Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2010, 08:31 AM   #1
paulbasile
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 108
Default Would you buy FCB?

I'm editing on Edius 5 (sometimes HD or SD). After edit, I create m2t file to take into Encore to burn either DVD or Blu ray. How would a FCB card help me? I don't want to run the Writer program that comes with it. Someone mentioned to me about a plug-in that would just make the encoding faster. How would that work? I just want to know if FCB is worth getting? Thanks.
paulbasile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 01:09 PM   #2
gdame
Senior Member
 
gdame's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 653
Default

Paul, it is not as simple a question as it seems. You have not posted your system specs. So, no one here could determine or provide a valid answer. Also, what type of files are your creating your Blu-Ray discs N.264 or MPEG2?

There are some issues with bringing FCB's h.264 files directly into Encore. There is also a ton of posts on this already. Pay attention to posts from shueardm (Mark) and Jerry.

FCB has benefits for some and nothing for others!
__________________
George Dame
Grass Valley / Canopus System Integrator - Nearly 13 Years
Providing Systems, Onsite Delivery, Support & Training Services Nationwide
Get Your Copy of The Edius 6 Comprehensive Tutorial by contacting me via PM, email or phone
Invite us to your local video association for a full demonstration!
www.editHD.com - 1-877-ieditDV

Last edited by gdame; 04-10-2010 at 11:34 PM.
gdame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 02:17 PM   #3
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Hmm, if you read all most posts you will think I change my mind as often as I change underwear :) --- That's purely because each realease of the software "changed things"

To sum up the current state

1) H264 is the only output that will work for Blu-ray in Encore CS4 utilising the most recent FCB writer software.
2) Previous versions worked with Mpeg 2 only- go figure.
3) What does the future bring? Toss a coin perhaps.
4) I never use the export plugin from EDIUS (I can't comment) other than to say it's faster to output to HQ and then use the bundled software.
5) In my honest opinion the development of the product is poor and I don't recommend it unless you know all the in's and out's.>>> perhaps read all those posts now :) lol.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 03:46 PM   #4
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,978
Default

I agree with Shuredum
bought it in October maybe out of date by now I wouldnt buy it now
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K Win 10, BD Burner 1 Evo 840 and 4 Hotswap caddies
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP6, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 06:32 PM   #5
paulbasile
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gdame View Post
Paul, it is not as simple a question as it seems. You have not posted your system specs. So, no one here could determine or provide a valid answer. Also, what type of files are your creating your Blu-Ray discs N.254 or MPEG2?

There are some issues with bringing FCB's h.264 files directly into Encore. There is also a ton of posts on this already. Pay attention to posts from shueardm (Mark) and Jerry.

FCB has benefits for some and nothing for others!

Sorry about that. I didn't realize it would matter. Thanks George. I have NOT burned a Blu-ray yet. Only DVD's using the previous version of Encore. I don't know what file type I will need (which is best) for Blu-ray.
This set-up is new all the way around. Just finished building it. I'm hoping CS4 Encore doesn't have a new learning curve AND that I can use my current DVD templates for Blu-rays.
The computer is an AMD 9650 Phenom II Quad core 2.3 Ghz with 8GB memory. 64-bit. I have the Spark card installed too.
paulbasile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 01:37 AM   #6
gdame
Senior Member
 
gdame's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 653
Default

Paul,

I have not followed AMD closely for quite some time. I do not see that the Phenom 9650 is going to do much with AVCHD. Not only is it 2.3GHz but it only has a 2MB cache and 65nm die process that has it consuming a lot of juice with only fair yield. It's a $100. CPU and in this business you do get what you pay for.

On the other side, FireCoder Blu would definitely speed up your h.264 encoding as long as it plays nice on that motherboard along with your other components. FCB can encode an h.264 file as fast as most extreme i7's. So it is the lower performance systems that it easily offsets its cost.

Though do read as many of the threads as you can regarding FCB and the version of Encore that you will be using. This will save you much frustration and surprises.
__________________
George Dame
Grass Valley / Canopus System Integrator - Nearly 13 Years
Providing Systems, Onsite Delivery, Support & Training Services Nationwide
Get Your Copy of The Edius 6 Comprehensive Tutorial by contacting me via PM, email or phone
Invite us to your local video association for a full demonstration!
www.editHD.com - 1-877-ieditDV
gdame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 04:15 AM   #7
paulbasile
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 108
Default

Yeah, the computer didn't cost me anything so I know it's a lower end CPU. But I'm shooting Sony EX and HDV footage. Not AVCHD. Does that make a difference? I've read the other FCB posts before I even posted but like Shueardm says, it's like flipping a coin. I was told by a fellow Edius user that he uses Virtual Dub to encode without the FCB. What do you think?
paulbasile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 04:20 AM   #8
gdame
Senior Member
 
gdame's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 653
Default

If your encoding to MPEG2 HD then the encode times may be tolerable, though if your going to H.264 then the FCB will be like popping an i7 in your system.
__________________
George Dame
Grass Valley / Canopus System Integrator - Nearly 13 Years
Providing Systems, Onsite Delivery, Support & Training Services Nationwide
Get Your Copy of The Edius 6 Comprehensive Tutorial by contacting me via PM, email or phone
Invite us to your local video association for a full demonstration!
www.editHD.com - 1-877-ieditDV
gdame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 05:20 AM   #9
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,769
Default

Since you are using Encore for your dvd's and probably BD's
you might want to lo look at the matrix compress card. It
will do avc for blu-Ray and those files work with Encore
without a workaround. It will require you to create an hq master
file and import that into Adobe Media Encoder.
Your DVD encodes will come straight out of edius or
you can use AME for those as well as PC3, if you have that.
I think your main issue is going to be processor speed.
FCB will create files fast, but workarounds are required
for most authoring software.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 02:00 PM   #10
gdame
Senior Member
 
gdame's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
Since you are using Encore for your dvd's and probably BD's
you might want to lo look at the matrix compress card. It
will do avc for blu-Ray and those files work with Encore
without a workaround. It will require you to create an hq master
file and import that into Adobe Media Encoder.
Your DVD encodes will come straight out of edius or
you can use AME for those as well as PC3, if you have that.
I think your main issue is going to be processor speed.
FCB will create files fast, but workarounds are required
for most authoring software.
Jerry, Maybe you missed this from the third post in this thread. If someone does have a hardware accelerator, I would think that H.264 would be the preferred format for Blu-Ray. So the FCB would be fine without workaround.

1) H264 is the only output that will work for Blu-ray in Encore CS4 utilising the most recent FCB writer software.
__________________
George Dame
Grass Valley / Canopus System Integrator - Nearly 13 Years
Providing Systems, Onsite Delivery, Support & Training Services Nationwide
Get Your Copy of The Edius 6 Comprehensive Tutorial by contacting me via PM, email or phone
Invite us to your local video association for a full demonstration!
www.editHD.com - 1-877-ieditDV
gdame is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC - What to buy??? chem101 ADVC 2 02-03-2010 01:33 AM
Which Dell would you buy? wlarotta EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 13 08-12-2009 08:30 PM
When/where to buy it in the USA? pr75 FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 8 12-09-2008 03:01 AM
How buy nhocthien Editing with EDIUS 4 09-20-2008 11:33 PM
Where to buy? Luke Editing with EDIUS 3 01-18-2008 08:44 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.