Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2012, 06:32 AM   #1
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,571
Default Canon XF Workflow

Hi Folks

We have a large amount of Canon XF footage coming in at 50Mbps and just wondering if anyone has a good workflow. For the SONY EX 35Mbps stuff we use the SONY clip browser to drag stuff in. Just wondering if Canon has similar software or are guys using the Edius source browser. TIA

Best
Dave
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 12:35 PM   #2
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,461
Default

Dave,

I have an XF300. For my workflow, I export to .mxf from the Canon software straight from the CF card. The .mxf files then can then be directly imported into Edius which chews up the footage.

I am not a metadata user, so if you need this maybe a different approach it better.
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 04:11 AM   #3
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,571
Default

Hi Bassman

Thanks for the reply we will look into the Canon software.... glad to hear your positive experience.

Regards
Dave.
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 09:10 AM   #4
Andy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 309
Default

Hey Dave
The Source Browser in Edius 6 has no problem working with all manner of tapeless media formats, including XDCAM EX and Canon XF amongst many others. Just right click the format you need to access, in this case that would be "XF", and select the folder containing your card media. It works really well.
Cheers
Andy
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 02:41 PM   #5
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,461
Default

Sure thing Dave. I just re-read my post and yes, I can speak English, just can't type!

I shot a lot of shows recently with my XF300 and it is a beautiful camera. One thing I did to really help the footage in my eyes was setup a secondary color correction using the white Balance filter, for just skin tones. Then bump them up a bit. For some reason this camera with its excellent color leaves skin tones a bit flat to me. Your experience may be different.
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 07:11 PM   #6
UlfLaursen
Senior Member
 
UlfLaursen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Danmark
Posts: 512
Default

I import directly from the CF card into Edius with the transfer option ticked, after I have made a backup of the card with shotpot pro.

I have both the XF300 and the XF 105, and you can also use the Canon transfer utility (ver. 1.3 now) to join spanned clips and copy them to the harddrive before importing into Edius.

Different wokflos, but works too.

Ulf
__________________
Best regards * Ulf * Denmark
mail to me
Main system: i7 3930K, 3.2 GHz @ 4.3 GHz, 32 GB RAM , 2 x WD 1TB Raid 0, 2 x 1 TB HDD, 1 x SSD boot, Nvidia GFX 570, Win 7 64.
Second system: i7 970, 3.2 GHz, 24 GB RAM, Asus P6T, Samsung 840 Pro 120 GB systemdrive, 4 x WD 1TB in raid 5, 1 WD 500 GB for exports, Asus GTX 460 Win 7 64.
Third system: Dell Precision M4600, i7 3.2 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro 2GB, 2 x SSD, win 7 64 Pro.

Edius 7.01 & 6.54 & - VisTitle 2
UlfLaursen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 07:23 PM   #7
MPPais
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lisboa-Portugal
Posts: 429
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UlfLaursen View Post
I import directly from the CF card into Edius with the transfer option ticked, after I have made a backup of the card with shotpot pro.

I have both the XF300 and the XF 105, and you can also use the Canon transfer utility (ver. 1.3 now) to join spanned clips and copy them to the harddrive before importing into Edius.

Different wokflos, but works too.

Ulf
I do not have installed Canon Tools. I work only with Source Browser and it works very well.
__________________
MPPais

Last edited by MPPais; 08-27-2012 at 07:41 PM.
MPPais is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 6 import Canon XF100 XF file (broke red checker board error) Frederick Joswick Editing with EDIUS 6 07-18-2011 07:29 PM
Edius workflow with Canon 5D MK II DLSR Claire Editing with EDIUS 26 06-25-2010 12:18 AM
Is this the correct workflow for canon 25pf avchd to bluray? gerbow Editing with EDIUS 5 04-20-2010 02:36 PM
Canon 7D Workflow DMS Video Editing with EDIUS 5 11-02-2009 01:58 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.