Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2020, 01:16 AM   #1
Barry C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 251
Default HQX 10 bit Workflow?

I'm in the process of upgrading from Workgroup 8 to Workgroup 9. For time lapse workflow, Im just wondering what 10 bit still- or raw still- formats can be brought into Edius, put in sequence, and converted to HQX as 10 bit for work in Edius, and DaVinci Resolve projects? I realize that Resolve will accept HQX, but am not sure whether that applies to HQX 10 bit. Are there any particular project settings which I should do in E9 Workgroup for this 10 bit workflow?
__________________
Yosemite Channel - Barry Chall Films:
https://m.youtube.com/user/Tarnway0412

Last edited by Barry C; 01-09-2020 at 03:20 AM.
Barry C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2020, 08:26 PM   #2
trillium
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 453
Default

Nice videos. Sorry I can't answer your question. The best solution is just to try a few with your system.
__________________
Jim Willett
UAB CIRC
Dell 3630 Precision workstation
Nvida 1060 OVC, CPU i7-8700 3.7GH
Edius 9.4
trillium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2020, 08:37 PM   #3
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry C View Post
I'm in the process of upgrading from Workgroup 8 to Workgroup 9. For time lapse workflow, Im just wondering what 10 bit still- or raw still- formats can be brought into Edius, put in sequence, and converted to HQX as 10 bit for work in Edius, and DaVinci Resolve projects? I realize that Resolve will accept HQX, but am not sure whether that applies to HQX 10 bit. Are there any particular project settings which I should do in E9 Workgroup for this 10 bit workflow?
I passed some HQX 10bit from Edius 9.51 to Resolve 15 just last night as a test for something I may have to pass to Resolve if I can't get it done in Edius.

It seemed to work fine. It was only HD resolution so I can't speak to 4K+, but the codec in an avi wrapper was seen, (I'm glad Resolve is finally accepting avi, as it never did in older versions, but I can't remember if this started in v14 or v15). I did not analyze waveforms or anything else. I just checked to see if it would import.
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.6153, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2020, 03:31 AM   #4
Barry C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 251
Default

Since posting this a few weeks ago, I've had the opportunity to do some testing. Happy to report that Resolve accepts the Edius 10 bit HQX interim files I like to generate from the 7952:5304 timelapse sequences- thanks Bern for that suggestion. Very nice potential workflow options now possible. However, although I've now got a VERY basic working knowledge of the node system, I still think it sucks big time and would appeal more to electricians. :)
__________________
Yosemite Channel - Barry Chall Films:
https://m.youtube.com/user/Tarnway0412
Barry C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2020, 12:25 PM   #5
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry C View Post
However, although I've now got a VERY basic working knowledge of the node system, I still think it sucks big time and would appeal more to electricians. :)
I don't find it too confusing, and actually think it is very useful, particularly in the colour correct page, but then again, I'm an electronincs and computer tecnician by trade. ...not quite an electrician, but close. ;-)
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.6153, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2020, 02:44 PM   #6
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,177
Default

I don't find it confusing either. It is just a flow chart of what is happening. Each node does something in the sequence. It is usually better to start by doing just one thing in a node then adding a serial node for the next thing. That way you can see the effects each adjustment makes. Just like switching layers on and off in Photoshop. Now Fusion is something else !! But AE is just as difficult to learn.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2020, 03:39 PM   #7
Barry C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 251
Default

I've now got a basic handle on it, but my main use for it is doing masking and compositing on multiple layers, and controlling individual elements within the masks. For basic color corrections on non composites, it made more sense- although I by FAR PREFER the Edius interface in general. :)
__________________
Yosemite Channel - Barry Chall Films:
https://m.youtube.com/user/Tarnway0412
Barry C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Render format HD, HQX, 8 bit, 10 bit video178 Editing with EDIUS 8 08-27-2017 07:50 AM
Noticing a Slight Green Cast to 10-bit HQX Exports Bassman Editing with EDIUS 17 06-20-2013 10:07 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.