Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2014, 11:45 AM   #1
Jim N
Senior Member
 
Jim N's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 433
Default 4K Editing and Thunderbolt 2

From what I can make out on this forum, the two biggest concerns about using external TB2 I/O devices are a slight lag in responsiveness (but they're still basically OK) and a worry about sufficient band width for less compressed material ( TB2 is meant to have good bandwidth specs but no device ever meets its theoretical specs). As a negative bonus, BMD cards have also been reported to generally crush blacks during analogue capture!

AJA have their IO 4K and BMD have their Ultra Studio 4K. Assuming I am dealing with an all digital workflow I can discount the BMD crushed blacks problem so which box would you choose.

In theory the BMD box will also display Resolve and now Fusion as well as Adobe CC. Is there any reason to go for the AJA IO 4K?

Anyone using these 4K TB2 boxes and happy with them?

Jim
Jim N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 12:54 PM   #2
Adbear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
Default

Well the BM Ultrastudio 4K V2 still doesn't have the higher framerate UHD settings that they advertised over a year ago, so you can't do higher than UHD @30p. I keep getting the run around about when it will be available. Also on some TB sockets the V10.x drivers stop the box from working and you have to roll back to the 9.9.x drivers to get it to work again which is a problem as you need the later V10.x drivers to use it in AfterFX CC 2014
__________________
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB 5400RPM Video drives, external Blu-ray Optical
Adbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
During 4k editing, can I change config? help! Ulisse Editing with EDIUS 10 10-12-2014 10:00 AM
4K from GH4, editing in HD on old computer Claire Editing with EDIUS 4 10-07-2014 03:26 PM
4k feedback editing vgtah Editing with EDIUS 2 02-24-2014 04:03 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.