Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2011, 03:34 PM   #1
aaraigathor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 5
Default ADVC 100 (61883 Class Bus Device) to FW problem

Hello!

I connected ADVC 100 to IEEE1394 card (situated in my notebooks PCMCIA slot) 6-pin connection. ADVC gets power from an adaptor since this IEEE1394 card does not offer power. I have analog audio and video IN connected to ADVC 100, attempting to digitize some material from VCR.

The problem is - no video capture program can see the ADVC 100 connected. When i connect FireWire from ADVC 110 to the IEEE1394 card i see appearing in Device Manager brand new tree item named '61883 Device Class'.

I am running Windows 7 SP1.

Does anyone know how I can get the ADVC working?
aaraigathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 05:13 PM   #2
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

61883 Device Class usually means the AV/C-compliant camera/deck drivers aren't loaded or available for some reason. The last time I've seen this problem was on OEM prebuilds of Windows XP after SP1.

That said, the default 1394 driver in Windows 7 is not DV/HDV friendly. For some it works fine, but for many, switching to the Legacy driver helps.

Disconnect the ADVC from the computer, go to Device Manager, find your 1394 interface, update the driver and force it to the 1394 Legacy driver. Reboot if necessary, then reconnect the ADVC.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 11:34 PM   #3
aaraigathor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 5
Default

I had seen this previous post you are mentioning and I have already installed the Legacy driver. But still no luck. The device manager keeps referring the device as 61883 class bus device. Could it be the firewire card not communicating well with the ADVC?
aaraigathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 11:40 PM   #4
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Can you force the driver to something Microsoft-ish? That might be enough.

If you've installed any third-party 1394 drivers (like Unibrain's ubCore) that can cause issues with the driver set too.

Is this a pre-built machine or did you install Windows 7 on your own?
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 11:45 PM   #5
aaraigathor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 5
Default

I have installed Windows 7 myself. When you're saying install a driver to something Microsoft-ish what exactly do you mean?
And no, I haven't installed any third-party 1394 drivers.

Last edited by aaraigathor; 03-01-2011 at 11:52 PM.
aaraigathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 11:54 PM   #6
aaraigathor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 5
Default

By the way I have tried the ADVC-100 on another computer with Vista installed with the same firewire card and the same thing happens.
aaraigathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 01:08 AM   #7
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Hmm... in that case it's worth contacting Grass Valley Support to see what your options are. Perhaps the unit is malfunctioning somehow.

By the way, the ADVC-100 requires the power adapter, regardless of whether your Firewire interface provides bus power. Only the ADVC-55 and ADVC-110 can be bus-powered.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 01:49 AM   #8
aaraigathor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 5
Default

I have it connected to its own power adaptor.
I was wondering... Could it be the firewire card's fault?
aaraigathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 06:20 PM   #9
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

It's quite possible it might be the firewire card. For example, Ricoh, Texas Instruments and VIA 1394 controllers use different drivers and each have their own idiosyncrasies.

If you have another Firewire card, preferably that uses a different manufacturer's controller, it's worth trying that.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC-100 sound problem Unified Brain ADVC 4 09-29-2009 06:45 PM
ADVC-100 Analogue Capture Problem wallofsound ADVC 6 02-03-2009 06:15 PM
ADVC 110 (61883 Class Bus Device) to FW problem tankaren ADVC 2 02-03-2009 11:03 AM
ADVC-100 Playback Problem hipgnosis ADVC 0 04-13-2008 08:23 AM
ADVC-100 first frame / last frame problem rwear ADVC 1 11-29-2007 11:13 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.