Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2019, 06:05 PM   #11
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,886
Default

Like David i always leave Hardware encoder checked
A quick test now with a 2 minute 1920x1080 10bit rendered at 25mbs to mp4 which had 1 title and short 10 secs of additional Background music, with QS took 20 seconds
Without QS same clip took 35 seconds
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP6, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 12:56 AM   #12
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,757
Default

keep in mind that encoding quality without QS is better, especially if making low bitrate mp4 with latest EDIUS9
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 04:48 AM   #13
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tingsern View Post
I have submitted a support email to Lenovo asking them about the Intel Device Driver for enabling QuickSync. The XEON chip has the hardware on it - but EDIUS (H.265) says h/w is not available - so as you said - it is the device driver issue. I tried upgrading the INTEL Graphics device driver from Intel - but - the upgrading program checks and fails the upgrade. So - it is back to Lenovo.
Here's their response -

We apologize for the inconvenience caused, unfortunately we have no support for 3rd party software and hardware issue.

Please try to contact the software vendor support for any patch or plugins that can resolve the issue with the application on the machine. Please contact EDIUS support for further assistance.

No use :-(
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 10:27 AM   #14
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,703
Default

If you asked them about using it with EDIUS then they will have no idea. Did you ask the basic questions:
  1. Does the processor in my laptop have Intel Quick Sync?
  2. Is there anyway to use it in any program on the laptop?

Most Xeons do not have Quick Sync - I remember seeing some single Xeons having Intel Iris graphics which should have Quick Sync. If yes then how can you use it. On laptops the main reason to switch to using the Intel GPU is for power saving when on battery. One of my past laptops had a special mode for this in the power saving. What exact model of Xeon is in the laptop? I cannot see the model number from your specs.

They should be able to answer basic questions like that since it is about the general operation of the laptop.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 08:26 PM   #15
trillium
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 397
Default

What is considered low bitrate in mp4 10-14mbs, that range? If so. I use it a lot normally with hardware encoder unchecked, my results have been "clean".
trillium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 11:17 PM   #16
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,757
Default

I use bitrate as low as 6000 for HD and as low as 2500 for 1280x720 because I host my own videos, so there is not further encoding by Youtube or Vimeo
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 03:43 PM   #17
edver1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
keep in mind that encoding quality without QS is better, especially if making low bitrate mp4 with latest EDIUS9
Anton
In what way is it better ?
And is this also with Edius 8 ?
Ed
__________________
Edius 8,Win 10 home
Asrock Phantom gaming 6,
CPU Intel I9-9900K
1 TB M2 Samsung SSD 970Pro
SSD OCZ 256MB
WD 4TB HDD
edver1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 03:57 PM   #18
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Clarke View Post
If you asked them about using it with EDIUS then they will have no idea. Did you ask the basic questions:
  1. Does the processor in my laptop have Intel Quick Sync?
  2. Is there anyway to use it in any program on the laptop?

Most Xeons do not have Quick Sync - I remember seeing some single Xeons having Intel Iris graphics which should have Quick Sync. If yes then how can you use it. On laptops the main reason to switch to using the Intel GPU is for power saving when on battery. One of my past laptops had a special mode for this in the power saving. What exact model of Xeon is in the laptop? I cannot see the model number from your specs.

They should be able to answer basic questions like that since it is about the general operation of the laptop.
I have checked the specs on Intel website - YES - this XEON does come with QuickSync h/w - but - knowing Lenovo - I doubt they have the knowledge to answer that question. It is definitely in the Intel Device Driver they supply for the P72. Maybe the Quadro chip conflicts with the QuickSync? I don't know.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 04:33 PM   #19
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,703
Default

I assume the Intel graphics card is not appearing in device manager.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 05:03 PM   #20
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

I have two graphics devices in DEVICE MGR. The Intel P630 and the Quadro P5200.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 7 & Quick Sync Khoi Pham Editing with EDIUS 22 01-06-2016 09:58 AM
Quick sync in edius 8 noafilm Editing with EDIUS 7 07-26-2015 08:01 AM
Quick Sync in win8 with edius 6.5 Bagulho EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 8 01-07-2013 09:53 AM
Edius 6.5 (Quick Sync) AFLS EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 11 10-26-2012 12:58 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.