Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > MYNC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2018, 01:29 PM   #31
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,433
Default

How about, don't deactivate, just in case, and then unplug all the hard drives, get a new drive for testing - or an old one you have hanging around doing nothing - put windows on it and install the free version of Mync only and see what happens.

If it still does not work then it is something weird about some other part of your computer.

I do this quite a lot when trying to diagnose strange problems but I do have a spare SSD hanging around. Just installing windows with not extra drivers and then putting on a program and nothing else does not take too long.

If it works plug in the extra drives and add in the other software you have a bit at a time until you find what Mync does not like.

Either use the free version of Mync or start up a new EDIUS ID and use a trial of EDIUS 9 instead of your real licence for testing.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 3.7Ghz Coffee Lake processor, 32GB RAM, ATI 7800 GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 02:34 PM   #32
panosole
Senior Member
 
panosole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Athens-Greece
Posts: 118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Clarke View Post
How about, don't deactivate, just in case, and then unplug all the hard drives, get a new drive for testing - or an old one you have hanging around doing nothing - put windows on it and install the free version of Mync only and see what happens.

If it still does not work then it is something weird about some other part of your computer.

I do this quite a lot when trying to diagnose strange problems but I do have a spare SSD hanging around. Just installing windows with not extra drivers and then putting on a program and nothing else does not take too long.

If it works plug in the extra drives and add in the other software you have a bit at a time until you find what Mync does not like.

Either use the free version of Mync or start up a new EDIUS ID and use a trial of EDIUS 9 instead of your real licence for testing.

Ok.. I will do as you said. Either way Server responded that I reached the maximum number of deactivations (2) not 3 as I thought.
I don't understand why there must be a limit of activations/deactivations since this is the same pc. It would make sense, if one would try to install on many Computers. Any way I will test with a spare SSD and a trial version of Edius 9.20 and see what happens.
Thanks.!!!
__________________
Computer Details
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Core i7 2600K@3,4 Ghz (8cores)
16Gb DDR3 (4*4Gb@1600Mhz Corsair)
1*250 GB SSD (O.S and programs)
2*640 GB WD Raid 0 for Video Editing
1 Sata Dvd/R
1 Sata Blu-Ray Reader
Geforce GTX 580 Vga with 1.5GB Ram 384Bit
2 LG IPS235v-BN Led 23"
Windows 10 Professional x64
Intensity Pro
Edius Workgroup 9.20.3340
Vistititle 2.7.0.0


Once you go Mac you may come back!!
Once you use FCP, you always need to render!!!
Thats why i switch to Edius !!!
panosole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 02:45 PM   #33
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,433
Default

I thought it was two de-activations and 3 activations in a month to be honest, not the other way round. It is all to prevent piracy, of course. It is a shame there has to be any limit but then people just don't pay for the software.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 3.7Ghz Coffee Lake processor, 32GB RAM, ATI 7800 GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 06:58 PM   #34
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,735
Default

You are correct David only 2 per month
I now deactivate approx every 2 months and then do a backup of SSD
__________________
System 1, Asus P8Z77-V Premium, i7 3770k, 32GB Ram, EVGA Titan SC, Win10 Pro, WIN 7 64 Ultimate, Edius 8 and 9 WG, VP15, Resolve 14, HDStorm, BM Intensity Pro, Caddie system for OS and Data,
System 2, Asus P8Z77-V, i73770K, 16gb Ram, Asus GTX 690, Win 7 64 Ultimate, E6.54, CS6, Vegas 13, PD 15 Caddy System
System 3, Asus P6TSE, i7 950, 12gb Ram, GTX 260, Win7 64 Ultimate, Edius 6.08 and E5.5 on Removable Caddies
Plugins Vistitle 2.6, Boris Red,Vitascene2, TP5
Monitors LG 2 M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D (3D)for HDStorm, 2 NX5E,MC2000E,XR550,TD10
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 01:17 AM   #35
panosole
Senior Member
 
panosole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Athens-Greece
Posts: 118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Lewis View Post
You are correct David only 2 per month
I now deactivate approx every 2 months and then do a backup of SSD
Update for Mync 9.20 issues.

After many many hours of uninstalling/reinstalling/ and checking everything, i decided to format my hard drive and install everything from scratch...
It took about 7 hours but now everything is OK.
And when i say everything i mean Mync 9.20
Now i have created an image with acronis so I HOPE that there will be no problem again. I suspect that the problem appeared from the Intel's Integrated HD 3000 from my i7 2600K. It requires a driver dated back in 2013 in order to work, but with the new version of Edius 9.20 this driver is not in use anymore, and this explains why Mync immediately crashed everytime i checked the Gear icon and the H264/H265 hardware decode settings. It was grayed out. With the new installation, windows 10 found new drivers for the HD 3000 from September 2016, installed them correctly, and the Quicksync works as it should without the need of installation of the older drivers. After i made sure that everything is Ok, i started testing Mync everytime i was installing a new application. When the installation procedure was completed i thought i should let you know about what had happened. So once more i thank you all, and also the Technician from EMEA (Germany) who helped me a lot and returned the license to the server, otherwise it would not be possible to do anything. So after all i came to the conclusion that this issue was not a bug.
__________________
Computer Details
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Core i7 2600K@3,4 Ghz (8cores)
16Gb DDR3 (4*4Gb@1600Mhz Corsair)
1*250 GB SSD (O.S and programs)
2*640 GB WD Raid 0 for Video Editing
1 Sata Dvd/R
1 Sata Blu-Ray Reader
Geforce GTX 580 Vga with 1.5GB Ram 384Bit
2 LG IPS235v-BN Led 23"
Windows 10 Professional x64
Intensity Pro
Edius Workgroup 9.20.3340
Vistititle 2.7.0.0


Once you go Mac you may come back!!
Once you use FCP, you always need to render!!!
Thats why i switch to Edius !!!
panosole is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > MYNC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exporting a Mync Storyboard to EDIUS spurfilm MYNC 2 02-23-2018 11:24 AM
Mync in Edius 9 - Any Enhancements? Kris MYNC 0 10-27-2017 07:30 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.