Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2009, 03:16 PM   #1
sherri@tidychaos.c
Senior Member
 
sherri@tidychaos.c's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: roebing nj
Posts: 260
Default up converting SD in an HD project

SUPPOSE you have some HD footage and some SD footage in the same project.

HD - 16x9
SD - not so much :)

AND Suppose you want the SD footage to fill in screen like the HD footage. Besides manually 3D PIP the SD footage, is there a setting?

THX!!!
S.
sherri@tidychaos.c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 04:19 PM   #2
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

No. Also, if you attempt to do that in EDIUS, the quality will be poor. Much better if you resize the SD footage using a 3rd party tool outside of EDIUS first, generate an AVI file - then you import the generated file into EDIUS.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 04:34 PM   #3
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

You can use the layout tool in the SD footage and use the preset of fit to width which will scale the footage to fit 16x9. You may have to then move the clip to adjust for head room. As mentioned, the quality may not look too great compared to the HD clips.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 03:20 AM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,317
Default

Edius does a great job upscaling with the layout tool as Pat suggested, be sure to apply 20% sharpness filter
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 09:31 AM   #5
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

For a surefire way, almost as good as using a FirecoderBlue card with "SuperResolution" selected is a follows
Export your SD footage in Canopus Losless

Using VirtualDub with the following settings
Resize filter
New Size "Absolute Pixel" 1440x1080 or 1920x1080
Aspect Ratio Disabled
Filter Mode Lanczos3
Interlaced Selected, if original is interlaced

Cropping
If your footage is 4x3 set Y1 and Y2 offset to 18

Sharpen Filter = 32

Smoother Filter set to 18
and enable noise prefilter

Select Video on the Menu, Select compression and select Canopus Losless

Select "Save as AVI" and set destination and file name

Bring the resultant file into Edius, select properties, make sure Lower Field first is selected and correct Aspect ratio (16x9)
NOTE The Canopus Lossless codec gives better results than HQ, Less Staircasing
Regards Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,

Last edited by Bluetongue; 08-27-2009 at 11:00 AM.
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 08:35 AM   #6
lauri
Senior Member
 
lauri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Staten Island NY
Posts: 501
Default

Barry how would your settings in VD differ if it is 16:9 SD footage?

Thanks
Lauri
__________________
Using Edius 6
lauri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting old 4:3 to 16:9 pehrbau Editing with EDIUS 8 02-21-2011 12:04 AM
Converting to the HQ codec rando Editing with EDIUS 3 01-11-2008 02:51 PM
down converting hd to sd jimstamos Editing with EDIUS 47 11-27-2007 10:07 AM
Converting HQ to Canopus DV Philip Editing with EDIUS 13 11-10-2007 11:53 PM
Converting SD project to HD 720p? Mike Truly Editing with EDIUS 18 08-18-2007 01:31 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.