Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2007, 11:11 PM   #1
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,462
Default Export to DVD with Timecode using Edius DVD?

Hello,

I have been able to export mpeg-2 with timecode using PCE, but I wondered if there was a way to use Edius' DVD authoring with timecode?

It would save a lot of time to be able to export the timeline with timecode straight to DVD for customer viewing.

Thanks
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 12:38 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,429
Default

select print to file with timecode

then select ProCoder or Procoder Express and select DVD, then VOB and burn

I would not use the Print to DVD at all, it is faulty, it exports all 16:9 titles as squashed 4:3 titles, looks terrible (this does not apply if your project is 4:3)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 04:33 AM   #3
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,462
Default

Actually, my question was about using the DVD authoring feature of Edius, with timecode.

Is this possible?
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 05:42 AM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,429
Default

yes it is possible

compile timeline to a new dv or HQ file by using export to file with TC and then use this file for DVD authoring with the built in DVCD creator
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 11:26 PM   #5
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,462
Default

Thanks for your reply, but I think you are saying to use PCE to encode the file, then put the file in the Edius DVD authoring tool?

I do that workflow with Encore for most of my projects, but for this instance, I would like to use the "export to DVD" and have timecode on the video.

Is this possible?

Putting a disk in the burner, exporting the timelime and walking away and returning to find a finished disc is what I am after here.
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 11:33 PM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,429
Default

no, I am not saying that at all

export your timeline with timecode to a new DV or CanopusHQ file (takes 4 minutes on my system per 60 min timeline)

then place the clip on an empty timeline, mark in and out and use export to DVD

since it is only for customer previewing, the quickest way would be to use my first suggestion to export direct from timeline to DVD burner via ProCoder Express (of course you won't get ac3 audio, so you have to use wav)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 03:36 AM   #7
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,462
Default

I see what you are saying now.

I forgot that PCE has a direct to DVD feature.

This is what I was looking for.

No AC3, but PCE is such a good encoder that 1500 less does not really show up.

Thanks for persevering with my post!
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.