Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Old 01-12-2008, 05:06 AM   #1
jriker1

Default Prefered Capture Software?

I am dubbing many many VHS tapes to DVD eventually however probably Divx or something similar before that to do some cleanup on the audio and video created. I did this a few times with my ADVC100 but now using the 110 after many years of not needing to dub things. I received a copy of Edius Neo with my unit. Is this good software for this purpose or can someones suggest something else? Cost is not a major issue when it comes to suggestions. Want to see what is recommended, then worry about cost.

Thanks.

JR

Edit: This is on a Windows based system by the way.

Last edited by jriker1; 01-12-2008 at 04:05 PM.
Old 01-12-2008, 07:46 PM   #2
donp326

Scenalyzer is my choice. I have been using it for several years and it has performed well for me.
Old 01-14-2008, 07:01 PM   #3
GrassValley_CP
Grass Valley

Give EDIUS Neo a try. Though it is far more than just a capture program, it should do you fine for capture and editing. You can read about EDIUS Neo on its product page here.
GrassValley_CP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 09:21 PM   #4
Meow

I actually prefer capturing with VirtualDub. It's free, there's even a x64 for 64 bit Windows versions, and it captures the DV of your ADVC with the colorspace you want, and raw without dropping any frame.

Which brings me to a quick question;
What colorspace has the DV Format going through the firewire when used for 720x576 PAL on an ADVC300 ?
Meow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 09:07 PM   #5
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer

DV is YCbCr 4:2:0 for PAL and YCbCr 4:1:1 for NTSC.

It's not very useful to capture the stream to any format other than DV, as it is already compressed as DV when it reaches the computer.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 10:33 PM   #6
Meow

Quote: