Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2019, 10:38 AM   #1
Agentskinner
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Default Edius 9.40 - ProRes RAW Codec-Type not supported

I use Edius 9.40.4896 and can't import ProRes RAW files, I get the error message: "Codec-Type will not supported". It worked fine on a colleague's laptop.

My Edius system settings for import/export are:
- Apple ProRes RAW -> EMPTY, no GPU, no OpenCL entry !
- Cinema RAW -> Radeon RX 590 Series
- Sony RAW -> Ellesmere: AMD APP : OpenCL 2.1 AMD-APP (2766.5)
- RED GPU mode -> OpenCL Ellesmere: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing

I reinstalled Edius 9.40.4803 and 4896 and the graphics driver multiple times. No success.

My system:
Windows 10-64bit, Desktop, Edius 9.40.4896, 16 GB RAM, Intel Core i5-8400 @ 2.80GHz

GPU: Radeon RX 590 (Driver 19.4.1)
OpenCL Version: 10.0.2766.5 (Software)
OpenCL API Version: 2.0 (Hardware)
Agentskinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 04:28 PM   #2
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,558
Default

Can you give us some details on the file?
Do you know what camera or recorder was used?
What is the Format and frame-rate?
As you can see in my attachment everything in the settings shows up.
Attached Images
File Type: png Prores Raw.PNG (94.3 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg Prores Raw2.jpg (393.2 KB, 23 views)
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support

Last edited by GrassValley_SL; 05-25-2019 at 04:47 PM.
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 09:18 AM   #3
Agentskinner
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Default

Camera: Sony FS5, Recorder: Atomos Shogun Inferno, Format: 4K, 25p, Apple ProRes RAW HQ

The test file you used in the screenshot will not be opened either (https://filmplusgear.com/prores-raw-...load-nab-2018/)

The internal graphics card (Intel UHD Graphics 630) is only displayed under the settings for primary color correction. The settings for Apple ProRes RAW are still empty. The two plugin files "CtsMpegPlugIn" and "CtsImporters" are successfully loaded by Edius (Procmon.exe). Mync does not open the files either.

I completely removed Edius again (also the settings under "..\AppData\Roaming\Grass Valley"), restarted my computer and reinstalled Edius 9.40.4896 WG. I don't know what to do. Edius otherwise works fine, other software as well.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Edius 9.4 - Settings.jpg (182.1 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg GPU-Software.jpg (58.8 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg GPU-Hardware.jpg (64.2 KB, 7 views)
Agentskinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 01:54 PM   #4
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,648
Default

https://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/...t=38508&page=2
Post #1. Honestly I am not sure if this affects it or not, but it is worth a try.
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 09:56 PM   #5
Agentskinner
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Default

First of all I have no problems importing MOV files except for the ProRes RAW MOV files.
The link above didn't help me. There is also no Quicktime entry in the Edius Import/Export settings. Thanks anyway.

Is it now Grass Valley or/and AMD? That's the big question. Only them can figure that out :-(
Agentskinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2019, 04:27 AM   #6
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,648
Default

You might try installing QuickTime.
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2019, 05:23 AM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_PS View Post
You might try installing QuickTime.
yes, once Quicktime Player 7.7.9 is installed, enable the option in EDIUS and restart EDIUS
https://support.apple.com/kb/DL837?locale=en_US

then try the RAW files

the RAW files work fine here but I never tested without an installed Quicktime
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2019, 11:04 AM   #8
Sandlance
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Oceans
Posts: 8
Default

According to the release note, it seems to use OpenCL for ProRes RAW. You should try updating your graphics card driver to the latest version.
Sandlance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2019, 12:56 PM   #9
Agentskinner
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Default

1st attempt:
Quicktime installed. Edius imports the files, but displays only a chessboard pattern (see 1st screenshot). The color space info is also wrong... should be BT.2020. Apple ProRes RAW GPU settings still empty. = Not working.

2nd attempt:
I have installed the latest drivers for the internal GPU Intel UHD Graphics 630. Now I have 2 entries under Apple ProRes RAW GPU: Intel GPU OpenCL 2.1 and Intel CPU OpenCL 2.1. I have both enabled. Edius imports the ProRes RAW files now.
Btw. Quicktime ist disabled and not necessary to import ProRes RAW.

But now my AMD Radeon RX 590 GPU has disappeared in Edius. GPU settings under RED and Cinema RAW are empty now, no Intel entries either. The RX 590 can only be found under Primary Color Correction. (see 2nd screenshot)

On my colleague's laptop all GPU's are displayed (Intel and NVidia) for all RAW Formats.

What's going on here? What to do to get both GPU's show up in Edius? Or at least one GPU (preferably the AMD RX 590) in all RAW settings?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Edius 9.4 - Quicktime enabled.jpg (373.0 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg Edius 9.4 - ProResRAW works.jpg (262.2 KB, 4 views)
Agentskinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2019, 01:01 PM   #10
Agentskinner
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandlance View Post
According to the release note, it seems to use OpenCL for ProRes RAW. You should try updating your graphics card driver to the latest version.
Both drivers are uptodate (Intern Intel UHD 630 and AMD Radeon RX 590). But the RX 590 doesn't show up under Apple ProRes RAW settings, no matter what i do. But with the Intel UHD 630 GPU it works.
Agentskinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius to support ProRes RAW skimmel Editing with EDIUS 2 04-09-2019 02:41 AM
EDIUS 7.51 support ProRes 422 codec tingsern Editing with EDIUS 9 01-17-2016 06:04 AM
DNxHD and ProRes Codec Components mark williams EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 22 03-06-2014 06:53 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.