Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2020, 06:31 PM   #11
Vladiciu
Senior Member
 
Vladiciu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italia
Posts: 104
Default info

Problem solved by installing Elmedia player for mac, now I see the grass valley files well.
__________________
I7 4790K-32 gb RAM-RX580 8gb-SSD 256gb-Windows 10 pro-Edius8.5-HD Sata 2 TB-SSD 1 TB file video for edius 8 e projects-
Vladiciu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2020, 07:51 PM   #12
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladiciu View Post
I have a problem, I can't see the grass valley HQX files on mac, with VLC and not even Quick time player, I use el capitan, how can I do it?
thank you
As I said before:
Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
The one thing to be aware of, is that whoever you are giving these files to will need to install the GV codecs to play them. The same story is true if you were to use an Avid DNxHD codec.

ProRes is native to Mac, and a lot of people have quicktime player on their PC's, so ProRes can usually work on a PC too for playback.

If you can't export Prores, since your edius version is from before the native prores support, it may make sense to convert the HQX files back to Prores for delivery. You can do this using ffmpeg, or if you prefer not to use the command line, there are several GUI's for ffmpeg, some free, some not. Xmedia Recode is a free one that will let you do the conversion.
HQX is the native codec of Edius, just as DNxHD is the native codec of Avid Media Composer. In both cases the codecs are quite good, but require installation of the respective codec packs on machines that don't have the editing software on them.

Players like the Elmedia player and VLC have codecs hard coded into them for viewing, but these are not available to other softwares for further work on the files. The GV and Avid codec packs are available to other softwares, but I still think that for simplicity in passing the files off to other people and avoiding the headaches of people complaining that there is something wrong with the files, conversion back to ProRes is the safest thing for you to do.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).

Last edited by BernH; 01-24-2020 at 11:12 PM.
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2020, 09:03 PM   #13
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,333
Default

All discussed here https://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/...=Prores&page=2
Asking a station to download a codec pack to play or edit "your" files is pushing your luck. Listen to Bern ...this is his world!
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2020, 11:23 PM   #14
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalDave View Post
All discussed here https://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/...=Prores&page=2
Asking a station to download a codec pack to play or edit "your" files is pushing your luck. Listen to Bern ...this is his world!
Thanks for the vote of confidence Dave. ;-)

Further to Dave's comment about asking a station to download a codec pack, and to re-iterate what I have posted in other threads, many stations want files that they can load into their playout servers if it ia a final delivery. These are systems that have a very strict file type requirement (usually MXF op1a XDCAM-HD 50)

If you give a station anything else, someone there is going to have to convert it into that format, and expecting them to install a codec pack to handle your file is insane.

A station normally won't entertain that idea for several reasons, including security and stability of their workstations, and not to mention the fact that the systems are often controlled by an IT department.

I have had real knock down drag outs with IT departments before when trying to sell or install something at a station that isn't on their approved list, sometimes something as simple as a different make or model system than they are standardized on, let alone some piece of software that has not been blessed by a competitor of GV.

Do yourself, your clients, and the station a favor, and just deliver what they are asking for.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 10:12 AM   #15
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,757
Default

I would just like to add that Grass Valley codecs are great from going from one EDIUS system to another but sometimes even programs that do understand the codec get things wrong like the field order or think progressive is interlaced.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 11:59 AM   #16
Vladiciu
Senior Member
 
Vladiciu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italia
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Clarke View Post
I would just like to add that Grass Valley codecs are great from going from one EDIUS system to another but sometimes even programs that do understand the codec get things wrong like the field order or think progressive is interlaced.
ok I understand what you mean, but this is an exceptional case the fact that it has files in prores 422, and a favor to a friend who uses mac.
I only work with windows 10 and edius 8.5 and I don't care about the mac, I'm not a video professional like you, I'm a hobby and passion filmaker, so I'm looking for a codec that is easier to work in timeline with edius 8 with files gh4 in 4K, that's all.
thanks again for your help.

sorry but the codec "Losess" what would it be? a codec best of all or not?

Thanks again.
__________________
I7 4790K-32 gb RAM-RX580 8gb-SSD 256gb-Windows 10 pro-Edius8.5-HD Sata 2 TB-SSD 1 TB file video for edius 8 e projects-
Vladiciu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 12:01 PM   #17
Vladiciu
Senior Member
 
Vladiciu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italia
Posts: 104
Default

Otherwise the alternative would be to switch to edius 9 where I can convert, edit, and export in prores and it would be excellent, but for now I don't want to spend money, prefer to wait for the release of edius 10 pro and see what news there will be.
__________________
I7 4790K-32 gb RAM-RX580 8gb-SSD 256gb-Windows 10 pro-Edius8.5-HD Sata 2 TB-SSD 1 TB file video for edius 8 e projects-
Vladiciu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 12:40 PM   #18
kpot
Senior Member
 
kpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WN, Austria
Posts: 1,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladiciu View Post
ok I understand what you mean, but this is an exceptional case the fact that it has files in prores 422, and a favor to a friend who uses mac.
I only work with windows 10 and edius 8.5 and I don't care about the mac, I'm not a video professional like you, I'm a hobby and passion filmaker, so I'm looking for a codec that is easier to work in timeline with edius 8 with files gh4 in 4K, that's all.
thanks again for your help.

sorry but the codec "Losess" what would it be? a codec best of all or not?

Thanks again.

HQX is 10 bit, Lossless is 8bit.
kurt
__________________
Intel core i7-6700K / ASUS Z170A / 32 GB RAM / Intel HD Graphics 530 / SSD Systemdrive / Gigabyte GeForce GT 1070 / Win-10/64 Pro (V-1809) / EDIUS-9.51 (5619)-WG / Mercalli (V2, V4 and V5 Plugin/64bit) / Resolve-16.1.2 Studio / Zonealarm(Firewall etc) / ImgBurn / PowerDVD etc.
// Read > Test > Understand
kpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 03:58 PM   #19
Vladiciu
Senior Member
 
Vladiciu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italia
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpot View Post
HQX is 10 bit, Lossless is 8bit.
kurt
thank you very match
__________________
I7 4790K-32 gb RAM-RX580 8gb-SSD 256gb-Windows 10 pro-Edius8.5-HD Sata 2 TB-SSD 1 TB file video for edius 8 e projects-
Vladiciu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 04:29 PM   #20
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladiciu View Post
ok I understand what you mean, but this is an exceptional case the fact that it has files in prores 422, and a favor to a friend who uses mac.
I only work with windows 10 and edius 8.5 and I don't care about the mac, I'm not a video professional like you, I'm a hobby and passion filmaker, so I'm looking for a codec that is easier to work in timeline with edius 8 with files gh4 in 4K, that's all.
thanks again for your help.

sorry but the codec "Losess" what would it be? a codec best of all or not?

Thanks again.
The rule of thumb for performance for any NLE is to use the native codec that the system is designed around. HQ/HQX for Edius, DNxHR/HR for Avid, ProRes for Final Cut, etc., but Edius can use the ProRes as a source for you to work with.

However if you are talking 4K, then the best solution for performance is to select all the prores files in the bin, right-click and choose the convert option in the popup menu. This will make new files in the HQ/HQX codec (use HQX superfine as suggested by Kurt) for you to edit with. Just make sure you use the new generated HQX files in your edit.

4K ProRes will play in edius, but not nearly as efficiently as HQX. These points have been laid out many times on the forum in posts from me and David Harry (LiverpoolTV). Dave even has some videos up showing the performance gain for 4K HQX using a fairly underpowered laptop.

HQ/HQX is comparible in quality to ProRes and DNxHD/HR, so you will not loose any noticeable amount of quality (I always use HQX unless dealing with old standard definition footage.)

Once you are finished your edit, export as an HQX file for your master. This is where the points I was making about delivery come into play. Don't expect the people you are passing the video onto, to have to install codec packs or special players to deal with it. It is best to provide them with a video that is made to their specifications in a professional environment, or in the consumer world, it's best to provide a file that is the most compatible and simple to use for people.

If you are passing this back to your friend on the Mac, ProRes is the best option, for the average user, an MP4 is probably the better choice, and for a TV station, the choice is whatever their specifications call for.

Once you have the master HQX file, it is easy to convert it into other formats, using a combination of Edius and Xmedia Recode or a similar tool. I mention Xmedia because it is free, and can make ProRes files from your master, as well many other formats. Broadcast files are probably best made in Edius.

Edius can make MP4s, but due to the lack of the web optimized option with Edius 8 and the lower quality native encoder, even those are better made by Xmedia or Handbrake, unless you have the TMPGEnc plugins for Edius.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).

Last edited by BernH; 01-25-2020 at 06:17 PM.
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EDIUS 7.51 support ProRes 422 codec tingsern Editing with EDIUS 9 01-17-2016 07:04 AM
Edius and Apple Prores 422 vgtah Editing with EDIUS 3 08-14-2012 12:10 PM
Edius 6.07 + Apple Prores 422... panosole Editing with EDIUS 4 06-03-2012 05:51 PM
ProRes 422 Counterpart in Edius haitham786 Editing with EDIUS 1 12-20-2011 08:57 PM
Prores 422 Files in Edius 6.06 X-trem production Editing with EDIUS 21 12-11-2011 05:39 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.