Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2008, 01:01 PM   #1
jshaw300
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 132
Default H.264 Export

I love the Canopus HQ codec and when I'm editing, I end up with files in that format. I need to export them to H.264 for web use. I know that it is possible to do this from Edius by going to Procoder, choosing Generic Target> Quicktime Export and then selecting H.264 - but a 3min piece is showing 3-4 hours to export. It uses 100 passes to do it!

I have quicktime Pro which can export H.264 files in a fraction of the time, but does not like Canopus HQ. I also struggle with the lossless codecs including the Quicktime animation which seem to crash. Any suggestions to ease my workflow?

Many thanks.
jshaw300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 06:42 PM   #2
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jshaw300 View Post
Any suggestions to ease my workflow?
Yes -- give Procoder a chance to finish.

It won't make 100 passes, that's just an overly pessimistic guestimate. Procoder doesn't know how many passes QuickTime will ultimately make, and the 3-4 hour export duration is based on 100 passes. In practice it will only take five or six passes, the last of which is substantially faster than the previous ones.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 06:50 PM   #3
jshaw300
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 132
Default

Ah...

Thanks for that!
jshaw300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 12:52 AM   #4
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

100 passes? Not sure that H264 is even capable of that.

Export your 3 minute piece to uncompressed AVI and use QTPro to export to H264.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 10:03 AM   #5
jshaw300
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 132
Default

Thanks, but THoff was quite correct. Procoder does 5-6 passes then it's done. Saves me an extra step in my workflow.
jshaw300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
H.264 vs. MPEG-2 file sizes? LeeR ProCoder 4 09-02-2008 08:08 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.