Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2018, 09:19 AM   #1
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default Edius 9WG doesn't recognize free space on disc when converting to HQX

So I want to convert a file in edius from the bin into a HQXAVI file and place it on a empty 256GB SSD, Edius refuses and says there is not enough space on the SSD to do so and I convert to a bigger harddrive first. The resulting file however is only 150GB so why doesn't edius allow me to use the 256GB disc? Is it a bug?

Also, often when I want to convert to HQXAVI from in the bin Edius warns me it can result in a full disc even if there is plenty of space, looks like Edius is guessing the remaining space wrong.
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 12:40 PM   #2
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,541
Default

What way is the drive formatted? Is it NTFS or FAT32? Fat32 has a 4GB file size limit. NTFS is 16TB.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 12:51 PM   #3
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default

All my drives are ntfs formatted.
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 03:12 PM   #4
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noafilm View Post
All my drives are ntfs formatted.
It should work then, unless it is an issue with space reporting in Win10's version of NTFS. I don't run Win10, so I can't test or comment further.

Perhaps someone else running Win10 can chime in.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 03:25 PM   #5
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default

It does work when I make the hqx file on another bigger drive and then copy that file back onto the SSD, there is more then sufficient space left, only edius does not see it this way.
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 03:41 PM   #6
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,815
Default

Strange my Laptop has 2 m2 ssd's (system and video drive) and I have not seen this issue.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 05:03 PM   #7
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,782
Default

Is your EDIUS Project located on that 256G drive?
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 05:54 PM   #8
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default

No, the project file is located on a 1TB M.2 drive, the 250GB M.2 drive is empty, the recyclebin is also empty so that could also not be the issue.


I attached some framegrabs, I either get a warning that the disk might be full after exporting while that is not the case or it says the disk is too small and that 1.01TB is needed while the exported file is only 171GB large so edius is making a miscalculation. When I have exported that 171gb hqxavi file to a seperate much larger drive I can copy it to my 250GB m.2 drive without a issue.
Attached Images
File Type: png 2018-08-24 17_19_10-EDIUS.png (19.1 KB, 14 views)
File Type: png 2018-08-24 17_20_15-EDIUS.png (13.4 KB, 17 views)
File Type: png 2018-08-24 17_45_13-EDIUS.png (23.4 KB, 13 views)
File Type: png 2018-08-24 17_46_40-.png (29.0 KB, 11 views)
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 09:24 PM   #9
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,815
Default

Can you try adding an in and out to the timeline and select export between in and out?

I just tried again but I have no issue.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support

Last edited by GrassValley_SL; 08-24-2018 at 09:31 PM.
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 09:33 PM   #10
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default

When i export from the timeline there is no problem, only when I convert to hqxavi in the bin.
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HQX Color Space Seemedia Editing with EDIUS 14 04-15-2018 01:03 AM
Windows 7 64 Pro doesn't recognize Storm Mobile-HELP! chappyware EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 4 11-18-2011 12:48 AM
Edius DVD burner doesn't recognize media horse Editing with EDIUS 5 06-08-2009 04:24 AM
Converting 4:1:1 to 4:2:2 color space? Alter Ego Editing with EDIUS 8 03-20-2008 04:30 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.