Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2019, 03:56 PM   #1
Gavriel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Israel
Posts: 7
Default Buffer size

Hi, I would like to have an explanation about the meaning of "Buffer" that appears at the bottom of the timeline screen. If I have 16GB RAM, what should be the recommended "Playback Buffer Size" - now its 2GB in my System Setting.
Gavriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 10:19 PM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,736
Default

no need for 2GB or more unless you work in UHD

for HD I set 512MB
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 01:22 AM   #3
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,416
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
no need for 2GB or more unless you work in UHD

for HD I set 512MB
One area where more buffer with HD could be beneficial is if you have complicated effect area that is killing playback.

Giving more of a run up to the problem area may let Edius get through it since it has more time to load the larger buffer before hitting the problem area, or if you use the pre-fill buffer playback (Shift-Space) to play the area, it will pause and fill the buffer before playback. If you don't have enough buffer to cache the entire problem area, then playback will suffer once the buffer is exhausted.

Essentially though, since Edius tries to read ahead to fill the buffer, if you can play without the buffer getting emptied, there is no real need for a larger buffer or to use the pre-fill (Shift-Space), as Anton suggested.
__________________
Edius WG 9.40.5106, various 3rd party plugins, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 09:33 AM   #4
Gavriel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Israel
Posts: 7
Default Buffer Size

Thanks.
Where can I find more explanation regarding the buffer and how Edius uses it?
Gavriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 12:35 PM   #5
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,416
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavriel View Post
Thanks.
Where can I find more explanation regarding the buffer and how Edius uses it?
Aside from what is listed in the Edius help/manual, I am not aware of any other official documentation.
__________________
Edius WG 9.40.5106, various 3rd party plugins, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 04:53 PM   #6
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,672
Default

Buffer is basically a cache where the EDIUS Timeline "reads ahead" and stores that information in the buffer. It consists of 2 numbers. The second number is the maximum amount of storage area and the first number shows what is currently being played. If the timeline starts to drop frames (the first number will start decreasing), it will still play real time until the first number reaches 1. Basically it means the buffer has run out.

The maximum amount allowed is a combination of RAM in the computer, the Playback Buffer Size setting located in Settings>System Settings>Application>Playback, and the Project Preset.

Assuming you have 16G RAM and work in HD, GENERALLY I suggest setting the Playback Buffer Size to 1.5G or 2G. As Anton mentioned, anything above 2G is generally for 4K or above.

If you open the Mixer and have something set other then Off, the buffer size will only load to a maximum of 5. That is because it is a dynamic mixer and some of the function will not work correctly with a larger buffer.

A lot of people watch the red line above the ruler area of the Timeline to see dropped frames. The Buffer is a much better indicator and people should get used to watching that instead of the red line.
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 10:12 PM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,736
Default

I have my red line disabled, it is too distracting to see these colored lines
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 12:18 AM   #8
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,357
Default

I only show blue.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 01:31 AM   #9
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,736
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
I only show blue.
same here :)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 06:59 AM   #10
Gavriel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Israel
Posts: 7
Default Buffer Size

Thanks for the detailed explanation.
Gavriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playback Buffer Size Derek Hart Editing with EDIUS 5 12-02-2014 09:48 AM
What dictates playback buffer size? John Hooper Editing with EDIUS 6 10-19-2013 12:29 PM
buffer size lonny Editing with EDIUS 16 10-03-2010 02:53 PM
Increase buffer size zvit Editing with EDIUS 117 02-23-2010 07:33 AM
Edius 5 Memory setting (buffer size) Albatros Editing with EDIUS 2 11-03-2008 04:44 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.