Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2016, 12:41 PM   #1
GrassValley_TH
Grass Valley
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Madrid
Posts: 7
Question Just trimming a clip, why does it process so much?

Hi,

My intention is to trim a clip with source format X and destination format X. In other words, source and destination formats are the same, and I need this to be a really FAST process. Just read/write, with no processing in between.

So I have set up my Project Settings also with format X.

Edius still takes a looong time (almost real-time) to do this, and I don't think this is necessary. An hour clip needs maybe 50 minutes to publish.

What am I doing wrong?

Is the render format of any importance, if there is no 'conversion'?

Thanks!
Thomas
GrassValley_TH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 12:48 PM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,433
Default

I jut tested trimming a 32min XDCAM 4:2:2 clip and export to the same format

I ticked Segment Encode and it only took 38 seconds to export

is that the time you are after? or you need faster?
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 12:53 PM   #3
Thor
Senior Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 788
Default

Could also be a hardware problem, such as a failing hard drive, that is slowing things down. You should just be able to mark in and out, and export to a new file very quickly.
__________________
Regards,

Jon

#1: Iwill DK8N, 2 x 270 Opterons, 2 Gb RAM, WinXPPro-32, Edius 5.51, NX PCI-X & HDV Expansion, ProCoder 3, Imaginate 2, Sony WV-DR9, Sony EDV-9500, Sony GV-D200.
#2: Asus P5E, Q9400, WinXPPro-32, Edius 6.07, HD Spark
#3: Edius SP with Breakout Box, Win10, Edius 7.53
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 01:39 PM   #4
GrassValley_TH
Grass Valley
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Madrid
Posts: 7
Default

Yes, that sounds reasonable! Can you tell me what settings you have chosen for:

- project
- render
- destination

Did you use the XDCAM exporter plugin?
Did you enable the Layouter?
Did you set up the timeline with 1V+1A+2A+3A+4A+5A+6A+7A+8A ?
ClosedGOP?
Did you write to XDCAM drive or PC hard disk?

Thanks
GrassValley_TH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 02:08 PM   #5
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,869
Default

Can you tell us which codec the material is and which exporter you used?
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 02:53 PM   #6
GrassValley_TH
Grass Valley
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Madrid
Posts: 7
Default

Source codec is XDCAM-HD422 50Mb/s, YUV, 4:2:2, 8 bits, Interlaced,
Top Field First. 1920x1080.

I have tested some different exporters, but mainly XDCAM HD422.
GrassValley_TH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 12:16 AM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,433
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_TH View Post
Yes, that sounds reasonable! Can you tell me what settings you have chosen for:

- project
- render
- destination

Did you use the XDCAM exporter plugin?
Did you enable the Layouter?
Did you set up the timeline with 1V+1A+2A+3A+4A+5A+6A+7A+8A ?
ClosedGOP?
Did you write to XDCAM drive or PC hard disk?

Thanks
I export to hard disk

If you tick closed GOP, segment encode won't work

attached are the settings, I use V+A tracks only and I only use two channels in the edit and final export
Attached Images
File Type: png XDCAM-project-setting.png (73.4 KB, 17 views)
File Type: png XDCAM-segment-encode.png (9.3 KB, 12 views)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 09:24 AM   #8
GrassValley_TH
Grass Valley
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Madrid
Posts: 7
Default

I have tried your settings, but still the speed is very low. 4 minutes for a 5 minute clip.

I assume this has to do with the source or destination drive performance...

I see you have a V:\ drive, are You using K2?
GrassValley_TH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 09:30 AM   #9
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,433
Default

my V drive is an internal Raid5

but I also tested exporting to just a Passport drive connected via USB3 and the speed was not much slower

however, if you added any filters or layouter changes to your source clips, segment encode won't work

my example was for trimming without altering anything else

processor speed may also helps speed things during export if the clips were modified other than trim
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Ghost" audio after trimming clip ecarter312 Editing with EDIUS 3 03-07-2016 04:53 PM
trimming clip issue jimstamos Editing with EDIUS 7 07-09-2011 08:33 AM
Trimming a Clip in Slip Mode jerseymike Editing with EDIUS 4 12-31-2007 08:17 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.