Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2008, 10:40 AM   #1
TrackRanger
Senior Member
 
TrackRanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 215
Default Best Resolutions with Screen Capture?

I have some software that creates graphs and text tables.

I have been trying (unsuccessfully) to get these to display with some semblance of quality in an output video. I first purchased Twinpact 100 but the quality was so poor, that I ended up aiming my camera at the monitor screen and capturing that way. The results were better, but far from acceptable. I then purchased Pegasus. Set it to capture RGB (at various resolutions). Capture results are OK, but post processing is giving me some issues with losing quality.

Does anybody have any recommended settings for capturing graph and text data from an RGB input that gives good quality output (HD and / or SD)?

Thanks
Trevor
__________________
Intel Quad Core Extreme 3GHz/12M, 4Gb RAM, 2Tb Hot-swap (ARAID), NVIDIA GeoForce 8800 GTS, Edius Broadcast 4.61 / Edius 5.5, Procoder 3, DVDit Pro HD, Sonicfire Pro 5, Mercalli, Vitascene, Adorage. TwinPact 100, Pegasus, TMPro. VirtualDub
TrackRanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 11:52 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,115
Default

press print screen on your keyboard

then use the screen capture in Photoshop , don't resize it, the result will look razor sharp, be sure to apply 90 degree by 1 pixel motion blur, this will remove shimmer of thin lines in the graphic when played as video

example for 16:9 Pal SD video:

1. set desktop resolution to 1024x768 or larger
2. display your graphic
3. press print screen
4. Photoshop, file new, edit paste
5. Photoshop, file new, set 1024x576
6. drag file from step 4 to the empty canvas of step 5 and position it so you see relevant graphics
7. apply the motion blur 90x1 to top layer
8. flatten image and save as 24bit tga
9. looks great in Edius, but blacks will be too black and whites will be too white
10. apply color balance filter and reduce contrast until the blacks no longer fall below 0 line and whites no longer exceed 100IRE line in waveform display

or, set levels in Photoshop to range from 16 to 235, that will achieve the same, however I prefer doing this in Edius, because I can fine tune according to waveform and vectorscope (I use real ones from tektronix)
http://www.videoproductions.com.au/h...ctorscope.html
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 11:56 PM   #3
TrackRanger
Senior Member
 
TrackRanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 215
Default

Thanks Anton - great advice, and appreciated. However, I need to have animation, as the graphs and the data change, and I want to capture this into the video. That's why I was using Pegasus.

Trevor
__________________
Intel Quad Core Extreme 3GHz/12M, 4Gb RAM, 2Tb Hot-swap (ARAID), NVIDIA GeoForce 8800 GTS, Edius Broadcast 4.61 / Edius 5.5, Procoder 3, DVDit Pro HD, Sonicfire Pro 5, Mercalli, Vitascene, Adorage. TwinPact 100, Pegasus, TMPro. VirtualDub
TrackRanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 12:46 AM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,115
Default

in that case, shooting with a pro 2/3' CCD camera and good lens focused on LCD screen with variable shutter set to refresh rate of monitor should give you very good results

alternatively, use screen capture software such as Snagit or Camtasia

here is a Snagit capture to give you an idea of quality
http://www.videoproductions.com.au/edius46/

in order to use snagit for video, set capture frame to 720x576 for Pal and set 25fps and set uncompressed RGB for codec
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crashing during capture in Edius-5 kruzer Editing with EDIUS 43 06-10-2009 10:24 AM
Capture Settings for best resolution screen capture? TrackRanger FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 22 07-08-2008 05:05 PM
DV Capture Just Show Black Screen asoodmand Editing with EDIUS 0 04-29-2008 07:59 AM
Disc Capture Green Screen AJL14 Editing with EDIUS 6 02-19-2008 05:29 PM
Disc Capture & A Green Screen? Nobby Tucker Editing with EDIUS 4 01-25-2008 10:24 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.