Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2012, 12:59 AM   #1
4Kover3D
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 271
Default Storm 3G

Is STROM 3G limited by hardware to 8 channels of audio over HD-SDI (or is 16 channels juts not enabled)?
4Kover3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 08:58 PM   #2
Proton
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: England
Posts: 76
Default

I don't have a definitive answer, but at least if I reply it will bring your post back up the list!

I can monitor the first 12 of the 16 possible channels of SDI audio, but with Storm 3G I have only ever seen modulation on 1 & 2.

I don't know if you have a Storm 3G but the manual only describes the Edius Device preset dialogues. 8 channel output mode only seems to be mentioned for HDMI (e.g. Storm manual page 44). Edius Help doesn't seem to cover 8-ch output at all, unless I haven't thought of the correct search term!

The Storm 3G specifications only say that the SDI output complies with SMPTE 299M, 272M_A.

The SMPTE say that 299M & 272M allow "up to" 16 channels.

I was disappointed with this when I first tested the Storm 3G, but so far I haven't needed to monitor any more than the stereo mix, so I stopped worrying. This means I may have missed some setting or other!
__________________
Proton
1: Edius 5.11 + HX-E1 :: PAL & 1080/I/25 :: Supermicro X6DAE-G2 + Dual 3.2G Xeon + 2G RAM :: 512MB nVidia GeForce 9800GT :: 512MB RAID0 :: XP Pro
2: Edius 6.03 + Storm 3G :: PAL & 1080/I/25 :: Asus P6X58D-E + Intel core i7 970 3.3G + 12G RAM :: 1GB nVidia GeForce GT430 :: 2TB RAID0 :: W7 Pro 64 SP1
Proton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 09:51 PM   #3
4Kover3D
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 271
Default

You can capture, monitor 8 channels no problem. Strom 3G is simple but great card- rock solid.
SDI by nature can support 16 channels, but many solutions support only 8.
I expect is to be just "not enabled", but maybe it's hardware limit.

It would be also nice to have ability to capture to avi+ seperate mono wavs (not only embaded into AVI). Another option is to be able to choose specific channels- Edius does always 8 (or 2).
4Kover3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 10:45 PM   #4
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,940
Default

Mmmh,
HDCAM-SR tapes are using much often all 16 audio channels!

We have DigiBETA & BETACAM SP in our office, so we don't miss that actually.
But it would be interesting if this is limited by hardware or driver & if this can be changed.
Maybe we need this feature in future?
Who knows....
__________________
Andreas Gumm
post production / authoring
PC 1Intel Core i7-970 (6 x 3.20 GHz),
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2, 12 GB RAM, Geforce 9800GT
Windows 7 Ultimate,
GV software: EDIUS 7.42, VisTitle v2.5,
GV hardware: 3G Storm
software SONY DoStudio Indie + EX 4.0.11
PC 2
Intel Core i7-3770, GIGABYTE Z77X-UD5H F14, 16GB RAM,
Geforce 650 GTX, 5x HDD, Windows 7,
GV software: EDIUS 7.42, ProCoder 3.0
GV hardware: HD SPARK
software: Telestream Switch, DTS-HD MAS, Dolby Media Meter
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 03:07 PM   #5
Proton
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: England
Posts: 76
Default

I'm sorry my previous post didn't help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4Kover3D View Post
You can capture, monitor 8 channels no problem.
Ah - then I have missed something!

I would like to be able to monitor more than two channels with Storm 3G - please will you tell me how you do it?
__________________
Proton
1: Edius 5.11 + HX-E1 :: PAL & 1080/I/25 :: Supermicro X6DAE-G2 + Dual 3.2G Xeon + 2G RAM :: 512MB nVidia GeForce 9800GT :: 512MB RAID0 :: XP Pro
2: Edius 6.03 + Storm 3G :: PAL & 1080/I/25 :: Asus P6X58D-E + Intel core i7 970 3.3G + 12G RAM :: 1GB nVidia GeForce GT430 :: 2TB RAID0 :: W7 Pro 64 SP1
Proton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Storm 3G Elite v HD Storm Plus Khuz360` Editing with EDIUS 5 03-19-2011 02:16 AM
Storm 3G Elite Raymond Editing with EDIUS 5 01-23-2011 05:40 AM
Storm 3G skraja Editing with EDIUS 10 09-12-2010 01:10 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.