Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2007, 04:19 AM   #1
Mr Bill
Senior Member
 
Mr Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 321
Default Pal - NTSC

Hi guys,

Currently have ProCoder v2 and am happy with the PAL to NTSC feature.
(unlike the problems of procoder express)


My question , has V3 improved PAL to NTSC ?

The only real negative I see is when something moves quickly in the shot such as a car going by etc...
It has a slight ghost effect as there obviously is enough frames in the PAL format to make the NTSC file run smoothly as a original 30 frame NTSC file would.

Or is v3 about new features only ?


Bill
__________________
.
GESTOS PRODUCTIONS
www.gpvideo.com.au
Mr Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 04:46 PM   #2
Mr Bill
Senior Member
 
Mr Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 321
Default

Quote:
... has V3 improved PAL to NTSC ?

Or is v3 about new features only ?
Anybody . . . ?
__________________
.
GESTOS PRODUCTIONS
www.gpvideo.com.au
Mr Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 07:24 PM   #3
Aristotelis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thomastown, Ireland
Posts: 665
Default

I haven't tried PC3 yet, but I think that it is all about new features...some of them are really important though...
__________________
Aristotelis Bafaloukos
Systems Engineer, Video Editor, 3D Artist
BEng (Hons), MSc, MBCS

Ctrl+Alt+Delete
Aristotelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 01:12 AM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,119
Default

I compared PC3 to T4, when it comes to moving objects especially picture in picture movement, Tmpeg4 looks better when going Pal to NTSC

yes BH and KH, the Tai Chi montage
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 01:47 AM   #5
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
yes BH and KH, the Tai Chi montage
Heh, T4 - "optimized for Tai Chi"
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 02:09 AM   #6
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Speaking of that clip - I lost it and have been searching everywhere for it.

It was a very good test clip for interlacing.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 02:27 AM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,119
Default

I will upload it an pm you a url
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 07:49 AM   #8
Mr Bill
Senior Member
 
Mr Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 321
Default

Quote:
I compared PC3 to T4, when it comes to moving objects especially picture in picture movement, Tmpeg4 looks better when going Pal to NTSC
Hi Anton,

Thanks for that.

I will give Tmpeg4 trial a go.
__________________
.
GESTOS PRODUCTIONS
www.gpvideo.com.au
Mr Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 07:55 AM   #9
Paul Curtis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 11
Default

When I recently used PC3 to convert some interlaced PAL footage to NTSC, I noticed that the resulting footage displayed a brief (one frame) horizontal interference pattern with every scene change. It was fairly light, and not as offensive as the nasty glitches that PC2 sometimes throws up on 25i->30i conversions, but it was still noticeable enough to distract my attention from the actual footage. I still think that the original ProCoder does a better job of standards conversion than its successors.

Nowadays, I just use an AviSynth script to do my conversions.

--Paul Curtis
Paul Curtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 10:50 AM   #10
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,119
Default

PC3 seems to do field blending during conversion, this blending looks fine for normal shots with not much movement, but looks like a ghost image behind the PIP in case of a PIP moving sideways through screen

T4 appears to de-interlace such movements and as a result, there is no ghost
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NTSC to PAL cemcik Editing with EDIUS 14 06-01-2013 12:57 PM
NTSC vs PAL settings in EDIUS Chris Barnard Editing with EDIUS 10 11-23-2007 10:23 PM
PAL 16x9 2:35:1 Anamorphic DVD to NTSC 16x9 DVD help... tubularusa ProCoder 31 09-20-2007 11:36 PM
Presale Support: Does the ADVC55 do NTSC & PAL? scassidy ADVC 2 07-28-2007 07:13 AM
HD to SD then Pal to NTSC DominicI ProCoder 2 06-28-2007 03:08 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.