Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2019, 10:34 AM   #1
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,967
Default Ignite Pro running on EDIUS 9 and P72 laptop

Hi,

I am wondering if anybody is running Ignite Pro under EDIUS 9 and is using a workstation class GPU (like nVida Quadro)?

According to technical support for Ignite Pro - that software is only meant for consumer grade GPU (like GEFORCE) - and will not use CUDA or any of the technologies that are found in professional GPU like the Quadro.

I tried running Ignite Pro - doing a simple task - CONTRAST and BRIGHTNESS - for a MOV file - and EDIUS says it will take about 7 hours. I then used EDIUS own CONTRAST settings and that one takes about 2 hours (actual time was 1 hour 20 minutes).

Anybody here with similar experience? Thank you.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 04:41 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,769
Default

Are you using the latest Nvidia drivers?
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 04:43 PM   #3
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,967
Default

I am running the latest of everything here :-)

Another thing to note - I am running EDIUS under the Intel GPU (to gain access to QS). And there is no way to assign Ignite Pro (they are all DLL, not EXE) to the nVidia Quadro using nVidia Optimus.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 04:54 PM   #4
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,769
Default

Try this. Set the laptop to use the Quadro. Place an HQX file on the timeline and place an Ignite Pro effect on it. Does this play properly. If this works, you may need to use non avc coded files or the Hitfilm effects.

Going through all of the info, I didn't see any mention of not using a Quadro card. Frankly, I've had Ignite since V1 and not using a Quadro was ever mentioned.

Ignite likes CUDA cores. If you are using the Quadro P600, then you only have 384 CUDA cores.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 07-04-2019 at 05:04 PM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 06:29 PM   #5
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,967
Default

Thank you for the information. I will try it out when I come back from my holidays :-)

According to this -

https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-spec...0-mobile.c3020

I have 2560 CUDA cores :-)
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BMD Intensity Pro 4K - driver not running after 10.9.5 Roland Schulz EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 8 02-17-2018 07:23 PM
Installation of Edius Pro 7.5 on to a PC that is running EdiusPro 6.05 IngweSA Editing with EDIUS 3 05-07-2015 01:50 PM
Running Edius on an older laptop Jolt917 EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 3 01-20-2014 10:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Copyright Đ 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.