Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2008, 04:26 PM   #1
harveylexton
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: london u.k
Posts: 232
Default XP on a Vista Laptop to run E4.61

Sony has replaced my VGN AR21S which had XP and was working o.k with E4.16, and the replacement has Vista, can I put XP on and select it on startup also if this is not possible then how can I scrap Vista and put XP on with E4?

It has 2 x 160G hdd's and these seem to have been raided by Sony as it shows 1 x disc at 290 Gig

Any ideas on how I can get E4 on this machine. E4 doesn't work on Vista.

If this can't be done I will very upset with Canopus/GV for not bringing drivers out for Vista, and I will have to dump GV and switch to Adobe.
harveylexton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 04:52 PM   #2
SRsupport
Grass Cutter Gold
 
SRsupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South America
Posts: 3,353
Default

Edius works with vista. I have been using it for a long time.
It is not "officially" supported but it works.
A few of my friend here on the forum also use it. :)

Also if you take a look at the Edius roadmap you will see that Edius will be officially supported under vista sooner rather then later.


Steve
__________________
Steve
EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
A proud EDIUS EDITOR
For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net
SRsupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 05:15 PM   #3
harveylexton
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: london u.k
Posts: 232
Default

Thanks Steve, I have tried to put on my e4 upgrade and it asks for my e3 serial number to confirm the upgrade and then it doesn't recognise the serial number, maybe I should install e3 and then up to E4 upgrade
harveylexton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 05:34 PM   #4
SRsupport
Grass Cutter Gold
 
SRsupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South America
Posts: 3,353
Default

Strange I would not install version 3.
I think It is better to sort the serial number out 0 and O often get confused.
Check with support I think you can go straight to 4.61 without doing the in between.

If you have a fast connection download the latest iso. But you should use the 4.5 serial

Steve
__________________
Steve
EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
A proud EDIUS EDITOR
For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net
SRsupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 05:46 PM   #5
drgagx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 327
Default

I have E4.54 running on Vista. My Ev4 was an upgrade from Ev3 so I installed Ev4 using the utility provided in Vista control panel to install XP compatible programmes. You need to have both your E3 and E4 serial #s available for this. I then updated by downloading 4.54 and installing that from my DL folder. This worked OK. My attempt to go to 4.61 failed so I am staying with 4.54 for the time being. So far this has worked for me on Vista.
__________________
DVC laptop: W870CU i7; 17.3" 1920x1080; 2x 1TB 7200rpm SATA notebook drives; Edius 8.5WG; Windows 7.
drgagx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 06:06 PM   #6
harveylexton
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: london u.k
Posts: 232
Default

Thanks for the info, I called Canopus support and because of the serial problem they suggested downloading the full version from the E4 site, I am at the moment doing this, then burn the .iso to disc and install. He said it shoulkd work o.k
harveylexton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 06:35 PM   #7
Geoff
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Reading,UK
Posts: 161
Default

E4.61 is running on my HP laptop under Vista Home Edition. I've been able to edit HDV and EX1 footage.

Good luck,

Geoff
Geoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 06:38 PM   #8
harveylexton
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: london u.k
Posts: 232
Default

Thanks Geoff, I am pleased you have it o.k looking forward to my one working.

Harvey
harveylexton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 07:17 PM   #9
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

A word of caution - if you're an 'upgrader' you may have some difficulty in installing TitleMotion Pro for EDIUS - it seems that in some cases, TMP won't 'see' EDIUS if you've jumped straight up to 4.6x, since you need to upgrade your TMP from v3.x.

I haven't verified this myself (I have to pull out a post-NAB system to test). Just fyi..
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 08:03 PM   #10
Blast1
Senior Member
 
Blast1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 407
Default

I had a problem when going from 3.x to 4.x, when it would ask for the older disk, I had to put it in another optical drive as install wouldn't recognize it when I swapped the disks out in the same drive.
__________________
GA-EP45C-DSR3,Core2Q3ghz,8gig1066,260GTX,2x 20"AOC,22"Vizio1080pTV, Edius5/HDspark,PC3,Imaginate, CS5ProdStudio/IntensityPro,Win7_64
HPdv7t 17"notebook,8gig,2 IntHD,9600GT512M,17"extmon, Edius4.61,CS4Prodstudio.Win7_64,MX02Mini
DAW,HPdv9000,x2Turion,4Gig,2IntHD,Audition3,Cubase 4,XPpro,Alessis F/Wmixer,M-Audio F/Wmixer,BCF2000, BehringerMixers, Fender sound sys
Numerous Ext eSATA drives & Raids shared between systems
Blast1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 5 Install on Vista Laptop Hangs Phoenix Editing with EDIUS 8 01-08-2009 04:01 AM
Edius on a laptop... several questions DMS Video Editing with EDIUS 8 05-21-2008 04:54 PM
Edius NX/PC3 & Vista whitehat Editing with EDIUS 0 01-06-2008 09:52 PM
Edius 4.5 on Vista error STORMDAVE Editing with EDIUS 11 12-04-2007 03:02 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.