Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2020, 01:07 PM   #11
John Hooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Lewis View Post
I am using the same motherboard all parts were from the same supplier
Mine runs quite happily at 4.3 no water cooling involved see my signature'
Many plugins dont give RT and some are dead stop especially Borris Contiminium and Many NB TFX 5 Filters
QS works well and the intel drivers which originally gave problems seem sorted
Thank you John,

Perhaps I am expecting to much of a gain from an upgrade from my i7 4770K?
__________________
Edius 8.53WG, Vistitle 2.8, Windows 10 x64 Pro Fall Update, Asus Z87 Pro, Intel i7-4770K, 16 GB 1600 Corsair Vengence LP RAM, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB, WD Black 2TB media drive, Intel HD 4600 GPU, MSI GTX660 2GB VGA, Coolermaster Silencio 652 case, Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler, Cakewalk UA-25EX USB audio interface, Cakewalk MA-15D monitor speakers, BM Intensity Pro 4K, PlextorPX-LB950SA BD writer, Dell U2410 Monitor
John Hooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 01:09 PM   #12
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,997
Default

Mine was a 3770k previously
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K Win 10, BD Burner 1 Evo 840 and 4 Hotswap caddies
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP7, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70,Canon FX400
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 03:38 PM   #13
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,081
Default

John , I know you may think they know what they are doing but from what we all have said here how can they advertise the system with up to two NVIDIA GPU's and NVME drive. There just are not enough PCIe lanes for that. The two GPU's would have to be at 8 lanes and the rest would have to come from the motherboard. With two GPU's there are no more lanes for other cards unless they all dropped down to 4 lanes ? In an editing system ? Likely reason for using two GPU's would be Resolve which would need full bandwidth to make sense and likely the one GPU at full bandwidth would be better. It is why a lot of Resolve users have switched to Threadripper to get all those lanes for multiple GPU's and fast storage. Sorry I question their knowledge on this topic. Can't see how they recommend for heavy editing or colour grading work loads. You could get more lanes moving to an x299 board but then loose QS and not with that CPU. AMD would be much better at this point. It is why Intel are loosing market share so fast. Other than gaming Intel are no competition to AMD at any point from cheap parts to servers at the moment. QS is it for some application until AMD 4000 series appear shortly. These are the parts used in the upcoming game boxes.

Sorry to sound like an AMD supporter as I have been on Intel parts for years. I just think it would be worth while thinking carefully about how you would use the PC in the future. For current version of EDIUS QS has value for timeline editing but for most other software fast storage and GPU's are of more value and they need PCIe lanes.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 04:28 PM   #14
John Hooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,152
Default

Hi Ron,
I think you might have misread the spec.
There is only 1 GPU and 2 M2 SSDs in the original post .
__________________
Edius 8.53WG, Vistitle 2.8, Windows 10 x64 Pro Fall Update, Asus Z87 Pro, Intel i7-4770K, 16 GB 1600 Corsair Vengence LP RAM, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB, WD Black 2TB media drive, Intel HD 4600 GPU, MSI GTX660 2GB VGA, Coolermaster Silencio 652 case, Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler, Cakewalk UA-25EX USB audio interface, Cakewalk MA-15D monitor speakers, BM Intensity Pro 4K, PlextorPX-LB950SA BD writer, Dell U2410 Monitor
John Hooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 05:32 PM   #15
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,641
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
John , I know you may think they know what they are doing but from what we all have said here how can they advertise the system with up to two NVIDIA GPU's and NVME drive. There just are not enough PCIe lanes for that. The two GPU's would have to be at 8 lanes and the rest would have to come from the motherboard. With two GPU's there are no more lanes for other cards unless they all dropped down to 4 lanes ? In an editing system ? Likely reason for using two GPU's would be Resolve which would need full bandwidth to make sense and likely the one GPU at full bandwidth would be better. It is why a lot of Resolve users have switched to Threadripper to get all those lanes for multiple GPU's and fast storage. Sorry I question their knowledge on this topic. Can't see how they recommend for heavy editing or colour grading work loads. You could get more lanes moving to an x299 board but then loose QS and not with that CPU. AMD would be much better at this point. It is why Intel are loosing market share so fast. Other than gaming Intel are no competition to AMD at any point from cheap parts to servers at the moment. QS is it for some application until AMD 4000 series appear shortly. These are the parts used in the upcoming game boxes.

Sorry to sound like an AMD supporter as I have been on Intel parts for years. I just think it would be worth while thinking carefully about how you would use the PC in the future. For current version of EDIUS QS has value for timeline editing but for most other software fast storage and GPU's are of more value and they need PCIe lanes.
Ron, see my post #8 regarding the PCIe laes and the motherboard lane replicator. Allows more GPU's without GPU speed drop, but there are still only 16 to the CPU, and there is an x4 slot that is chipset controlled. I's kind of a different approach than most boards.
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.5886, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 05:38 PM   #16
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,081
Default

I was referring to the company page you posted. https://www.scan.co.uk/3xs/configura...ro-recommended Opening sentence The Evolve NLE HD Plus is a high-performance PC designed and optimised for editing and colour grading Full HD and higher resolution offline video, available with up to two NVIDIA GPUs.

Yes I know yours is just one GPU but they seem to think they can make one with two. Hence my opinion . That of course could be with a completely different CPU and motherboard ? Yours has one 16 lane GPU and two NVME drives that use 4 each another 8 lanes. Yes it will all work of course but they will potentially need to share lanes at times.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 07:07 PM   #17
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
Ron, see my post #8 regarding the PCIe laes and the motherboard lane replicator. Allows more GPU's without GPU speed drop, but there are still only 16 to the CPU, and there is an x4 slot that is chipset controlled. I's kind of a different approach than most boards.
Yes I found this that mentions the bridge at about 21 mins in to the video. However to me this just means the slots are multiplexed to share the fixed number of lanes from the CPU ( and those sent to the motherboard to ) For light applications I am sure it would work fine with two GPU's but crunching encoding with Resolve I do not think would be as good as real lanes. I expect it was arranged for SLI for gaming.

The Ryzen equivalent board.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WokEc-NMFiw Similar but of course PCIe 4.0
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 08:50 PM   #18
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,641
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
Yes I found this that mentions the bridge at about 21 mins in to the video. However to me this just means the slots are multiplexed to share the fixed number of lanes from the CPU ( and those sent to the motherboard to ) For light applications I am sure it would work fine with two GPU's but crunching encoding with Resolve I do not think would be as good as real lanes. I expect it was arranged for SLI for gaming.

The Ryzen equivalent board.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WokEc-NMFiw Similar but of course PCIe 4.0
I agree, it isn't as good as real lanes, and was likely set up this way for SLI/Crossfire gaming. For a GPU optimized software like Resolve, it isn't ideal if you are doing a multi GPU setup.

However when put into context, John is saying the system is for Edius and Quicksync is useful to him, so in that case, a quicksync enabled CPU and a good GPU like something in the RTX 2000 series should work great for Edius and still have a pretty good GPU for using Resolve or GPU based Edius plugins.
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.5886, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 09:37 PM   #19
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,081
Default

I agree too. Will work fine for him with EDIUS.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 09:41 PM   #20
John Hooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Lewis View Post
Mine was a 3770k previously
John,

Was the upgrade worth it in your case?
__________________
Edius 8.53WG, Vistitle 2.8, Windows 10 x64 Pro Fall Update, Asus Z87 Pro, Intel i7-4770K, 16 GB 1600 Corsair Vengence LP RAM, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB, WD Black 2TB media drive, Intel HD 4600 GPU, MSI GTX660 2GB VGA, Coolermaster Silencio 652 case, Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler, Cakewalk UA-25EX USB audio interface, Cakewalk MA-15D monitor speakers, BM Intensity Pro 4K, PlextorPX-LB950SA BD writer, Dell U2410 Monitor
John Hooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCIe slots jonh@madronal.tv FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 8 03-22-2009 11:55 PM
Edius 3 and PCIe Alade Editing with EDIUS 4 12-03-2008 10:20 AM
NX pcie and pcie x16 2.0 slot gvignesh Editing with EDIUS 0 09-07-2008 03:09 AM
Does AceDVio come in PCIe? Jezza Editing with EDIUS 3 12-28-2007 09:09 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.