Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2014, 11:15 PM   #1
John Hooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,126
Default 4:3 aspect question

I am archiving some old 4:3 tapes, but on capture the width appears a little less than expected. Is that normal?

The project settings are 720x576 50i PAL.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screengrab.jpg (77.7 KB, 27 views)
__________________
Edius 8.53WG, Vistitle 2.8, Windows 10 x64 Pro Fall Update, Asus Z87 Pro, Intel i7-4770K, 16 GB 1600 Corsair Vengence LP RAM, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB, WD Black 2TB media drive, Intel HD 4600 GPU, MSI GTX660 2GB VGA, Coolermaster Silencio 652 case, Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler, Cakewalk UA-25EX USB audio interface, Cakewalk MA-15D monitor speakers, BM Intensity Pro 4K, PlextorPX-LB950SA BD writer, Dell U2410 Monitor
John Hooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 02:22 AM   #2
createmedia
Senior Member
 
createmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Four Marks, Alton, UK
Posts: 1,260
Default

Yes I get that. Officially 4 by 3 is 704 by 576 but most TV programmes fill up to 720. Canon was 704. Some black space was originally intended prior to the image beginning after sync, but most didn't follow the spec. I just sort it with layouter.

Mike
__________________
Sys4: Z10PE-D16WS MB 2xE5-2696 Xeon 64 active logical cores. EWG9. 64G RAM. Aorus GTX1080Ti. 55" Q7 1500 NIT HDR 4K TV/Storm 3G Elite/Decklink 4K 12G/8CH audio monitoring, Yamaha RXA-870 A/V. Sys1-3 EWG8 + RX-E1+HDBX1000 MIP in HP xw8600 2 x X5492 CPU 8 cores, 8Gig RAM, Quadro FX3800. All sys Fibre to central media pool - 5TB Axus Yotta RAID + QLogic Fibre Switch. Central VCR rack plus YUV & audio to viewing room with Yamaha AX1 7.1 100 watt per channel amp with 1000W sub 63" HD 3D Samsung TV
createmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 03:04 AM   #3
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,113
Default

the black you see on EDIUS preview is normal

this black will not be visible on a 4:3 TV, it will be masked by the overscan of the TV

you can use layouter to eliminate the black
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 12:20 PM   #4
createmedia
Senior Member
 
createmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Four Marks, Alton, UK
Posts: 1,260
Default

BUT..... important to resize for YouTube.

Mike
__________________
Sys4: Z10PE-D16WS MB 2xE5-2696 Xeon 64 active logical cores. EWG9. 64G RAM. Aorus GTX1080Ti. 55" Q7 1500 NIT HDR 4K TV/Storm 3G Elite/Decklink 4K 12G/8CH audio monitoring, Yamaha RXA-870 A/V. Sys1-3 EWG8 + RX-E1+HDBX1000 MIP in HP xw8600 2 x X5492 CPU 8 cores, 8Gig RAM, Quadro FX3800. All sys Fibre to central media pool - 5TB Axus Yotta RAID + QLogic Fibre Switch. Central VCR rack plus YUV & audio to viewing room with Yamaha AX1 7.1 100 watt per channel amp with 1000W sub 63" HD 3D Samsung TV
createmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 02:27 PM   #5
John Hooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,126
Default

Thank you for the help. I don't usually work in 4:3, so I was surprised to see that the width did not match the guide in Edius.

The output is to DVD.
__________________
Edius 8.53WG, Vistitle 2.8, Windows 10 x64 Pro Fall Update, Asus Z87 Pro, Intel i7-4770K, 16 GB 1600 Corsair Vengence LP RAM, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB, WD Black 2TB media drive, Intel HD 4600 GPU, MSI GTX660 2GB VGA, Coolermaster Silencio 652 case, Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler, Cakewalk UA-25EX USB audio interface, Cakewalk MA-15D monitor speakers, BM Intensity Pro 4K, PlextorPX-LB950SA BD writer, Dell U2410 Monitor
John Hooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 01:42 AM   #6
Alade.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Barbados
Posts: 114
Default

Now I understand ...it puzzled me from day one, but I never worried about it, as I never noticed it in the final project on the TV....I usually use the layouter to correct it, but I notice it is still there if I make an .avi file and re-import it.....
Alade. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC-G1 question on SVGA input to 720p output and aspect ratios e_dauth ADVC 2 01-19-2012 04:08 PM
Aspect ratio 16:9 / 4:3 hans.vanmeurs Editing with EDIUS 1 05-20-2011 02:56 PM
down convert to SD aspect ratio question RonnieMartin Editing with EDIUS 10 05-18-2010 09:09 AM
Edius 5.11 Aspect Ratio, Speed Control Question David Ice Editing with EDIUS 7 06-13-2009 02:10 AM
Aspect Ratio Photographer ProCoder 2 07-24-2007 01:51 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.