Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2017, 03:18 AM   #31
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
I tested your GH4 Mov 60p clips

on my office PC, 4 cores, 8 threads, clips on SSD, it stutters in multicam with full preview, plays smooth with 1/2 preview res

on my edit PC, 8 cores, 16 threads as in my signature, it plays smooth at full res with buffer 10/10 at all times

so maybe GH4 60p clips are taxing on the system
Ah that makes sense.

Even if I convert to 60p HQ it still stutters.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 03:48 AM   #32
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,789
Default

I think it's just a horsepower issue. When you get playback in Premiere is it at full resolution?
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 03:56 AM   #33
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
I think it's just a horsepower issue. When you get playback in Premiere is it at full resolution?
No, it's usually 1/2 or 1/4.

Premiere needs a really good CUDA GPU (like a Quadro) to playback things smoothly at full res, and even then it still needs half preview quality.

But at least under Premiere I can drop the quality and still work.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 01:19 PM   #34
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,090
Default

Vegas 14 will only play my GH5 UHD60P files at "preview Full " if I set to "Best" it needs to be set to half. My normal mode in Vegas is Preview half anyway as I can't tell the difference at the size of preview window. EDIUS 8.5Wg will play the same files full speed with full buffers in either a UHD project or a HD project. I only need to go to 1/2 for multicam setting. So I think Jerry is correct in it being a pure horsepower issue and maybe Quicksync has a little influence too.

Now an 8 core CPU with Quicksync would be lovely !!1
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 01:33 PM   #35
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,462
Default

Gosh I hope this next round of CPUs helps out. It is just not fun to edit with stuff turned down or needing to render more. After years of hassle free playback of anything during the 8bit mpeg-2 days, the past three years of HEVC is bringing me down. Lag, stutter dropped frames etc... The images are better but the computers are just plain over matched for larger projects.

When I hear 8k I just roll my eyes... I have issues with 1080p60!
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.5GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX1070 - Edius 9 WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 02:59 PM   #36
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,789
Default

Multi-threaded software, GPU implementation, and multi-core CPU's all play an integral part in editing performance.
Until all of these modules work together, performance increases are going to lag.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 07:37 PM   #37
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassman View Post
Gosh I hope this next round of CPUs helps out. It is just not fun to edit with stuff turned down or needing to render more. After years of hassle free playback of anything during the 8bit mpeg-2 days, the past three years of HEVC is bringing me down. Lag, stutter dropped frames etc... The images are better but the computers are just plain over matched for larger projects.

When I hear 8k I just roll my eyes... I have issues with 1080p60!
It used to be worse, we used to transcode files to an i-frame codec like ProRes and prep them before doing any work. Now most NLE's support major file formats in realtime or half res without any external hardware help.

I have another i7 6700k OC'd to 5Ghz setup I will try to see if that is helpful at all just to test.

I just wish half-res preview was available in non-Workgroup versions.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EDIUS 7.21.822: stuttering timeline with prodad VITASCENE 2.0 filter wielmoonen EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 7 04-14-2014 07:30 PM
Sustituting clips on a multicam timeline Philip Howells Editing with EDIUS 10 01-04-2013 02:10 PM
Best way to sync clips to timeline for multicam? sebazvideo Editing with EDIUS 7 11-22-2011 08:49 PM
Performance issues - Stuttering with clips on Timeline bluprojekt EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 5 01-08-2010 11:27 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.