Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2008, 11:22 AM   #1
roscoe_video
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: sydney
Posts: 30
Default EX1 MXF / HQ / Proxy files

I'm up to my third wedding and about to shoot 4 and 5 on the EX1 but don't have a workflow yet. Until 4.6 and I can purchase some more cards, I'm staying with SP. Can anybody help?

I do the following,...

1). Download from cards using Clip Browser software as native files to an external drive for backup.

2). Convert all files to MXF.

3). Then ?

Convert files to HQ? This will create files that are very large but easily editable.
But how do I do this for 400-600 clips at a time, so that they maintain the same names? I can't seem to find a way to do it with anymore than one clip at a time. What about exporting to DV if I wanted to give a copy to another editor to rough cut, can I export out to a 16:9 DV series of files, if so how?

The EX1 doesn't have proxy files, but if I wanted to create them so that I could edit on my laptop, what setting / codec would I use to do that?

When I want to export using Procoder to DVD do I...

1) Leave the project settings at 1440x1080 and export OR

2) Change the project to DV and export from there?


If we are able to use 4.6 to edit the files natively, does this mean we can dispense with using HQ, or will it be the same as the MXF files, as soon as you start to add effects/transitions ect you become nonRT because of the processor load?

Any help appreciated.

Ross
roscoe_video is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 12:22 PM   #2
Priceless
Junior Member
 
Priceless's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 12
Default

Hi Ross

I have shoot some weddings in sq(1440) mode with my EX1 and spent many hours converting clips to mxf to edit in Edius. This method removes the time and date of when the video was shoot. I use this data to sync to a second camera. (free run the timecode on both cameras and use the remote to reset to 00:00:00 at the start of the day)

What I have found to be the best method until 4.6 is released is to connect the EX1 to my PC via firewire and capture the clips (using Canopus HQ)from start to finish. This keeps the original timecode.

As a back up I connect the EX to my HDV deck and capture to tape.
If you shoot in HQ with the EX then you will not be able to get the video out via firewire.

Paul
Priceless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 08:30 PM   #3
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

If you're copying footage from file-based cameras (this applies to both P2 and XDCAM), make sure you copy the entire folder structure of the media.

For example, create a folder called 2008-01-16_Card01 and copy everything on the card, folders and all, to the 2008-01-16_Card01 folder.

When you open the 2008-01-16_Card01 folder, its directory list should look the same as looking directly at the card.

Backing up this way, you'll be able to browse the 2008-01-16_Card01 folder as if it were a mounted card in P2 Select (for P2) or XDSelect (for XDCAM) and things won't get disconnected or confused.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 11:43 PM   #4
roscoe_video
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: sydney
Posts: 30
Default

Hi Paul,

Thanks for the heads up on the Time/Date info getting stripped out, I'm glad I'm not the only getting that.

What does your workflow look like after importing the 1440 footage? Do you treat it the same way as importing HDV from tape?

What settings do you edit / encode to DVD in?

Thanks again
Ross
roscoe_video is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 11:53 PM   #5
roscoe_video
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: sydney
Posts: 30
Default

Hi Brandon,

What I was looking for is firstly how to convert MXF files to HQ or DV in some automated overnight method.

Are you aware of any?

Thanks
Ross
roscoe_video is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 01:11 AM   #6
Priceless
Junior Member
 
Priceless's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 12
Default

Hi Ross

Re my work flow, as all my projects end up on a SD DVD, I start Edius with a SD 16:9 project and when editing is complete export with PC3 to AC3 and
M2v.

This way the 1440 video is scaled down to 53% and if I want to zoom in on a clip I open the layout tool and if my MF is set correctly I can zoom in to 80% with good results. When I shot with the Z1 and was filming a speech at a reception, the more zoom I used on the camera the more the iris closed, so I made sure the subject was in focus and stayed a little wider and zoomed in with the layout tool. The EX1 is a brilliant camera in low light so this is not necessary but during the ceremony I use the layout tool a lot to crop out unwanted people and photographers elbows.

I recommend Brandon's tip making folders (card 1,2 etc) and copping the entire contents of the SxS into them as a backup.

Paul
Priceless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 04:27 AM   #7
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Priceless View Post
Hi Ross

The EX1 is a brilliant camera in low light...
Paul
How would you compare it in low light next to the old PD 150 or comparable camera?
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 06:43 AM   #8
Priceless
Junior Member
 
Priceless's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 12
Default

When I compare the low light video of my PD150, the EX is just as bright and has a much cleaner picture. I don't go above 6db with the EX as the noise is to much for me, but the PD 150 at 12 db was still acceptable.
The Z1 was a step up from the PD150 and now the EX1 is another step up.
I am very happy with this camera.
Priceless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 08:00 PM   #9
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roscoe_video View Post
What I was looking for is firstly how to convert MXF files to HQ or DV in some automated overnight method.
Hi Ross,

I'm not 100% certain, but Rhozet's Carbon Coder probably can do it. I know they take most server MXF formats, just not 100% sure on the P2/XDCAM camera side.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 08:08 PM   #10
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Looks like they do:

http://www.rhozet.com/rhozet_formatGuide.pdf

No info about EX1 yet.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EX1 files & Edius 5 Harro Editing with EDIUS 5 01-30-2013 02:26 PM
Managing MXF files in Procoder 3. pixelman ProCoder 2 02-13-2008 01:17 PM
EX1 Files -- Edius ? --> HDMI Out whitehat Editing with EDIUS 13 01-09-2008 04:15 PM
Cannot import MXF files from Firestore. Gregster Editing with EDIUS 3 06-14-2007 01:00 AM
importing mxf files to Edius llcooljayr Editing with EDIUS 3 06-13-2007 05:18 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.