Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2010, 04:50 PM   #1
amplix
Member
 
amplix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sevenoaks, Kent, UK
Posts: 30
Default Edius6 and Win7

While marvelling at the new features, I didn't see any mention of Win 7 and 64 bit compatibility. I want to be able to use extended memory rather than be stuck with the 3Gb limit for XP
amplix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 04:52 PM   #2
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

E5 works with Win7 x64, so un-stick now!
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 05:09 PM   #3
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,863
Default

If you look at the EDIUS data sheet on the EDIUS page you will find this info :
Operating System
Windows 7 (32-bit or 64-bit)•
Windows Vista (SP2 or later, 32-bit • or 64-bit)
Windows XP (SP3 or later, 32-bit))•

http://www.grassvalley.com/assets/me...S_Software.pdf
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 06:51 PM   #4
GrassValley_CP
Grass Valley
 
GrassValley_CP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Jose
Posts: 358
Default

@Amplix

The question may actually be, "is EDIUS v6 a 64-bit application?"
Is that what you're asking?
GrassValley_CP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 07:52 PM   #5
sitosson
Member
 
sitosson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 47
Default

I think that 'amplix' and the rest of us is asking can Edius 6 handle larger memory than 3Gb.
That question is very important for many of us Edius user.
__________________
Tom
_____________________
SitoCAM Video Production
sitosson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 01:32 AM   #6
Blast1
Senior Member
 
Blast1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 407
Default

Quote:
The question may actually be, "is EDIUS v6 a 64-bit application?"
Its already been stated that Edius 6 is "optimized for 64 bit systems", which means its still 32bit with addressing limitations, but can it address a full 4gigs with any other overhead like video, etc based in upper memory
__________________
GA-EP45C-DSR3,Core2Q3ghz,8gig1066,260GTX,2x 20"AOC,22"Vizio1080pTV, Edius5/HDspark,PC3,Imaginate, CS5ProdStudio/IntensityPro,Win7_64
HPdv7t 17"notebook,8gig,2 IntHD,9600GT512M,17"extmon, Edius4.61,CS4Prodstudio.Win7_64,MX02Mini
DAW,HPdv9000,x2Turion,4Gig,2IntHD,Audition3,Cubase 4,XPpro,Alessis F/Wmixer,M-Audio F/Wmixer,BCF2000, BehringerMixers, Fender sound sys
Numerous Ext eSATA drives & Raids shared between systems
Blast1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 01:40 AM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,426
Default

a 32bit app can use 2GB and not 3GB
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 02:05 AM   #8
Blast1
Senior Member
 
Blast1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 407
Default

Ppro CS4 is a 32 bit app optimized for 64bit, but can use a full 4gigs of ram, the question is can Edius 6 do the same?
__________________
GA-EP45C-DSR3,Core2Q3ghz,8gig1066,260GTX,2x 20"AOC,22"Vizio1080pTV, Edius5/HDspark,PC3,Imaginate, CS5ProdStudio/IntensityPro,Win7_64
HPdv7t 17"notebook,8gig,2 IntHD,9600GT512M,17"extmon, Edius4.61,CS4Prodstudio.Win7_64,MX02Mini
DAW,HPdv9000,x2Turion,4Gig,2IntHD,Audition3,Cubase 4,XPpro,Alessis F/Wmixer,M-Audio F/Wmixer,BCF2000, BehringerMixers, Fender sound sys
Numerous Ext eSATA drives & Raids shared between systems
Blast1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 04:14 AM   #9
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,863
Default

We will get a detailed explanation from Japan after IBC.
If you guys have a bit of patience that document will be made available and you guys will get more insight into what optimized for 64 bit means for EDIUS.

The detailed answer is pending. :)
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 08:43 AM   #10
hovdza
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Armenia
Posts: 1
Default Edius 6.5 is still not 64 bit app

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_CP View Post
@Amplix

The question may actually be, "is EDIUS v6 a 64-bit application?"
Is that what you're asking?
Unfortunately EDIUS 6.5 (which I downloaded from grassvalley for testing) is still not 64 bit application. It is 32 bit application which is compatible with 64 bit OSs
(I had installed it on Win7 Pro 64 bit).

Ad the worst is, that EDIUS won't utilize more than 1.5Gb of RAM (maximum) even I am trying to do "Export to disc" and continue editing and rendering video at the same time (but the PC is equipped by 8Gb of RAM).
By the way, some other video editing softwares available (I don't want to mention their names) which can slightly utilize 4, 6 and much more RAM.

The problem is, that EVERYONE OF US WANT TO BUY POWERFUL, FAST WORKSTATION OR PC to make video editing comfortable and fast by EDIUS, but no one is really sure in his order.
hovdza is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.