Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2008, 09:16 AM   #1
cheeks609
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default ADVC110 Vs Vista

Hi I own a ... Dell Inspiron 1720/ Vista 32... I purchased a dazzle which never work for my system, every time I started to capture I would get the blue screen of death..... so I am now shopping for the best... one that will work with my computer no problem.... before I spend the money I would like to know if I should get the ADV110... if not can anyone give me a suggestion
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 12:37 PM   #2
Aristotelis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thomastown, Ireland
Posts: 665
Default

ADVC 110 works with Vista 100%, I'm using it often...
__________________
Aristotelis Bafaloukos
Systems Engineer, Video Editor, 3D Artist
BEng (Hons), MSc, MBCS

Ctrl+Alt+Delete
Aristotelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 07:17 PM   #3
cheeks609
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aristotelis View Post
ADVC 110 works with Vista 100%, I'm using it often...
ok...but will it work with my dell laptop ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 07:25 PM   #4
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Does the laptop have a powered 6-pin FireWire port? If not, you'll need to pick up an ADVC110 power supply at the same time, to get it working.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 06:50 AM   #5
cheeks609
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_KH View Post
Does the laptop have a powered 6-pin FireWire port? If not, you'll need to pick up an ADVC110 power supply at the same time, to get it working.
i am not sure what a 6-pin firewire is ...... but i know my laptop haves alot of usb ports and a s-video port and two other ports that looks unusual...............O wait is this is 1394 cable i have that port but its for the small side of the cord





this is the list on my laptop

IEEE 1394 integrated port (1394 cable and software sold separately)
5-USB 2.0 (Universal Serial Bus) compliant 4-pin connectors
Video: 15-pin monitor connector
Audio jacks: Stereo headphones/speakers miniconnector (same as line-out), microphone miniconnector
VGA Out

5 in 1 Media Card Reader
ExpressCard Slot
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 06:58 AM   #6
cheeks609
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheeks609 View Post
IEEE 1394 integrated port (1394 cable and software sold separately)

So iam think if i do need this cord i put the big part in the back of the ADV110 and the small end into my 1394 port ..... this should give the ADV110 power....... tell me if iam right or wrong ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 08:11 AM   #7
Aristotelis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thomastown, Ireland
Posts: 665
Default

Yes, you also need the power supply for the advc-110 unit...
__________________
Aristotelis Bafaloukos
Systems Engineer, Video Editor, 3D Artist
BEng (Hons), MSc, MBCS

Ctrl+Alt+Delete
Aristotelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 05:42 PM   #8
cheeks609
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aristotelis View Post
Yes, you also need the power supply for the advc-110 unit...
Now do i realy need to buy it... i would not have nothing at home that could power it up?... or is this power pack very special .. i could not get anything at my local radio shack?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 06:51 PM   #9
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Well, if you can match the power requirements and polarity, yes, anything will power it.

BUT

Using any power supply other than the one built and sold for ADVC110/ADVC55 will essentially tear up your warranty on the ADVC unit itself - be warned. If something goes awry, you could be in for some heartache later down the line.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
driver HX-E1 vista 64bit Sergio_008 Editing with EDIUS 1 09-23-2008 03:52 PM
Edius NX/PC3 & Vista whitehat Editing with EDIUS 0 01-06-2008 09:52 PM
ADVC110 Converter & vista ??? zeeky ADVC 3 09-17-2007 09:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.