Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2010, 04:38 PM   #11
Red Union Films
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,029
Default

John.

You may want to disable the drive of the OS you are not using, just physicaly switch between the two OS drives. If you do this there will be no problem at all. You may need to re-ghost back to your initial installs for both OS drives, dont let the win7 drive see the xp drive, win7 depending on sys/config may assume dual soft boot. It's allways best to only have one OS drive at any one time. This will be no problem as your media etc. is on another drive.

Cheers.


Dave.
Red Union Films is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 05:30 PM   #12
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,997
Default

Hi Dave. This is the old dual boot drive and the XP partition has been deleted leaving Vista64 still on the Old C Partition
its just the choice still comes up. I have however chosen to have 0 hold at choice. Googling indicates i have to use BCEdit but gets me nowhere
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K Win 10, BD Burner 1 Evo 840 and 4 Hotswap caddies
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP7, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70,Canon FX400
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 08:00 PM   #13
Red Union Films
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,029
Default

Hi John.

I know it's a pain, but if you can wipe out both the drives so there is no partition info or system files left on either, then do total re-install of each OS to each drive. You may have to do a low level format of each drive, but no matter how you do this you must be left with two drives that have no partition info. When you have done your first OS install, ghost it straight away to your third drive, so you can at least get back to a basic windows install within minutes. Then do an install of Edius and whatever windows optimisation you want, and ghost that version so you have your optimum install, which again will re-ghost within minutes if needed in the future. Then do the same for the second OS.

Again this is very time consuming, but believe me, when things go wrong as they do. It's a great feeling to go back to a clean system that may have taken half a day to prepare in the first place, within a matter of minutes. You will thank yourself for this the first time you have a what looks like software issues, and instead of chasing it for days, just go back to a clean system within minutes. Remeber to keep the drives blind to eachother. I only have one sata cable so I can only have one boot drive attached. It's just a simple case of shuting down, open the side panel, and connect the sata cable to the other drive. Or use removable cadies, whatever is easiest. Just never do multi OS's on the same drive with partitions, or let win7 see another drive on the system with an active OS.

If you follow these instructions, you will allways be up and running within minutes of your system doing an impersonation of a useless thing on useless thursday in useless land. Just as long as your media is seperated and safe. It also allows you to experiment with your system and software, in ways you normaly would not for fear of sending it back to useless land and having to spend the best part of day reinstalling from scratch.


Cheers.


Dave.
Red Union Films is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 10:34 AM   #14
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,997
Default

Thanks Dave will leave till E6 and reinstall then E5 takes too long to install so i will wait PS Ignore my last PM i guess the grey matter was stilll asleep
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K Win 10, BD Burner 1 Evo 840 and 4 Hotswap caddies
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP7, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70,Canon FX400
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 10:38 PM   #15
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Dave's on it. The issue is that if Windows is installed when it "sees" the other drives (even if it's not being installed to them), the boot loader and therefore boot menu gets installed on the existing "primary" drive. Short of removing/disconnecting drives so each drive is "primary" and gets the boot loader, I don't know how to fix it.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac and running Edius in dual boot? Philip EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 5 06-24-2010 01:41 PM
Storm2, xp 64-bit, and dual boot tvidk EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 7 02-12-2010 02:01 PM
Dual boot system for Edius. burnandreturn Editing with EDIUS 10 05-27-2009 09:43 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.