Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2013, 09:37 PM   #1
zokes83
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 3
Default Edius Pro 7 Trial requires SSSE3 @ Win8 Pro 64 Bit / Phenom II X6

Hi, I'm pretty shure that my AMD Phenom II X6 1055T support SSSE3, but the trial installation routine says: "This application requires SSSE3 supported CPU for installation. Setup is terminated." I'm using Win8 Professional 64 Bit with AMD 970 chipset, UEFI, 8 GB DDR3 RAM...

Does anyone have the same problem?
zokes83 is offline  
Old 07-09-2013, 02:27 AM   #2
dlmonak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 124
Default Oh no

I have the same AMD Phenom II X6 1055T and it looks like the SSSE3 is a Intel Supplemental Streaming SIMD Extensions 3 that is not implemented on the chip.
Not sure if there is a way to change this, without replace the chip.
dlmonak is offline  
Old 07-09-2013, 06:56 AM   #3
zokes83
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 3
Default

Why the hell do I need SSSE3, my Phenom II X6 is still a fast and modern CPU? At first Edius 6 doesn't work with my Win8 PC and now I have to change my CPU too to use Edius 7... :(

And no GPU-acceleration support either, maybe I will look elsewhere for a fast editing solution...
zokes83 is offline  
Old 07-09-2013, 07:51 AM   #4
Adbear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
Default

Have you tried using the Demo version? You may find it just works.
If your AMD CPU doesn't have SSSE3 then I'd say it was an oversight of AMD since it's been around since 2006 and you CPU is from 2010. I don't see any reason why they shouldn't use 7 year old instruction sets if it means more accurate and faster processing
Adbear is offline  
Old 07-09-2013, 09:02 AM   #5
Adbear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
Default

That chip doesn't support SSSE3, it supports SSE3. You need a newer CPU to support it
Adbear is offline  
Old 07-09-2013, 02:01 PM   #6
Alter Ego
Senior Member
 
Alter Ego's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: North Wales, PA, USA
Posts: 412
Default

I'm in the same boat. I have the AMD 1100T and my daughter's machine has the 1055T. The X6 Phenom series doesn't support SSSE3.

I just built a home office system for my wife using a super cheap AMD 3.6GHZ A6-5600K chip and it does support SSSE3, but it is only a dual core. It was only $67 and has a built in Radeon GPU. It was a bargain for my wife's office needs.

The best overall performing AMD CPU is the FX-8350 eight core has SSSE3, but you need a AM3+ motherboard. It won't drop in the AM3 MB's that we have for the Phenom X6's. I may go this way or most likely just switch back to an Intel setup.
__________________
Tom Koveleskie - Director/Producer/Editor
Quarter Town Films - Independent Feature and Documentary Films.

Edius 8 WG with HDSpark, AMD 8 core FX 8370 Black Edition 4.3 GHZ, MSI 970A Krait Edition, 16 GB Patriot DDR3 1333 MHz RAM, EVGA Nvidia GTX 780 TI graphics, Win 10 X64.
Alter Ego is offline  
Old 07-09-2013, 05:37 PM   #7
zokes83
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 3
Default

Yes I tried the demo version. Doesn't work.

I think I will stick with my old 6.07 Version on a parallel Win7 partition.

My 3 year old Phenom II X6 for which I paid 180 is still fast enough for everything and has the same multithread speed as the latest small i5 for 140 . Big bang for the buck!

I wait for Haswell-E Octacore, cheap 1 TB SSDs, Win9 an Edius 8...
zokes83 is offline  
Old 03-15-2014, 08:45 PM   #8
nath
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: ojai
Posts: 111
Thumbs down

What really bugs me is that the box is not saying that we can not run 7 without sssse3 support! And that it needs an uninstall to install. How much fun to reinstall 6.55 if it is an upgrade from and upgrade from an upgrade from an upgrade ... NOT! What a way to spend my weekend. A real downer.

On another note, what did you end up doing?

Did you stick with an amd? I just like all amd products.
nath is offline  
Old 03-15-2014, 08:59 PM   #9
Zorro
Senior Member
 
Zorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 2,089
Default

The problem here is AMD: the say they are 100% Intel compatible...but are not. SSSE3 has been here since 2006 and AMD implemented it at the end of 2011.
Zorro is offline  
Old 03-15-2014, 09:11 PM   #10
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,569
Default

Even if your 6.5 is an upgrade version it's still the full installer it just requires previous version serials on installation Edius has always worked like this so no dramas there however version updates may need correct order in some cases.

Best
Dave.
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline  
Closed Thread
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seeking a fanless/silent graphics card for Edius 6 and Win 7 64 Pro Claire EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 9 03-29-2011 09:07 AM
Questions regarding Edius NX + 5D Mark II + Win7 64-bit alxwulf EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 35 03-08-2010 10:47 AM
how to install titlemotion pro 5.21 on vista 64 bit? s76x EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 2 11-07-2009 07:39 PM
Edius trial and dvstorm 2 pro jonathanfrac Editing with EDIUS 0 02-04-2008 10:31 AM
XP pro 64 and edius 3.6 ingeborgdot Editing with EDIUS 28 12-09-2007 04:01 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.