Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2020, 07:24 PM   #1
tryingtolearn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: ATLANTA GEORGIA (From Perth Australia)
Posts: 575
Default Edius System Folder has 'transferred' folder 300 gig

Hey guys, so I'm about to upgrade my laptop from 8 to 9, and I was making sure I was backing up all my settings / presets etc first

Well my Edius System Folder is on my D drive (to keep my SSD C drive running fast) and I was shocked to see that it was 309 gig!
I narrowed it down to a folder inside of Edius System Folder called "transferred"

it appears to just be duplicate folders that I didn't personally create. AVI and MOV files that were never copied by me to there..
does Edius duplicate files while it's editing on the backend?
is this just rubbish cache I can erase?

bit confused

thank you in advance to everyone who replies

I'm wondering if there's some weird setting causing it to duplicate but I have not messed with any settings?

The videos I was editing were on an extranal drive - not my internal d drive
__________________
www.skysimonephotography.com
Laptop: ASUS ROG Strix Scar Edition GL703GE-ES73 17.3 Gaming Laptop, 8th-Gen 6-Core Intel Core i7-8750H processor (up to 3.9GHz), GTX 1050 Ti 4GB, 120Hz 3ms display, 16GB DDR4, 128GB PCIe SSD + 1TB SSHD, Windows 10

This laptop is a recent upgrade from Asus ROG G75VW as of October 2018 - Edius 8

Desktop: Win7x64Pro, 3.4ghz Intel Core i7-3770
Gigabyte Tech B75M-D3H, 16332 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 5450 Samsung SSD
Edius 6 Edius 8
tryingtolearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 08:12 PM   #2
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,870
Default

This only happens if you have transfer to project folder selected.
That will transfer all media that was imported with the setting on.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 11:14 PM   #3
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,435
Default

you mean EDIUS project folder, not system folder

if you use source browser to transfer files from a card to bin, it will created a transferred folder and this is where your clips will be

if you delete them, they will be missing in your project
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 02:23 AM   #4
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,827
Default

In addition to what Steve and Antom stated, I am betting that if you are adding clips to the Bin (double clicking or right clicking and selecting Add clip) you are not paying attention to the "Transfef to Project Foldrr" box in the middle of the windows navigation box.

Remember that anytime you see the word "transfer" in EDIUS it means copy. So if that box is checked, it is copying the files that come into the Bin. That box opens in the last used state, so always pay attention to it.

ANY file that is copied (whether from the Bin or Source Briwser) saves in the Transferred folder.
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080ti SC Black, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10

Last edited by GrassValley_PS; 02-12-2020 at 02:59 AM.
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 01:23 PM   #5
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,090
Default

Also they will be the files used on the timeline so if you then delete that folder from the project folder the clips will go " Off line " in the timeline. To confuse that issue they have different naming too so replacing with the real files will not work.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the transferred folder zvit Editing with EDIUS 14 05-28-2019 09:53 AM
the folder " Transferred" henry poon Editing with EDIUS 4 05-22-2015 05:32 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.