Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2020, 11:29 AM   #11
burnandreturn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kandern, Germany
Posts: 531
Default

Where would I find optical flow as a setting? I looked in every screen of the settings tab under every option but did not see it.
__________________
Edius 8 Workgroup, Intel 3770K, Asus P8Z77-V Motherboard, 32GB DDR3 1600 ram, SSD for C, external Raid box with WE RE4 1TB drives Raid 0 for video assets. Overclocked 4.3ghz, Asus GTX 660 ti, water cooled system. Windows 10 Professional 64bit
burnandreturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 11:52 AM   #12
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,428
Default

you select a clip and press Alt+E and then go to field options and make sure frame blending is the default and not optical flow
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 02:25 PM   #13
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,645
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by burnandreturn View Post
The video that didn't work was a video I downloaded from YouTube. I was sending a portion of the video to support at my CAD software company to ask if my software could do what was in the video. The downloaded files was 1920x1080 30fps progressive. It didn't play nice in either a 1920x1080 or 1280x720 50p project. After outputting it to 720 50p and using that file everything worked as expected as in fine.
You do realize that a conversion from 30fps to 50fps is not even math and will cause frame blending or skipping to have to be calculated.

If you are only trying to extract a portion of this clip to submit to software support, why not use a project at the native 30fps of the video? it will look better because it will not introduce the frame blending/skipping.
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.5886, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 04:38 PM   #14
burnandreturn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kandern, Germany
Posts: 531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
You do realize that a conversion from 30fps to 50fps is not even math and will cause frame blending or skipping to have to be calculated.

If you are only trying to extract a portion of this clip to submit to software support, why not use a project at the native 30fps of the video? it will look better because it will not introduce the frame blending/skipping.
I looked for the setting of 30fps but it wasn't an option where I looked!
__________________
Edius 8 Workgroup, Intel 3770K, Asus P8Z77-V Motherboard, 32GB DDR3 1600 ram, SSD for C, external Raid box with WE RE4 1TB drives Raid 0 for video assets. Overclocked 4.3ghz, Asus GTX 660 ti, water cooled system. Windows 10 Professional 64bit
burnandreturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 04:53 PM   #15
burnandreturn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kandern, Germany
Posts: 531
Default

Here is a list of startup apps. The Grass Valley license manager is the only Grass Valley item listed in the startup and it was checked to be on.
Attached Images
File Type: png startup list.png (65.8 KB, 14 views)
__________________
Edius 8 Workgroup, Intel 3770K, Asus P8Z77-V Motherboard, 32GB DDR3 1600 ram, SSD for C, external Raid box with WE RE4 1TB drives Raid 0 for video assets. Overclocked 4.3ghz, Asus GTX 660 ti, water cooled system. Windows 10 Professional 64bit
burnandreturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 04:59 PM   #16
burnandreturn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kandern, Germany
Posts: 531
Default

Project settings and mediadata pictures

I realize the project settings don't match the clip. I did have the project set to 1920x1080 but at 50fps progressive. I have switched it back and forth and up and down so many times I am going nuts. It is not important on this project but I would like to know what I am doing wrong so in the future on something important I won't make this mistake again.
Attached Images
File Type: png project settings.png (35.4 KB, 12 views)
File Type: png mediadata.png (39.7 KB, 10 views)
__________________
Edius 8 Workgroup, Intel 3770K, Asus P8Z77-V Motherboard, 32GB DDR3 1600 ram, SSD for C, external Raid box with WE RE4 1TB drives Raid 0 for video assets. Overclocked 4.3ghz, Asus GTX 660 ti, water cooled system. Windows 10 Professional 64bit
burnandreturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 06:13 PM   #17
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,645
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by burnandreturn View Post
Project settings and mediadata pictures

I realize the project settings don't match the clip. I did have the project set to 1920x1080 but at 50fps progressive. I have switched it back and forth and up and down so many times I am going nuts. It is not important on this project but I would like to know what I am doing wrong so in the future on something important I won't make this mistake again.
You only have a few presets listed. You can enable more in the Edius system settings if you want them.

Alternately, if you don't want a long list of presets, when starting a new project and selecting one of your presets, just before you click the ok button to create it, there is also a checkbox that will bring up the customization options on the project so you can dial in the exact settings you want before creation. This way you can create projects that you don't have presets for.

I am not in front of my system right now to send screen shots of this, but I will do so later if someone else doesn't beat me to it.
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.5886, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).

Last edited by BernH; 02-18-2020 at 04:24 AM.
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 11:22 PM   #18
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by burnandreturn View Post
Here is a list of startup apps. The Grass Valley license manager is the only Grass Valley item listed in the startup and it was checked to be on.
you are looking in the wrong area, open task manager and go to startup tab and enable all GV items

can you change mediainfo to tree view and resubmit the clip properties, see attached example of tree view

also, since you have a frame mismatch, be sure optical flow is not set as default otherwise you lose all realtime performance https://www.videoproductions.com.au/...mo-default.png
Attached Images
File Type: png AVP-0021.png (56.3 KB, 13 views)
File Type: png AVP-0022.png (108.6 KB, 12 views)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro

Last edited by antonsvideo; 02-18-2020 at 04:38 AM.
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 04:23 AM   #19
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,645
Default

Here are a couple of screen shots as I promised above.

One shows where the Customize checkbox is that lets yo at all the project settings before creating a project so you can change things that you may not have a preset for.

The second shows the Project Presets in System settings, where you can create and save custom presets, modify or remove existing ones, or by using the project wizard, add predefined presets to your preset list.
Attached Images
File Type: png New Project Customize.PNG (38.1 KB, 10 views)
File Type: png System Settings - Presets.PNG (46.8 KB, 11 views)
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.5886, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).

Last edited by BernH; 02-18-2020 at 04:31 AM.
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 08:46 AM   #20
Seemedia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 875
Default

Maybe Windows Update screwed something up
__________________
Pawel Chyrowski

Edius 9 Workgroup

Writer/Director. Director of Photography. Motion Picture and Sound Editor. Colorist.

https://facebook.com/chyrowski
https://www.youtube.com/c/PawelChyrowski
https://vimeo.com/pawelchyrowski
Seemedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange issues in Edius 8 WG GMOS Editing with EDIUS 4 08-04-2018 02:23 AM
Tiemline Issues - VisTitle Not Available - Audio Level Adjustment Issues Cam2919 Editing with EDIUS 7 04-01-2013 03:33 AM
Performance issues - Stuttering with clips on Timeline bluprojekt EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 5 01-08-2010 11:27 PM
Realtime Performance Issues/Questions Jason Ramsey Editing with EDIUS 38 08-19-2007 06:24 AM
Laptop performance issues... brashquido Editing with EDIUS 11 08-18-2007 10:39 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.