Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2009, 04:08 AM   #1
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default Bin to timeline P2 clips order

Help required please P2 owners.

In demonstration of P2 import I have this problem.

Camera is a Panasonic AG-HPX-302 EN , only transfered clips from one card in the camera.

After import to the bin, I select and transfer all clips onto the timeline.

Clips at the end of the timeline should be at or near the beginning. I'm no P2 expert and the camera owner is also a newbie, so is there something obvious we're doing wrong?
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 05:41 AM   #2
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,967
Default

I have never done a direct import from a camera before. I normally remove the P2 cards from my camera, stick them into the P2 card reader, then copy the entire contents into RAID 0 HDDs. I then start EDIUS and get P2 Select to "direct import" the copied clips (in HDDs) into the bin. The order the video clips show up in the bin will be the order I have filmed them. Namely, 1st clip on P2 will be shown first. Last clip on P2 is the last. Ditto that for timeline - the first clip I filmed is the first one on timeline, the last clip - well, is the last.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 05:48 AM   #3
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Would it matter though how they were imported, the Metadata is still unchanged?

Apparently he was having the same problem in AVID Liquid. With Liquid he also had this 4GB limit of playback.. haha
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 05:50 AM   #4
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,967
Default

As far as I know, all Metadata is not touched by the P2 Select program.

I have no experience with Liquid. Sorry :-).
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 06:03 AM   #5
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shueardm View Post
Clips at the end of the timeline should be at or near the beginning.
I'm confused by this, can you explain what you are after? If you add multiple clips from the bin, they should normally be placed in timecode order. Do you know what timecode mode the camera was set to?
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 06:09 AM   #6
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,967
Default

Maybe the camera timecode was wrong? I never seen that before. Ask his user to bring his Panasonic back to service centre for them to check?
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 06:32 AM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,428
Default

do the files have a unique name that increases like in XDCAM, C0001, C0002 etc

if so, sort bin by name would fix any issues
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 06:43 AM   #8
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Thanks all. I thought it should order by name as they are recorded by name. At least you all got me on the right track- it's sort by timecode that worked.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 06:48 AM   #9
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,967
Default

I never had to specify "sort by timecode" anywhere in P2 Select or EDIUS options. That's funny.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 06:55 AM   #10
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

what i thought.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combining spanned P2 clips STORMDAVE Editing with EDIUS 12 05-09-2009 07:42 PM
P2 clips not showing in folder richnation Editing with EDIUS 5 01-16-2009 06:31 PM
P2 MXF Spanned Clips PaulDetroit Editing with EDIUS 10 05-08-2008 04:19 PM
Bin or Timeline clips become un-viewable lambeth74 Editing with EDIUS 3 02-19-2008 10:43 PM
P2-Restore for spanned clips buggy..! hvx_germanboy Editing with EDIUS 2 08-29-2007 01:09 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.