Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2007, 05:34 PM   #1
bdepace
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default capture settings

I am pretty new to this but here's my question- I need to know what settings to use to capture my home video's. I have about 40 hour long tapes (ntsc standard DV) that I want to capture and put on a hard drive for archiving and editing. What file format would I want to capture them so that I would have high quality and the files would be compatible in the future even if I wasn't still using a Canopus product. Any idea how large one hours file would be?

Thanks for your help!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 05:36 PM   #2
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

For maximum compatibility, capture as Microsoft DV (there is a tradeoff in quality vs. capturing with Canopus DV, but your footage will go places where Canopus DV sometimes can't).

DV is approx. 12GB per hour. So 40 hours is roughly 480GB - nearly half a terabyte!
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 05:46 PM   #3
Aristotelis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thomastown, Ireland
Posts: 665
Default

Quote:
(there is a tradeoff in quality vs. capturing with Canopus DV
Kenneally I'm still confused with that...Can you please explain...I have read that the only difference between Microsft DV and Canopus DV is just headers and footers...
__________________
Aristotelis Bafaloukos
Systems Engineer, Video Editor, 3D Artist
BEng (Hons), MSc, MBCS

Ctrl+Alt+Delete
Aristotelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 06:04 PM   #4
Imagine Video
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 467
Default

Aristotelis The quality of the CODEC used by Canopus is superior to the quality of the msdv codec itself

This is evident when files captured using msdvavi and then encoded to meg 2 files for dvd authoring

If

You capture to the Canopus dvavi then do the same the end product will be sharper and seems to have less motion artifacts / jagged edges - you can see this on larger TV's

If you have the means capture and edit in the canopus file format for your tv system - ntsc in your case.
Imagine Video is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 06:09 PM   #5
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Actually yes, my mistake - I was getting my YUV/RGB argument confused with storage format. That's more to do with what gets done to the footage within an NLE. Not the codec format.

As it is these days, there is little difference in the two for capture and archival. It's all about the editing and processing.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 06:17 PM   #6
bdepace
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

so microsoftDV is the way to go? Since I am using eidus to edit with for now, will the process be any slower with the MSDV format? What format should I output my final movie again to be compatible in the future?

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 06:20 PM   #7
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Processing will be the same essentially, since the data rate is still the same (DV).

I only suggested MSDV since you said you wanted to include the possibility of not using a GV/Canopus solution in the future. Using MSDV ensures this.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 01:16 PM   #8
bdepace
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I realize this sounds absurd, but can you please walk me through the process? I assume I capture in edius with NHX-E1 SD NTSC for the project setting. I select with the capture pulldown the right input NHX-E1 DV. Where is the capture settings to select microsoft DV?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 01:20 PM   #9
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,114
Default

Edius can't capture Microsoft DV, you need to use optional software such as Scenalyzer (not free) or DVCapture (free from canopus.com registered user download area)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 01:25 PM   #10
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

Also DVCapture will only work with Windows XP. SCLive is essential for DV, I highly recommend it.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crashing during capture in Edius-5 kruzer Editing with EDIUS 43 06-10-2009 10:24 AM
Quality of Video: Input and Output settings shannonzirkle Editing with EDIUS 7 12-08-2008 11:49 PM
DV Capture 1.11 JimG Editing with EDIUS 4 08-11-2008 04:16 AM
Capture Settings for best resolution screen capture? TrackRanger FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 22 07-08-2008 05:05 PM
Change HDV capture settings with 4.6+ amfriedman Editing with EDIUS 1 03-28-2008 12:55 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.