Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2014, 06:58 PM   #1
Gunn
Senior Member
 
Gunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 143
Default Do I need a new computer?

My current computer is a HP XW8400 with two Intel X5365 3.0ghz quad core processors, a 1333mz FS bus and 8gb of ram. I know I need more ram but I am looking at a cost of $1600.00 to $2400.00 for 32gb. My C drive is solid state and the other drives are all 7200 rpm. The project drive is only 25% full.

My problem is working with effects. If I apply a sharpen filter to a clip, it stutters even after rendering. Ditto with other effects. I do not remember it being so slow in the past! BTW, I am still on Edius 6.

Advice?
Gunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 07:19 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,464
Default

That system in it's day was outrageous. But time passes and things change.
Before you put in more money into that system, look at the chart below.
xeon speeds.png
More than likely your warranty is out, but have you had HP look at it?
I have no idea what that would cost.

Are you using different types of files than you used to use? For example, were you using HDV and then started using H.264 files?
What changes did you make to the system prior to the performance drop?

You were talking between $1600 and $2400 for ram alone. For that price, you can build one heck of a system with either a 3770k, 4770k, and if you wait until May 14th, you can get a 4790k with the new X97 chipset motherboards that reportedly can also use the broadwell 14nm chips when they are released next year. That gives you a little bit of future proofing.

Something to consider before spending that much on ram alone.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 07:32 PM   #3
CentralEurope
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austria / Center from €urope
Posts: 1,688
Default

aside from Jerry`s correct CPU words

Quote:
8gb of ram
is a lot more as Edius 6 as 32 bit applicaton can handle

Quote:
cost of $1600.00 to $2400.00 for 32gb.
Edius 6 can not utilize the 8 GB ram, and benefits never from increase to 32 GB ram

have you a second C drive for to test temporally Edius_7 as 64 bit application
Edius_7 can handle full the existing 8 GB ram
.
__________________
CentralEurope aka Hans
voluntary / unpaid moderator from the german GV-forum ... Edius 4.61 up to Edius 9.xx
i9-7980XE 18cores/36threads - M.2 960PRO 512GB - M.2 970PRO 1TB - div. 2 or4TB disks - 32GB DDR4-3600 - GTX 1080 8GB - Win_10prof
[the AMD 1950X 16cores / 32 threads = go return because of massive problems, Not only I had these problems]
CentralEurope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 11:43 PM   #4
Adbear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
Default

I agree with Jerry, don't waste your money on the RAM, you can buy a faster system for that money
__________________
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB 5400RPM Video drives, external Blu-ray Optical

Last edited by Adbear; 04-20-2014 at 09:21 PM.
Adbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 08:47 PM   #5
Gunn
Senior Member
 
Gunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 143
Wink

I really appreciate your advice every one!

Thanks
Gunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 11:12 AM   #6
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,859
Default

If you are looking at spending upto $2400 on anything to do with an old system, then you really would be best off with a new computer.

You could build a new high end Z87 based system for around 700 to £800.

If you wanted you could even keep your old 8400 as well, and simply update it with cheap second hand RAM from ebay. This is exactly what I have done with my 8600, and you can pick up 16GB for about £80. I have even seen 32gb for about £200

These links may be of use.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/16GB-KIT-4...item51b52a4466

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/16GB-KIT-8...item1e85e17d99
__________________
"There's only one thing more powerful than knowledge. The free sharing of it"

If you don't know the difference between Azimuth and Asimov, then either your tapes sound bad and your Robot is very dangerous. Kill all humans...... Or your tape deck won't harm a human, and your Robot's tracking and stereo imagining is spot on.

Is your Robot three laws safe?

Last edited by Liverpool TV; 04-22-2014 at 11:20 AM.
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 09:29 PM   #7
Gunn
Senior Member
 
Gunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Liverpool TV View Post
If you are looking at spending upto $2400 on anything to do with an old system, then you really would be best off with a new computer.

You could build a new high end Z87 based system for around 700 to £800.

If you wanted you could even keep your old 8400 as well, and simply update it with cheap second hand RAM from ebay. This is exactly what I have done with my 8600, and you can pick up 16GB for about £80. I have even seen 32gb for about £200

These links may be of use.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/16GB-KIT-4...item51b52a4466

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/16GB-KIT-8...item1e85e17d99
One of my buddies found me a DEAL on 32gb of Kingston ram. I installed it today. As soon as I finish the current project on this computer, I will install Edius 7....cross your fingers.
I use the same computer for photo editing in Adobe as well as graphics. I anticipate the 32gb of ram will help there.
I need some advice re my Quadro 4000 card (pricey). It died and PNY is quoting me $400.00 for repair. Where would that $400.00 be best spent? Repair or new card?
Gunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 01:39 AM   #8
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,859
Default

As Jerry and Adam are saying, you would be better using your budget on a new system and not spending on expensive ram for your machine. You will not see any difference what so ever in the performance of your Edius setup with extra ram. Even in E7 at 64 bit, you are not going to see a difference in your ram usage. You are now at the stage where the only thing that you can do to notice an appreciable difference in performance, is with CPU and not ram. As Jerry as said, your machine at one point was a monster, but this is unfortunately no longer the case. If it helps you any, I have just done the exact same thing but with an 8gig 2x 2.5ghz 8600. The Haswell really does make for a better and cheaper improvement. You could also go higher than an i7 Haswell, but unless you are doing real crazy stuff in Edius, you may be simply over spending for power you probably don't need. Also, a pure Edius 7 environment on win64 will not push your memory requirements even to 8gig. I would only go beyond 8gig if your other production apps need it.
__________________
"There's only one thing more powerful than knowledge. The free sharing of it"

If you don't know the difference between Azimuth and Asimov, then either your tapes sound bad and your Robot is very dangerous. Kill all humans...... Or your tape deck won't harm a human, and your Robot's tracking and stereo imagining is spot on.

Is your Robot three laws safe?
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 01:46 AM   #9
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,859
Default

Oh sorry. As far as your card is concerned. I have a 4800 and although this would have been over $2000 originally, you can pick one up for less than $100 on ebay. I assume the 4800 is better than the 4000, unless you were referring to the range. In any event, and again, don't go throwing good money after bad. If you stick with your 8400 you will be limited. If on the other hand you go for a modern build, your $400 will get you a way better games card as opposed to a limited Quadro, in either Nvidia or ATI flavours. Again though, a pure Edius setup is not going to benefit from GPU assistance, although it may come into play for certain plugins and definitely other apps that use GPU.
__________________
"There's only one thing more powerful than knowledge. The free sharing of it"

If you don't know the difference between Azimuth and Asimov, then either your tapes sound bad and your Robot is very dangerous. Kill all humans...... Or your tape deck won't harm a human, and your Robot's tracking and stereo imagining is spot on.

Is your Robot three laws safe?
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2014, 04:19 PM   #10
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

The XW8400 was a kicking system in its day, but its day was more than a handful of years ago...
Plus IIRC it required Fully Buffered Registered DIMMs (FB DIMMs) that is a rarity these days.
Once went on a scavenger hunt in Vegas for some FB DIMMs - some of the older Mac Pro system used them - but turned up nil.
Unbuffered/unregistered (Desktop) RAM - CHEAP
Buffered/registered (Server) RAM - not quite so cheap...
Fully buffered/registered (Server) RAM - not cheap at all

Since you already got extra RAM on a steal (good for you!), but you're feeling cramped in the chassis (per your other gfx card thread), I would still look at saving up for a new machine.

Your XW8400 will still make a great offline rendering machine, playout system, or a way-overpowered web browser. ;)

Last edited by GrassValley_BH; 04-28-2014 at 04:25 PM.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer Effect from Computer to Computer? Mike Truly Editing with EDIUS 2 07-05-2013 07:32 PM
Help me about new computer videomelbourne EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 2 09-30-2009 02:41 PM
New computer George_S EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 2 12-09-2008 03:17 AM
New computer Khoi Pham Editing with EDIUS 1 04-24-2008 05:37 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.