Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2019, 02:28 PM   #11
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lada View Post
Why not to go with h264. This is even more flexible/acceptable than any DV codec.
You are right. But in this case I have to export after capturing. ... and ask some fees per file... People who want to edit themselves expect to pay only for digitizing.

That was a search to propose this laternative
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 02:32 PM   #12
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpalomaki View Post
If you have to do any editing, color correction, noise reduction, stabilization, and other cleanup, it is better to capture in as lossless a format as you can, do the clean up, then export to the final lossy distribution format. MP4/H.264 is arguably the most universal distribution format for today.

What are you using to capture the analog video sources to a digital format.
I am using Edius with a Canopus NX Xpress card. So generally I am using Canopus HQ... and then after cleaning I export to DVD or MP4.

But some people wants just capturing to edit themselves. So they need a microsoft DV....
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 02:36 PM   #13
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,749
Default

You could use a program to change the DV codec without remaking it. I have used DVDate in the past: http://paul.glagla.free.fr/dvdate_en.htm
You can load a clip or many clips into this and just convert the flag that says "see at GV DV" into one that says "see as MSDV".
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 02:37 PM   #14
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lada View Post
I got the OP issue as to provide the most versatile file to be watched everywhere e.g. PC, TVs, Playstation, Android boxes

Of course if it was intended as to provide a good quality video for further editing than I would suggest to use Canopus Codec. This can be added to the video USB stick/HDD or as a link where to download.
You right. Giving them the Canopus-Codec-Pack is a solution... but then issues begin with the client... generally not an expert. I have done it several times and invest time to help in these very simple installation of Canopus codec.

So they pay less (only capturing) and it needs more time for me to help then....
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 02:42 PM   #15
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Clarke View Post
Nearly everything loads MP4 H.264 files (as long as the are 8 bit), which makes it a good codec for playback but it is highly compressed so the quality will deteriorate quicker if re-editing.

DV is less compressed, and most things can read it, so better if re-editing.

Uncompressed is the cleanest but takes up a lot of space. There are also quite a few varieties of uncompressed and some don't load into some programs.

GV AVI are great because they are clean and not very compressed but I am not starting to have problems loading them into some programs. The latest versions of Premiere will sometimes load up my GV AVI files and sometimes not (this is loading the same files on the same machine in the same project!). Obviously an Adobe problem but not one they will every look at.

GV MOVs used to be good because there was a free codec but Apple have changed the way video is done on a MAC and Windows programs stopped using QuickTime for Windows and instead use their own native support which means now these will not load into many programs.
David, you are perfectly right... Having a simple codec that was not too much compressed, universal readable on any standard is the key. So I expected to capture with Microsoft DV... and giving the "Raw" files to the client... If he wants to edit, he has also to read and see the reality of his genuine cassette... with all the unusable parts, drops, ...and so on.

When I give a capture converted in MP4 (@ 8Mbps minimum) or DVD, I ask a fee but clean the video files to be nice a directly presentable on their TV...
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.

Last edited by Haddock; 02-15-2019 at 02:52 PM.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 03:14 PM   #16
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,535
Default

You could try something like Scenalyzer if you are capturing over firewire. It is no longer in active production, but worked well when DV was a much more standard format. It will capture a DV tape and split the files based on the record start/stop flags, saving in MSDV AVI if I recall correctly. (it has been many years since I used it, so it is difficult to say more from memory)

http://www.scenalyzer.com
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 05:12 PM   #17
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
You could try something like Scenalyzer if you are capturing over firewire. It is no longer in active production, but worked well when DV was a much more standard format. It will capture a DV tape and split the files based on the record start/stop flags, saving in MSDV AVI if I recall correctly. (it has been many years since I used it, so it is difficult to say more from memory)

http://www.scenalyzer.com
Thanks for the idea... but generally I capture VHS and 8/Hi8 tapes. So spliting is not automatic. DV tapes are more easy ... because DV is directly available in Edius capture...

Thanks for help
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 05:17 PM   #18
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,535
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haddock View Post
Thanks for the idea... but generally I capture VHS and 8/Hi8 tapes. So spliting is not automatic. DV tapes are more easy ... because DV is directly available in Edius capture...

Thanks for help
The point I was making was that this captures to MSDV. A steady stream from an analog to DV converter should just be seen as one file with no splitting, but you will not have to do an extra export step to get the file into the MSDV codec.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 08:41 AM   #19
Haddock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
The point I was making was that this captures to MSDV. A steady stream from an analog to DV converter should just be seen as one file with no splitting, but you will not have to do an extra export step to get the file into the MSDV codec.
I will try this at the next command... Using DV in to capture ans see if it will be

Code:
saving in MSDV AVI if I recall correctly
Thanks again for these precizion
__________________
Yvon durieux alias "Haddock" Belgium GMT + 1

Sorry for my poor english, I am french native speaking

Main System: Azus Z87 Pro, 4770K@3.5Ghz, 16gb ram, Nvidia GeForce GT 630, Windows 7 Pro 64, Samsung 840 pro, Edius 8.53.2808 WG and 9.40.4896 + NXexpress or HDspark, 2T separate video SSD.
Haddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 10:23 AM   #20
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,749
Default

I still use Scenalyzer from time to time and it will capture as MS DV from a DV source. You need to make sure you go into the settings and tell it to capture files as one clip, not segment it at 2GB automatically. It can split clips based on the date and time of recording or the picture but ONLY does this with DV footage.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft AVI tony Editing with EDIUS 7 03-10-2010 07:15 PM
Capturing from videocamera: better .avi file or .m2t? Ulisse Editing with EDIUS 1 08-17-2009 05:20 PM
Microsoft DV AVI SoundFreak Editing with EDIUS 2 09-03-2008 11:17 AM
Microsoft DV AVI + Pinnacle Studio shueardm ProCoder 2 05-15-2008 03:29 PM
Tell me that Edius works like microsoft word... dansimrelladvertising Editing with EDIUS 3 04-29-2008 08:08 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.