Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2014, 01:23 AM   #1
Van.harrison
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 56
Default Edius won't link audio - missing TC

Hey everyone, how's it hanging?

So I'm having an issue with my timecodes disappearing. I've lined up a bunch of audio in its own sequence (where the TC is correct) and exported it to another machine. When I import on that machine and go to re-link from the drive (which has identical file structure), I can't!

So I checked the TC. It's not the same! But the ezp I imported looks great on the other machine. What could be the problem?
__________________
Van Harrison
The World's Most Interesting
*Assistant* Video Editor

Last edited by Van.harrison; 10-22-2014 at 05:48 PM.
Van.harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 04:51 PM   #2
Van.harrison
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 56
Default

So I've encountered another problem:

A while back I asked about a problem I was having with poly wave files. Edius was playing back files that had an odd number of channels as noise. The solution was to take all of my odd-channeled audio and turn it into 4, 6, and 8 channeled audio. The audio is perfect, and each file retained its TC through the process.

I have a copy of the file directory the other editor does, but my directory contains only the rendered audio and not the original, unrendered audio. However, in my system, each piece of audio has the same file name *and* location *and* timecode. Here's what the directory looks like:
Directory.PNG

The problem is this: When the other editor imports a sequence I export from my machine on his, the re-linker will not link to the files on his system. Again, they have the same directory, file name, extension, TC, length... everything. But when I put my files on his machine (just one to test, for instance) Edius pairs them without a problem.

We've tried this with the import sequence feature, AAF, and EDL.

There is one difference in the audio, though, and that's number of channels. My files all have eight channels, and his are all different. I did this to make sure the audio would not play back overmodulated. Here's a link to my original thread:
http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/s...t=33922&page=1

The solution I followed is on page 2.
__________________
Van Harrison
The World's Most Interesting
*Assistant* Video Editor
Van.harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 09:12 AM   #3
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,898
Default

You need to use the exact same media. Either copy the entire project with media and folders, and send that.

Probably the easiest way would be to synchronise your production machines from the start of production, and to re sync them if any extra media, such as pickups, is introduced. Use the same folder structures on any machines that are being used, relative to the root of the project data files (EZP). This way, all you have to do is copy and send the EZP files, run them from the same relative root position on the other production machines, and everything will be fine.

I've done many projects between remote Edius systems in this exact same way, and have never had any issues. The only thing that you would have to do is to regenerate any temp files after a move to another production machine. But this may not even be necessary with powerful machines.

From what you are describing, you are going to have issues no matter what NLE you would use.

As for your time code disappearing. Are you exporting the media, or are you linking to media, or are you letting the EZP run from the right relative root location with the original rushes, as per the description above?

Cheers,
Dave.
__________________
"There's only one thing more powerful than knowledge. The free sharing of it"

If you don't know the difference between Azimuth and Asimov, then either your tapes sound bad and your Robot is very dangerous. Kill all humans...... Or your tape deck won't harm a human, and your Robot's tracking and stereo imagining is spot on.

Is your Robot three laws safe?
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 06:39 PM   #4
Van.harrison
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 56
Default

But then why did it work when I overwrote the original files?

I discovered something else. I overwrote the new files with the original, and of course Edius indicated they were offline.

But they still played.
__________________
Van Harrison
The World's Most Interesting
*Assistant* Video Editor
Van.harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 08:26 PM   #5
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,898
Default

When you say exporting, there are many ways to do this. Have you checked the file proprieties of any expected media, the differences between AAF, EDL, linked media, re-exported media, have you checked if the various export methods are using source clip TC or time line TC, etc.?

Why not post a simple short two clip edit of something that doesn't work. I am quite sure other Edius users could give you a hand, there are users on this forum with audio post experience.

Cheers,
Dave.
__________________
"There's only one thing more powerful than knowledge. The free sharing of it"

If you don't know the difference between Azimuth and Asimov, then either your tapes sound bad and your Robot is very dangerous. Kill all humans...... Or your tape deck won't harm a human, and your Robot's tracking and stereo imagining is spot on.

Is your Robot three laws safe?
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 08:41 PM   #6
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,898
Default

When you say exporting, there are many ways to do this. Have you checked the file proprieties of any expected media, the differences between AAF, EDL, linked media, re-exported media, have you checked if the various export methods are using source clip TC or time line TC, etc.?

Why not post a simple short two clip edit of something that doesn't work. I am quite sure other Edius users could give you a hand, there are users on this forum with audio post experience.

Cheers,
Dave.
__________________
"There's only one thing more powerful than knowledge. The free sharing of it"

If you don't know the difference between Azimuth and Asimov, then either your tapes sound bad and your Robot is very dangerous. Kill all humans...... Or your tape deck won't harm a human, and your Robot's tracking and stereo imagining is spot on.

Is your Robot three laws safe?
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound in imported AVI missing in EDIUS 6.54 cspry Editing with EDIUS 8 07-07-2013 06:07 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.