Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2019, 11:35 AM   #21
Peterjames
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 480
Default

Yes Anton but we in the UK have Brexit as well as Win10 updates to contend with!
__________________
i9-7900X OC, Asus TUF X299 Mk2 MB, 32GB Mem, 250GB Samsung 960 Evo M,2 NVMe for OS, HDDs for work files, GTX1080Ti 11GB, Win10 Pro 1809, Edius 8.5 WG, Sony FS7 main camera
Peterjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 06:53 PM   #22
JohnnyD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 705
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
I am very happy about Win10 because I make lots of extra money fixing issues on customers computers (and so is every PC repair shop)
LOL, me too. A lot more beer and pizza.
__________________
Edius7, 4790K, 16G, Win7, GTX970ti MatroxLE
2nd Sys.,Edius5.51, 2700K, 16G, GTX1060, Win7
Atari 400
JohnFellersProd
JohnnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 07:03 PM   #23
JMM44
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: France Nantes
Posts: 9
Default

Actually, after the update "1809" of Windows 10 on one of my PCs, Edius 7.5 asks me for the "serial number"
* and the list of licenses (always marked permanent goes red). I have disabled the current license (s).
* Restarted the computer and restarted the license activation via the license manager. (Possibly after recovery of these on eID)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Sans-titre-1.jpg (14.8 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg Sans-titre-2.jpg (6.2 KB, 14 views)
JMM44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 11:10 PM   #24
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,756
Default

it looks like Win update 1809 trashes the License manager, see if the GV License Manager is in the autostart list
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 08:06 AM   #25
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,703
Default

I have updated several PCs from Win 10 1803 to 1809, with EDIUS already installed, and had no problems. I am using EDIUS 9 though. I also installed EDIUS 7 on Windows 10 1809 the other day and had no licence manager problems.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 08:51 AM   #26
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,368
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMM44 View Post
Actually, after the update "1809" of Windows 10 on one of my PCs, Edius 7.5 asks me for the "serial number"
* and the list of licenses (always marked permanent goes red)
Same here with my Edius 7 license...
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.4 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.52
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000 H / WIN10 PRO X64 / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 09:56 AM   #27
Peterjames
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 480
Default

Looks like this is a common problem when updating Win10. My edit PC is kept offline and I download and apply updates manually but in future I shall try to remember to deactivate Edius before applying any Win 10 updates. Hopefully I will then avoid the licence activation issues,time wasted and stress that I recently experienced in my attempt to upgrade from 1709 to 1809.

I will retry to upgrade windows in a few days when I am not so busy and keep my fingers crossed. Peter
__________________
i9-7900X OC, Asus TUF X299 Mk2 MB, 32GB Mem, 250GB Samsung 960 Evo M,2 NVMe for OS, HDDs for work files, GTX1080Ti 11GB, Win10 Pro 1809, Edius 8.5 WG, Sony FS7 main camera
Peterjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 10:20 AM   #28
Peterjames
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 480
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peterjames View Post
I will retry to upgrade windows in a few days when I am not so busy and keep my fingers crossed. Peter
Latest Update.
Retried updating Win10 from 1709 to 1809 but this time I deactivated Edius 8 WG first and then reactivated once Win 10 updates completed. Pleased to report all seems to be running okay this time.

Just one question concerns me for the future, what happens if GV shut down the activation/deactivation web server?

I have old software running on a Win 98 PC that I am still using occasionally without issue as only needed a serial number back then. Peter
__________________
i9-7900X OC, Asus TUF X299 Mk2 MB, 32GB Mem, 250GB Samsung 960 Evo M,2 NVMe for OS, HDDs for work files, GTX1080Ti 11GB, Win10 Pro 1809, Edius 8.5 WG, Sony FS7 main camera
Peterjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 10:43 AM   #29
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,703
Default

I would put that firmly in the "cross that bridge when we come to it" camp. When Sorensen Squeeze was stopped recently Sorenson gave out a version that could be installed using a valid serial number but did not have to be activated. Adobe did a similar thing with CS2 and CS3 when they turned off the activation servers.

If Grass Valley is still going when they turn off activation servers then they would have some kind of obligation to do the same. If they went bust then there would be nothing happening. However, neither are likely at the moment and I see not prospect of it happening any time soon.

This is also basically true of pretty much all software these days. Even if you get something that needs to be activated one - like Resolve Studio or EDIUS Workgroup - there would come a time somewhere in the future where you need to reinstall it and, if they company has gone out of business it would not be possible. This is pretty much true of all the software I have bought these days. So I would worry about it when/if it happens.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 07:51 AM   #30
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,886
Default

I came accros the check licence problem yesterday. I used my win 10 caddy with E8 WG and got the message. Repair licence would not work. The Lm showed it in red.
I never got this message on my Win 10 and E9 WG caddy so i wonder why E8 only ?
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP6, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.