Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2019, 10:15 PM   #1
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,765
Default GH5 and GH5S firmware update

Here is the link for GH5 version 2.6 and GH5S version 1.4
https://av.jpn.support.panasonic.com...oad/index.html
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 12:41 AM   #2
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,952
Default

Thanks Pat. I have updated both but not sure anything is of much use to me in the updates. Still like to keep them up to date though.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 01:09 AM   #3
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 383
Default

I am still using the original firmware on the gh5s.
when Panasonic fixes the noise issue when using the VFR, then I will update!
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 03:47 AM   #4
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,952
Default

Depending on when you bought the GH5S you may have missed out on a lot of improvements https://av.jpn.support.panasonic.com...s/dl/gh5s.html
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 04:07 AM   #5
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 383
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
Depending on when you bought the GH5S you may have missed out on a lot of improvements https://av.jpn.support.panasonic.com...s/dl/gh5s.html
makes no difference when it was purchased... all gh5s cameras are the same.

I have no issue updating it to the latest version... fact still remains.. there is an issue with the camera producing electronic noise in VFR (62frames and above) mode due to a few factors in the design of the camera. most noticeable in vlog-L mode. even with V1.2, Panasonic didn't resolve the issue. they used software to reduce it when in that mode, but its still there.

Last edited by ulyssesvideo; 11-20-2019 at 04:15 AM.
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 04:21 AM   #6
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,952
Default

If you bought when it was introduced and did not update any firmware then you are likely still on Ver 1.0 or 1.1. Way out of date. Just like any software update there are minor bug fixes that are not always mentioned that may effect power consumption etc. Keeping up to date is always a good idea even if the particular item you want is not included. I do not think any of the changes in these updates are of use to me but I have still updated both cameras.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 06:47 AM   #7
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 383
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
If you bought when it was introduced and did not update any firmware then you are likely still on Ver 1.0 or 1.1. Way out of date. Just like any software update there are minor bug fixes that are not always mentioned that may effect power consumption etc. Keeping up to date is always a good idea even if the particular item you want is not included. I do not think any of the changes in these updates are of use to me but I have still updated both cameras.
yep.. still on version 1.0 and I have NO issues with the camera...
yes.. I am fully aware of what software updates are and do.. and like most ppl.. haven't bothered to update it. it works perfectly for me except of the VFR issue which Panasonic have known about from day dot and pretended to not to know about it.
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:40 PM   #8
szekhely
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 29
Default

"most people' I know update when the new firmware comes out even if it it's a minor change
__________________
1st System - win 10 pro, I7-8700k@3.7GHz, 32Gb RAM, 250Gb 960EVO SSD, 3x1TB as Raid0 (backed up to Raid5 server), NVIDIA GTX 1060 6Gb, Edius 8.5
2nd system - win 7 Ult, I7-3770k@3.5GHz, 32Gb RAM, INTEL SSD 240Gb, 2x2tb as Raid0 (backed up to raid5 server), NVIDIA GTX 660, Edius 8.5
3rd system - win 7, i7, Edius 6.5 & pluraleyes (I keep it just for syncing projects (long story)
szekhely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:45 AM   #9
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 383
Default

well I think its fair to say... some do and some don't.

so what happens if you update your camera and the update causes issues...can you go back to the previous version?
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gh5 and 400mbps jeff8 Editing with EDIUS 10 03-25-2018 03:42 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:58 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.