Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2014, 10:58 PM   #11
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,805
Default

I think the SDI is an output. Does that sync the running video clock? I thought one would need a true sync input to do that to lock the running clock to the input sync.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 01:25 AM   #12
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,357
Default

I got a look at the full specs and it doesn't have a genlock port...just timecode in/out.
It also shipped without HDMI 2.0 being enabled. So, true 4k output across HDMI is not possible....yet.
Hardware is becoming like software. Ship it, then we'll fix it.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 02:17 AM   #13
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,805
Default

Yes timecode ports are like the NX5U. Can act as master or slave. Or with the NX30U etc free run and reset with the remote all cameras at the same time. The HDMI output for the FDR-Ax1 and the PXW-Z100 will output 4K 60P to ONLY a Sony Bravia 4K TV at the moment with supplied HDMI cable. Both promise upgrade to HDMI 2.0 with the firmware upgrade this summer. Hopefully making a lot of things work that are now inactive like SD slots and data code buttons etc...

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 04:15 AM   #14
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,357
Default

The HDMI output for the FDR-Ax1 and the PXW-Z100 will output 4K 60P to ONLY a Sony Bravia 4K TV at the moment with supplied HDMI cable

But, isn't the 60p file played back at 30p on the Bravia sets with HDMI 1.4? Once the firmware is released to up the Bravias to HDMI 2.0, the sets will play at the 60p.

Plus, they will be able to handle not just UHD, but true 4k resolutions of 4096x2160(provided the set is capable). If Al's LG handles true 4k, once he gets the HDMI update his camera will record in true 4k and playback in the same resolution and frame rate.
It's still too early to jump into the UHD or 4k arena. Once the dust has settle and all of the necessary hardware can talk to each other properly, I will start looking. Plus, the prices will have dropped significantly.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 02:21 PM   #15
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,805
Default

Sony make it clear that the HDMI output from the FDR-AX1 and PXW-Z100 will play back 60P but only to the current Sony Bravia 4K TV's with the supplied 1.4 cable. It is written this way in the specs and in the supplied manual as well as one of the discussions I watched from Sony. With the upgrade to the firmware they will playback to HDMI 2.0 TV's from anyone. A few of the current 4K TV's will not playback 4K at 60P but not the case for the Sony's and since HDMI communicates between send and receive it is therefore possible for the two Sony's to communicate who they are and playback correctly now before HDMI 2.0. Likely the TV too will get the firmware upgrade to HDMI 2.0 since they can clearly refresh at much higher rates with the XR960 interpolation processor.

If you buy a low cost 4K TV now you may be stuck at 30P for monitoring 4K.

As mentioned before I am only interested in 4K for cropping to HD and will of course have a 4K archive for the future. Just as when I bought my FX1 for HDV and the same reasoning, will be a few years before I get a 4K TV

Ron Evans

Edit: This from the current information on the sets. These newer sets have even more compatibility.
" 2014 4K BRAVIA TVs incorporate a decoder compatible with the latest "HEVC" video compression format, enabling them to display 4K/60p content from internet streams and other sources, without the need for additional devices. Additionally, Sony has optimized its BRAVIA TVs to provide a great Netflix experience with faster playback. "
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V

Last edited by Ron Evans; 01-11-2014 at 09:49 PM.
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 12:36 AM   #16
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,357
Default

Ron, I'm not arguing the fact that the camera will 'playback' the footage at 60p. All I am saying is that the HDMI 1.4b spec does not support 60p. The televisoin is only capable of playing it back at 30p.
Here is a chart for HDMI version specs.

hdmi specs.png


This is a review of a Bravia from November. New sets will have HDMI 2.0 and this discussion will be moot.

Sony Bravia KDL-65X9005A - Connections
The Sony Bracvia 65X9005A’s rear contains an interesting roster of connections, including highlights of four v1.4 HDMIs, three USBs, a LAN and built-in Wi-Fi. Why is any of this especially interesting? Because the HDMIs aren’t built to the still unratified HDMI 2.0 standard, and so can’t be absolutely guaranteed to be able to deliver every 4K / Ultra HD format that might emerge in the coming years. All we can say with absolute certainty is that the HDMI v1.4 standard should deliver 4K images up to 30fps, as it does now.
Read more at http://www.trustedreviews.com/sony-b...6siI60rfczm.99
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by GrassValley_PS; 01-19-2014 at 01:34 AM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 02:34 AM   #17
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,805
Default

I agree that HDMI 1.4 spec is not 60P and that a lot of sets will not playback 60p, all I can say , since I do not have a Sony 4 K set to test this on, is that Sony specifically says to use the cable that comes with the camera and that it will then playback 60P but ONLY to Sony Bravia 4K sets. This is written in the handbook that came with the camera, is on the Sony site and in all the interviews that I saw and in all cases emphasizes this is ONLY between the Sony products. The leaflet with the cameras says the clips with 3840x2160 59.94P or 3840x2160 50P are output in the "Sony transmission system ". In other words they are not a standard and only work between Sony products. Since the cameras will be upgraded to HDMI 2.0 the interface clearly supports 60P but not the 2.0 signaling. Since both products are Sony they do not need this universal spec to work just that they both understand who they are talking to and what is being sent. I expect the TV's firmware to be upgraded to HDMI 2.0 too. So too if the sets are fed a HDMI 1.4 signal they will just playback 30P which is the limit for this spec. Doesn't mean the sets are not capable of 60P the sets use XR960 interpolation solikely refresh at a higher rate than 60. Not sure if there is any significance in using the supplied cable.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V

Last edited by Ron Evans; 01-19-2014 at 12:39 PM.
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is Edius not popular like Sony Vegas & After Effects ? nitrococuk Editing with EDIUS 55 10-07-2009 02:39 PM
EDIUS & Sony DLX format amethystHD EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 6 04-02-2009 06:12 PM
Edius & Sony Mpeg2 4:2:2 LightPrism Editing with EDIUS 3 07-31-2008 10:29 PM
Edius Settings & Sony Z1 adspencer Editing with EDIUS 10 01-03-2008 10:57 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.