Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2020, 07:02 PM   #11
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,057
Default

Like Jerry I have a BlackX but also have set up all my PC boot sequence to always start with the CD ROM drives before going to the hard drive that has the OS on it. That way if there is a problem I just put in the recovery CD I have made and it will boot up and I can then recover. I have Acronis that backs up to my NAS for all PC's on the network. I also have a clone for this email WEB PC since that is the one I would want to get up quickly. Have clones for the others but on old hard drives so just for transfer to another SSD if that goes.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 08:06 PM   #12
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haddock View Post
Thanks for follow-up... but there is a step that escapes me.

When the portable computer don't start because it shows a blue screen with a smile ...
whats the way to connect the external drive that contain's the bootable media ?
Have we to go in the BIOS at startup and choose the bootable media "hoping" that a USB connection will be visible ?
If the system is running and getting through the POST process but not booting windows, it should be able to boot from the bootable imaging CD/USB. If the system is set to look for a bootable USB or CD in the bios Firs, it should boot from that drive. Some systems also have a button you can press to bring up a boot over ride menus that can let you select the boot device without having to go into the bios.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 02:12 AM   #13
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,410
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
Some systems also have a button you can press to bring up a boot over ride menus that can let you select the boot device without having to go into the bios.
Indeed, that's what I use to switch between my fast nvme m.2 with Edius 9.51 and my slightly older sata ssd with Edius 9.3 in a caddy (for analogue capturing)

These 2 bootable SSDs are always in my laptop, if in a disaster case I have another sata ssd that I have in a caddy (slot of the removable DVD burner) and can swap that in mere seconds to boot from, or hot swap it while my system is running.
I do have an image file of the complete boot drive but atmittadly is not upto date enough as I would like.

I you have a blue boot screen and smiley you might still be able to do some repairs to windows, but my limited experience with fixing win 10 is that win 7 is easier to get going again...
I never managed to damage it on my own systems (knock on wood)

If you are actively building and maintaining your own systems you should have some previously used hard drives and or SSDs lying around, so making an extra bootable system drive should not be an issue.

If you are using a computer to earn money you should never rely on only 1 system, not to mention several spare boot and data drives are no luxury either.

To me now as a hobby I still couldn't sleep at night without any back-up :)

To repair win 10 I always have a bootable USB handy with the latest build on it, just incase.
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.51 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000 H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 10:10 AM   #14
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
If portable means laptop, then there should be a built in restore process. This however, will return the system to how it was the day it was purchased.

I use a Black X USB3/esata device for cloning with the Acronis DOS based cd.. I place the master drive in the Black X and run the CDRom to clone to the OS drive.
Thanks, but in the case I met, the restore was also "not working"....
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing intensity pro 4k after installing edius 9 noafilm EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 8 11-30-2017 02:26 PM
Can Not Completely Uninstall Edius 7,21 student101 Editing with EDIUS 77 06-30-2015 04:36 PM
where Edius handle temp file (scratch disk) timothychew EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 4 08-18-2014 12:47 AM
How Fast for Scratch Disc? Bassman EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 6 10-13-2009 04:34 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.