Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2017, 11:52 AM   #1
advisiontv
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 98
Default Edius on a Mac?

I don't know why, but I had a bit of a crazy urge to buy a Mac the other day (bare in mind I've been PC all my life and the only think I have Mac is my iPhone!).

The only think stopping me is Edius (which I do push to the limit with my current system especially with multi-camera - often about 6 layers of HD Pro Res and a few 4K AVC layers). Would I be foolish to get a mac with bootcamp? Would I get reduced performance due to any PC-MAC software conversion going on in the background - I'm not sure how it all works but I'm guessing it's like an emulator? I was thinking of getting a BMD Ultrastudio 4K to use with it.
__________________
Matt, AdVision TV Ltd

Main System: Edius WG 9.50 - Storm 3G, Intel Core i7-3930 Sandy Bridge 6-Core @ 3.2Ghz, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 Intel X79, 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz Ram, 12TB RAID Array, GT650 1024MB GDDR5 Gfx Card

Laptop System: Edius WG 9.50 - Intel Core i9-9900K @ 3.6Ghz, 64GB RAM
advisiontv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 12:55 AM   #2
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,769
Default

EDIUS 9 will have a cloud based solution but based on what you wrote as your usage, I don't think that would be a solution for you.
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 09:09 AM   #3
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,736
Default

Macs use the same hardware as PCs but cost more for the same power. When I first started using one the biggest thing I missed was lots of little things that I had on the PC like programs to print CDs and lots of little utilities I had forgotten I used. Finding them for the MAC was a PITA.

Unless you want to use a MAC program, like FCP, or you want to make ProRes easily, or you have grown up using them and think they are FAB or you just like spending more money for the same hardware I would not get one.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 06:26 PM   #4
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,736
Default

Well hardware matters if you are trying to edit video especially if it is 4K. And if you boot camp it then it is just a PC anyway.

I can't say I ever really noticed any extra brilliant performance when I used a MAC myself but I am a PC user who has been so for many years and knows them inside and out. It would be a different experience for someone else.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 08:31 PM   #5
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,769
Default

You can't divorce the Mac software from the hardware as they have to be together. It is a package deal.
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 08:40 PM   #6
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,794
Default

You can build a hackintosh. :) (But then you are using a pc. )

What I see is that educational system is mostly Mac. Earlier this year I was guest lecturer in the Netherlands. All Mac.
Talked to someone in Germany and it is the same there.

I guess that the students getting in to market will want to use what they know.
We can't fight the Mac centric educational system. :)
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2017, 12:02 PM   #7
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,736
Default

I am not disagreeing with you. For most users the hardware is good enough these days. For video editors getting powerful hardware is important so if thinking of buying a Mac instead of a PC you should definitely consider this.

Also being used to buying PCs you need to check out the full Mac specs and see what is not there - many laptops do not have simple things like network sockets which I always assumed every computer would have.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius on Mac haitham786 Editing with EDIUS 43 08-30-2013 09:30 PM
can't stream out (mac) on signal (mac>pc) tomer ADVC 1 09-11-2009 09:12 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.