Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2014, 09:07 PM   #11
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,858
Default

If you have two versions, 6.5 and 7, and you have two licenses to operate them independently. Then you can have two separate boot drives, with 6.5 on one and 7 on the other.

Do not create a dual boot on one physical drive, it needs to be two separate physical drives, and don't have both running at the same time on the same machine. This is important as one Windows 7 drive will do things to the other, and can cause issues.

As has been suggested, you can use removable caddies. This may be the best option, only have one caddy receptor in the machine and the two drives each in separate caddies. This way, you will only ever be able to have one windows system drive, including either Edius 6.5 or 7, actively ever running. This way it is impossible for each If you have two versions, 6.5 and 7, and you have two licenses to operate them independently. Then you can have two separate boot drives, with 6.5 on one and 7 on the other.

Do not create a dual boot on one physical drive, it needs to be two separate physical drives, and don't have both running at the same time on the same machine. This is important as one Windows 7 drive will do things to the other, and can cause issues.

As has been suggested, you can use removable caddies. This may be the best option, only have one caddy receptor in the machine and the two drives each in separate caddies. This way, you will only ever be able to have one windows system drive actively running at any one time in your machine, including either Edius 6.5 or 7. This way it is impossible for each system drive to ever see each and do potentially horrible things to each other and the Edius installs.
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 09:32 PM   #12
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,446
Default

My case has a built in SSD slot. All I do is turn off, replace the drive, and start up. This takes less than a minute to do all of that.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 09:59 PM   #13
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
My case has a built in SSD slot. All I do is turn off, replace the drive, and start up. This takes less than a minute to do all of that.
I have a similar thing, it's really easy and mega useful. It is also a good way around working on different programmes that don't like to be on the same system, or if you need a certain type of codec environment.

This way of working, especially Jerry's way. Is also the best way to have both windows and Mac OS, on one machine.
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 05:49 AM   #14
ntbone
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 242
Default

I found a solution to this, as I use Plural Eyes heavily for all my syncing. I posted about my setup in the forum.

I run Windows 8.1 and host EDIUS 6.5 from a virtual machine. I have the videos folder mapped in the VM to the same drive. I create my project in EDIUS 6.5. I sync the videos and then open them up in EDIUS 7 and proceed to do the rest of my editing. This works and the VM is surprisingly efficient.

Notes: I use the hyperV visualization as part of Windows. I initially tried VirtualBox but its virtual network connection was way to slow and unusable.

If there is more interest I can find the details of my other post and link them here.
ntbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 01:17 PM   #15
Tobe
Senior Member
 
Tobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Glenford, NY
Posts: 979
Default

Am I right in assuming with swapping SSD caddies that you need to swap dongles each time also?
Tobe
__________________
Documentaries and Art Projects
Hudson Valley, NY

i7 8700K @ 3.70 Ghz/16 gb RAM
windows 10
284 gb SSD boot drive
1 TB work disc
2TB storage disc
EDIUS 9.31
Many external project hard drives
Tobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 01:29 PM   #16
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,647
Default

EDIUS 7 does not use a dongle. We have activation.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 02:09 PM   #17
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,446
Default

If you are going from 6.xx to 6.5x or 7.xx, the dongle will be ignored. It will more than likely install onto each drive if left in, but 6.5x and 7.x won't recognize it for anything.
The only issue that you would run into is if your GV/Canopus card had different firmware for each of these programs.
The firmware is not stored on your system drive. It is a dedicated chip on the GV card that is updated by flashing the chip.
If you don't have a GV/Canopus card, then you should be good to go with separate drives.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 12:42 PM   #18
brucedempsey
Member
 
brucedempsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cameraman East Coast Canada
Posts: 88
Default CMOS Checksum Error

CMOS Checksum Error

I now have two complete systems on seperate ssds
sometimes I get a CMOS Checksum Error when booting telling me about a cpu change. Once I load defaults in the bios the halt goes away. Not very elegant. Others have this isssue too?
tks
Bruce
__________________
Bolex, Beaulieu, ArriBL, Marconi Mark IV, GE pe 250, Polaroid Land Camera, Pentax M, Nikonos, Sony AVC-3400, Sony DVR460 Fuji 7000, Fugi s602, HDR-HC1, HDR-FX7, HDR CX550v, Cx 130, GoPro, Contour, Kodak PlaySport, Sony RX100, Sony HX300, DJI Phantom, HDR-MV1, FDR-AX100, A5100, Livewedge Vision Mixer, X9 hdmi in H.265 recorder
brucedempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 03:46 PM   #19
Crespel
Senior Member
 
Crespel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LTVHD View Post
Do not create a dual boot on one physical drive, it needs to be two separate physical drives, and don't have both running at the same time on the same machine. This is important as one Windows 7 drive will do things to the other, and can cause issues.
wrong ...
I'm running a dual boot system as logical volume with RAID 0 drives(2xSSD) with Edius 6.5 and Edius 7.x without problems what so ever.
Attached Images
File Type: png Dual Boot.PNG (10.9 KB, 14 views)
__________________
_________________________________
Triple boot:Win10/Win10/Win10/I7-5930K/GTX780/1TB SW RAID:1000MB Read-Write/15TB Video RAID:650MB Read-Write/Intel X550
Triple boot:Win7/Win10/Win10/I7-6950X/GTX1080/SW:M.2 5300MB Read-2100MB Write/15TB Video RAID:850MB Read-Write/BMD 4K Extreme
both on: 10Gbps Media sharing Network, 10Gbps NAS
Crespel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 06:53 PM   #20
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crespel View Post
wrong ...
I'm running a dual boot system as logical volume with RAID 0 drives(2xSSD) with Edius 6.5 and Edius 7.x without problems what so ever.
You can do it, but the default when Windows "notices" another Windows installation is to install to a separate Windows directory on the same drive and that can be problematic as files outside of the Windows directory end up shared and overwritten.

As long as you install each Windows on a separate volume it's OK, though bootsector and boot manager is still shared.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing 6.5 on New Machine VideoOpp Editing with EDIUS 4 08-11-2013 03:55 PM
New Machine skraja EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 4 01-29-2011 03:36 PM
Problems with new machine swsw1550 Editing with EDIUS 42 11-27-2009 03:28 AM
HELP! How to Install on a new machine zipcom Editing with EDIUS 15 11-06-2009 12:05 AM
V3.5 and 4.5 on the same machine Kurt Editing with EDIUS 4 11-15-2007 12:22 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:27 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.