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 11:50 PM   #3
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,940
Default

Edius has no proper professional QuickTime workflow!
If you want timecode track, pass it through ffmbc!
http://www.videohelp.com/tools/ffmbc

use command line:
Code:
ffmbc -i "YOUR_DNxHD_FILE.mov" -vcodec copy -timecode 10:00:00:00 -acodec copy "YOUR_DNxHD_FILE_WITH_TC.mov"
Andreas

Last edited by Andreas_Gumm; 07-02-2014 at 12:19 AM.
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 11:57 PM   #4
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_SL View Post
This is a limitation we are currently are investigating.
This sounds really promising! It would keep me away from CMD batch routines.
Perhaps the developers also find a trick to embed up to 16 audio channels?

Thanks for the small info

Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
timecode in QuickTime Andreas_Gumm Editing with EDIUS 7 03-10-2014 01:11 PM
Unable to export timeline timecode to DNXHD in quicktime andrewwhiteley Editing with EDIUS 1 04-13-2013 07:05 PM
source file timecode flashes only JTE48 Editing with EDIUS 1 09-03-2011 09:07 AM
Source Timecode slim66 Editing with EDIUS 10 09-11-2008 08:01 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.