Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2020, 10:36 PM   #1
advisiontv
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 109
Default Chromakey confusion when adding masks and layout.

I'm sure I've done this before - but can't work out how!
I have shot chromakey footage where mics etc are in shot which I can easily mask out with the mask tool and turning down the outside section I want to loose to 0%. However, how do I then apply the chromakey and only key out the greenscreen as it then shows the masked section as black bars.
To complicate things I then want to use the layout tool to position the layer into the right place and scale it.
The only way I can make this work is try and use the block colour on the mask tool, and also in the layout tool and find the right shade - but I'm sure there is a simple way of telling edius to ignore the masked areas.
__________________
Matt, AdVision TV Ltd

Main System: Edius WG 9.51 - Storm 3G, Intel Core i7-3930 Sandy Bridge 6-Core @ 3.2Ghz, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 Intel X79, 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz Ram, 12TB RAID Array, GT650 1024MB GDDR5 Gfx Card

Laptop System: Edius WG 9.51 - Intel Core i9-9900K @ 3.6Ghz, 64GB RAM
advisiontv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 10:55 PM   #2
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,870
Default

You can do a search but in layout pit the background color to the same color as your chromakey color.

I have explained this a few times in detail so a search will get you there. :(
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 11:54 PM   #3
advisiontv
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 109
Default

Thanks Steve. Yes - thats the only way Ive ended up doing it - but its a shame that once you mask something and put it at 0%, or crop something, that it doesnt then simply become invisible so that the layer beneath is revealed (a bit like on photoshop)

Matt
__________________
Matt, AdVision TV Ltd

Main System: Edius WG 9.51 - Storm 3G, Intel Core i7-3930 Sandy Bridge 6-Core @ 3.2Ghz, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 Intel X79, 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz Ram, 12TB RAID Array, GT650 1024MB GDDR5 Gfx Card

Laptop System: Edius WG 9.51 - Intel Core i9-9900K @ 3.6Ghz, 64GB RAM
advisiontv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 08:12 AM   #4
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,777
Default

Its mainly that the chromakey is one of the few effects that still needs updating - hence the blue tick on the effect meaning it is not 10 bit and does not support alpha channels.

If you use a third party keyer the mask would work properly. Ignite Pro has a pretty good keyer that works with the mask although I have found that it causes crashes occassionally.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 09:41 AM   #5
advisiontv
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 109
Default

That makes sense David. So does that mean as soon as I apply the Edius Chromakey it degrades the footage down from 10bit to 8bit?
Does a 3rd party keyer appear as a key affect - or a a video filter? Iím hoping the latter so that you can reorder it (eg put it before or after colour correction etc)
__________________
Matt, AdVision TV Ltd

Main System: Edius WG 9.51 - Storm 3G, Intel Core i7-3930 Sandy Bridge 6-Core @ 3.2Ghz, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 Intel X79, 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz Ram, 12TB RAID Array, GT650 1024MB GDDR5 Gfx Card

Laptop System: Edius WG 9.51 - Intel Core i9-9900K @ 3.6Ghz, 64GB RAM
advisiontv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 10:36 AM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,435
Default

I use Robuskey and it is a filter and I usually drag it above the layouter, then I can zoom and position all day long with the layouter
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 11:50 AM   #7
advisiontv
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 109
Default

Thanks Anton. Iíll have a look. Is it 10 bit and ha does 4K nicely?
__________________
Matt, AdVision TV Ltd

Main System: Edius WG 9.51 - Storm 3G, Intel Core i7-3930 Sandy Bridge 6-Core @ 3.2Ghz, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 Intel X79, 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz Ram, 12TB RAID Array, GT650 1024MB GDDR5 Gfx Card

Laptop System: Edius WG 9.51 - Intel Core i9-9900K @ 3.6Ghz, 64GB RAM
advisiontv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 11:01 PM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,435
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by advisiontv View Post
Thanks Anton. Iíll have a look. Is it 10 bit and ha does 4K nicely?

yes to all, but you need a good graphics card for realtime 4k playback with Robuskey
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 03:39 PM   #9
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,777
Default

I have not noticed a degrade in quality using either the chromakey filter or the chrominance filter (which has the same limitation) so I don't know if it just means they only use 8 bit colours to do the job but won't degrade other 10 bit filters or I have simply not noticed them doing so.

Robuskey is probably the best third party keyer. Any third party ones turn up as filters and can be re-ordered. Oher options would be Ignite as I mentioned and I think NewBlue does one. There are trial versions of all of these.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 09:54 PM   #10
NewBlue_MJ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Clarke View Post
Oher options would be Ignite as I mentioned and I think NewBlue does one. There are trial versions of all of these.
We do! It's called Chroma Key Pro and you can find out more information (as well as download a trial version) on this page:

https://newbluefx.com/products/elements/chroma-key-pro/
NewBlue_MJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Artifacts in masks Seemedia Editing with EDIUS 4 12-12-2016 09:24 AM
2 Questions about masks Olaf Editing with EDIUS 8 05-08-2012 03:22 AM
Help with Layout Tool & Chromakey Bassman Editing with EDIUS 5 03-18-2008 06:29 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.