Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2012, 03:14 PM   #1
AevnsGrandpa
Senior Member
 
AevnsGrandpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 109
Default Wrong graphics card showing

Good morning!

I have a laptop with the built in Intel HD graphics and a nVidia GTX675m card. Within the OS (Win 7) I have it selected to always use the 675. However in Edius if I go to Systems Setting/GPUfx the only option listed in the drop down is the Intel.

How can I get Edius to us the much better GTX675m for all graphics work?

Possible registry hack? I went through all the other settings unser system, user and profile and saw nothing else that referred to the graphics card of the computer.

Thanks for the help!!

Jeff
__________________
Created Design Video
"Video production for the common man"

Sager NP9170 i7-3160qm, 8GB ram, 480GB SSD, 240GB HD, GTX675m, 17" HD, Win 10 home 64bit

Panasonic AG-HMC40, AC-160a,
Edius Pro 8.53
AevnsGrandpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 03:24 PM   #2
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,618
Default

Try to disable the Intel card in the Bios.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 07:35 PM   #3
AevnsGrandpa
Senior Member
 
AevnsGrandpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 109
Default

If I remember correctly there is no option for this in the BIOS. Other suggestions? Where does Edius look to get that information and does that setting show what is processing any effects that are applied?

Jeff
__________________
Created Design Video
"Video production for the common man"

Sager NP9170 i7-3160qm, 8GB ram, 480GB SSD, 240GB HD, GTX675m, 17" HD, Win 10 home 64bit

Panasonic AG-HMC40, AC-160a,
Edius Pro 8.53
AevnsGrandpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 07:36 PM   #4
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Sometimes there's a Graphics "priority" setting or some way to choose which graphics is primary in the BIOS.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 10:32 PM   #5
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_BH View Post
Sometimes there's a Graphics "priority" setting or some way to choose which graphics is primary in the BIOS.
Yup,
The Intel graphics are intended to run when on battery.
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 10:58 PM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,756
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AevnsGrandpa View Post
Good morning!

I have a laptop with the built in Intel HD graphics and a nVidia GTX675m card. Within the OS (Win 7) I have it selected to always use the 675. However in Edius if I go to Systems Setting/GPUfx the only option listed in the drop down is the Intel.

How can I get Edius to us the much better GTX675m for all graphics work?

Possible registry hack? I went through all the other settings unser system, user and profile and saw nothing else that referred to the graphics card of the computer.

Thanks for the help!!

Jeff
I have seen this also on dektop, EDIUS only lists the onboard graphics but yet the GTX-670 is set as primary graphics and nothing is connected to Intel connectors
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:10 AM   #7
AevnsGrandpa
Senior Member
 
AevnsGrandpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 109
Default

I verified in the BIOS the setting for the graphics is the nVidia and I cannot even change it.

In the nVidia control panel I also have it set to use the GTX675m all the time as there is a drop down to choose.

Ok, I'll trust that Edius is using it....

Thanks.

Jeff
__________________
Created Design Video
"Video production for the common man"

Sager NP9170 i7-3160qm, 8GB ram, 480GB SSD, 240GB HD, GTX675m, 17" HD, Win 10 home 64bit

Panasonic AG-HMC40, AC-160a,
Edius Pro 8.53
AevnsGrandpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 04:46 AM   #8
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AevnsGrandpa View Post
I verified in the BIOS the setting for the graphics is the nVidia and I cannot even change it.

In the nVidia control panel I also have it set to use the GTX675m all the time as there is a drop down to choose.

Ok, I'll trust that Edius is using it....

Thanks.

Jeff
I have submitted this question to the engineers and hope to have an answer soon.
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 12:52 PM   #9
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,886
Default

Re Antons comment
Checked my PC, under GPU settings the 690 is used ( one gpu) but there is also a choice for the other 690 GPU or the Intel
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP6, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 04:21 PM   #10
cjcraigj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Default

Has there been any progress with this?

I have a new Windows 7 laptop with nvidia 670gtx and only the onboard intel is showing up in the settings of edius.

I have also made sure nvidia controll pannel is set to "always use Nvidia GFX" but no change.

Thanks
cjcraigj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is a graphics card necessary? John Hooper EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 5 10-27-2012 12:27 AM
Graphics card merrick61 EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 8 10-15-2012 09:36 AM
graphics card? burnandreturn EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 4 10-04-2010 01:38 PM
Which graphics card? Philip Editing with EDIUS 19 11-17-2008 11:08 AM
What Graphics Card and why? DigitalDave Editing with EDIUS 32 03-18-2008 01:39 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.